Simple Machines Community Forum

Customizing SMF => Graphics and Templates => Theme Site Themes => Topic started by: Bikken on June 15, 2008, 03:46:09 PM

Title: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on June 15, 2008, 03:46:09 PM
Link to the theme (http://custom.simplemachines.org/themes/index.php?lemma=749)
(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fcustom.simplemachines.org%2Fthemes%2Findex.php%2Faction%2Cdownload%2Flemma%2C749%2Fimage%2Cthumb&hash=cf8e7151848933d92ee993498b715bda)

DS-Natural is a sober and clean design using earthy colors.

http://demo.dzinerstudio.com
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: TosTos on June 15, 2008, 04:31:18 PM
Wowww, excellent theme. It looks like a little bit Alak, but very nice.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Joomlamz on June 15, 2008, 10:38:50 PM
Nice work
Good themes
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: KompLo on June 16, 2008, 09:43:12 AM
Ovvvv, very nice theme..
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: padexx on June 16, 2008, 11:24:12 AM
well dzined (as always)  8)
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: ormuz on June 16, 2008, 12:33:56 PM
Great work!

And free... :D
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Highbuzz on June 16, 2008, 05:30:11 PM
For some reason when I edit the stylesheet, it does not reflect my edits, even after I click apply changes? When you edit it, you see what it looks like in a little preview box - I see that change, but when I save, the forum itself does not change.

What's up? I've hit refresh, opened it in IE, FF, and Opera, so it's definitely not a refresh issue...

It's a VERY nice theme but I want to tweak it to match my main site more.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Dudi on June 17, 2008, 12:59:00 AM
Very nice theme.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on June 17, 2008, 05:59:47 AM
Thanks a lot for your comments guys.  ;)


Note: Theme has been updated with a fix: The Home button did not highlight when viewing the message index or display index.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on June 17, 2008, 06:07:38 AM
For some reason when I edit the stylesheet, it does not reflect my edits, even after I click apply changes? When you edit it, you see what it looks like in a little preview box - I see that change, but when I save, the forum itself does not change.

What's up? I've hit refresh, opened it in IE, FF, and Opera, so it's definitely not a refresh issue...

It's a VERY nice theme but I want to tweak it to match my main site more.

Not sure what's wrong on your end, Highbuzz. I have no problem editing the style.css file on my test forum.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: dico on June 25, 2008, 05:55:31 PM
how do i make a new button??

i need 2 new buttons

one for my arcade and one for my shop

and possibly another one
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on June 26, 2008, 07:49:14 AM
Do these edits in index.template file.

1. Add 'arcade' to current actions array:

Code: [Select]
if (in_array($context['current_action'], array('search', 'admin', 'arcade', 'calendar', 'profile', 'mlist', 'register', 'login', 'help', 'pm')))
2. Find // Show the start of the tab section. and add this anywhere between the other buttons

Code: [Select]
// SMF Arcade
echo '<li><a' , $current_action=='arcade' ? ' class="current"' : '' , ' href="', $scripturl, '?action=arcade"><span>' , $txt['arcade'] , '</span></a></li>';

Do the same for any other button you want to use.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: dico on June 26, 2008, 12:37:28 PM
^thnx

i did exactly what u said and the arcade button shows fine

but  i made another button for my shop section right after the arcade button and it doesnt show even though u can click on the area where it should be and activate it


before clicked

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi29.tinypic.com%2Fwgsti9.jpg&hash=95e3bef4dd2cd6264ede65e86d031ef7)


after u click the empty area beside the arcade button where the shop button is invisible

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi32.tinypic.com%2Fr94e9u.jpg&hash=a0e9cedb05cebfe9baa4d6f82310b052)

any ideas why the shop button isnt showing before clicked
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on June 28, 2008, 08:29:05 AM
Dico, can you post the code you used for the shop button?
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: dico on June 28, 2008, 12:36:29 PM
1. Add 'shop' to current actions array:
   

if (in_array($context['current_action'], array('search', 'admin', 'shop', 'calendar', 'profile', 'mlist', 'register', 'login', 'help', 'pm')))


