Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => SMF 2.0.x Support => Topic started by: Deprecated on October 04, 2008, 11:18:54 AM

Title: [Beta 4] Package Server no work!
Post by: Deprecated on October 04, 2008, 11:18:54 AM
I'm quoting this from the 1.x support because I'm using SMF 2.0 Beta 4 which would be off topic in that board.

Quote from: metallica48423 on September 27, 2008, 02:44:16 PM
i think its trying to connect to mods.simplemachines.org instead of custom.simplemachines.org/mods

have you tried deleting the package server and adding it as http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods? (http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods?)

I've got the same problem as the OP in the other topic (http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=264556.0), where my SMF default package server does not work "Unable to connect to the server..."

Nothing I've been able to put in there works including the above suggestion from Met.

And what does connecting to a package server do? I've been to the SMF Docs site and it never once mentions just what this package server connection is. Is it any different than just going directly to http://custom.simplemachines.org/