Quote
2. Find // Show the start of the tab section. and add this anywhere between the other buttons

Quote
// SMF Shop
               echo '<li><a' , $current_action=='shop' ? ' class="current"' : '' , ' href="', $scripturl, '?action=shop"><span>' , $txt['shop'] , '</span></a></li>';
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on June 28, 2008, 01:46:13 PM
Try replacing ' , $txt['shop'] , ' with just Shop
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: dico on June 29, 2008, 02:24:40 AM
thnx

works perfect

but one question why wouldnt the new code for an arcade button not work for the shop button w/ that edit?
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on July 02, 2008, 09:58:03 AM
Because arcade uses a language string for the button text, your shop isn't.

Read more about language strings: http://docs.simplemachines.org/index.php?topic=395.msg528#msg528
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: ArkServer on July 06, 2008, 02:31:28 PM
Hi, i like this theme but it doesnt work with the admanagement mod (ad does not display on the index page) is it possible to edit this so that the ad managment does work with the theme? because this theme rocks :D!
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: ArkServer on July 10, 2008, 12:27:51 PM
I noticed from someone on this forums that told me that the "Did you miss your activation email?" is not displayed properly. Do you know how i can change it so that it shows the text entirely? www.javaforums.net thanks!
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: tennis4you on July 21, 2008, 07:15:57 PM
I downloaded the DS Natural theme which is great.  But how can I change the logo at the top?  I right click it to see what the image is so that I can replace it but the browser does not give me an option to see it's image settings.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: iGraphiX on July 24, 2008, 11:37:21 AM
I noticed from someone on this forums that told me that the "Did you miss your activation email?" is not displayed properly. Do you know how i can change it so that it shows the text entirely? www.javaforums.net thanks!

In the CSS file of the theme, above this:

Code: [Select]
#userarea a:link, #userarea a:visited {
color: #b43c01;
}

Modify the user area properties like this:

Code: [Select]
#userarea {
text-align: center;
padding: 3px 0;
color: #555;
}

Then both lines will fit in that space and you don't have to do anything else, the theme will remain as it is, no need to modify other parameters that might have impact on the whole layout.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: brandonroy on September 03, 2008, 09:33:16 AM
I absolutely love this theme. But I'd like to ask you one or two questions on how I could get something done with this theme.

I want to add a "new "topic" button to the forum so users can see it better. But I don't know how to add it. I made this image in photoshop to show you what I'm trying to do!


ORIGINAL:

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg182.imageshack.us%2Fimg182%2F4676%2Fscreenshot2xz4.gif&hash=7d282c4542aff4c090d91a3c5abbddc5)


I want to add a button like this:

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg391.imageshack.us%2Fimg391%2F808%2Fscreenshot1xz2.gif&hash=acacbd1f094183399cb767f6eb07a189)
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Goatie on November 14, 2008, 08:31:44 AM
Just finished testing it with SMF 1.1.7 and it seems to work flawlessly. Great work Bikken :)

@brandonroy
I think you have to put it in MessageIndex.template.php somewhere. I don't know where yet because I'm still playing around with a few things in there myself. I'll send you a PM if I ever figure it out.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: dillon on December 16, 2008, 09:10:08 PM
Beautiful theme!

When I change the logo, the background becomes darker and it doesn't blend with the rest of the theme.  What could I be doing wrong?
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on December 23, 2008, 05:02:48 AM
Beautiful theme!

When I change the logo, the background becomes darker and it doesn't blend with the rest of the theme.  What could I be doing wrong?

When you saved it, did you use "save for web"? If so, try saving it as a jpg. Just remember to change the image type in style.css (#logo) as well.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on March 16, 2010, 07:39:40 PM
Theme updated for SMF 2.0 RC3
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bigguy on March 26, 2010, 08:32:42 PM
Something I should be able to figure out but can not. Maybe you can help me. I have drop down menus in other themes why will they not work in this one. ???
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bikken on March 27, 2010, 05:45:11 AM
This theme doesn't have a drop down by default. This thread (http://www.dzinerstudio.com/index.php?topic=2189.0) might help if you want one.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Bigguy on March 27, 2010, 08:53:23 AM
Thank you. :)
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: moonpeach on August 25, 2010, 06:45:50 AM
Im just wondering if anyone knows hows to get rid of the search bar.

If you go to hxxp:www.overdrivegaming.net [nonactive] you'll see that the search bar is ontop of the 2 images, is it possible to get rid of that search bar completely?
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: barefoot on February 05, 2011, 04:49:13 PM
hi;
i want to insert a clickable picture  near the logo as shown area  at the picture below. i am using 1.1.12 . what should i do. can anyone help me ?
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: amitkool21 on September 12, 2012, 06:28:56 AM
how to move that searchbox to that location where the Blue text HERE is located :P

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg571.imageshack.us%2Fimg571%2F4350%2Fsearchbarl.png&hash=611d5c6f9ffd685ce641c75bad7bf657)

theme : http://custom.simplemachines.org/themes/index.php?lemma=749

ds-natural_20rc3 version
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: PS4DEV on September 12, 2012, 05:11:29 PM
search for a file called index.template.php in the theme folder, and open it with an editor.
Then search for a <div id="searcharea">
This "div" are openend like <div> and closed with </div>
then cut out the whole <div id="#searcharea"> ....everything between the div , most likely the input for your search ...</div>
and paste it it within the <div id="toolbar-l"> , it should look like:
<div id="toolbar-l"> <div id="#searcharea"> ....everything between the div , most likely the input for your search ...</div></div>

For the rest, use css styling
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: amitkool21 on September 12, 2012, 05:59:54 PM
@PS4DEV : thanx for the info but i just removed that searchbox.

now i have a new idea here it is,

whenever i Hover my mouse on search button in top menu i get transferred to a this page >>> www.demo-not-real.com/index.php?action=search [nofollow]

i want that search button to drop like a box which opens when i hover on it or click on it.

Thank You
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: amitkool21 on September 13, 2012, 02:45:33 AM
well this is piece of something what i want ::

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg201.imageshack.us%2Fimg201%2F3361%2Fpreviewhw.png&hash=b36979f378c139be74eea06cb94bef70) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/201/previewhw.png/)

BTW its a total different thing but i wanted to be close to it :)
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: stencorp69 on November 11, 2012, 06:39:35 AM
Hi
 I've been customizing the colors of this theme and must have accidentally made a change to the drop down box in the administration center page. can anyone tell me where I go to increase the height of the task/setting drop down box? Thanks in advance

Stephen
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: stencorp69 on November 13, 2012, 01:56:01 AM
search for a file called index.template.php in the theme folder, and open it with an editor.
Then search for a <div id="searcharea">
This "div" are openend like <div> and closed with </div>
then cut out the whole <div id="#searcharea"> ....everything between the div , most likely the input for your search ...</div>
and paste it it within the <div id="toolbar-l"> , it should look like:
<div id="toolbar-l"> <div id="#searcharea"> ....everything between the div , most likely the input for your search ...</div></div>

Thanks for this tip - work well
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: stencorp69 on November 15, 2012, 03:58:38 AM
Hi
 I've been customizing the colors of this theme and must have accidentally made a change to the drop down box in the administration center page. can anyone tell me where I go to increase the height of the task/setting drop down box? Thanks in advance

Stephen

sort this chrome helped me inspect the fault element and track it down in the CSS file - starting to get the hang of this
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: phantomm on November 15, 2012, 02:02:26 PM
All themes from DS are outdated at SMF Theme Site. I don't think that latest version will have this bug.
You can download it from dzinerstudio.com
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: stencorp69 on November 16, 2012, 08:43:43 AM
Thx - I think it was my issues from editing the CSS file not from the downloaded theme.
Title: Re: DS-Natural
Post by: Alexa Lynne on November 05, 2015, 11:23:10 PM
Do you have a .psd file for the logo to be edited?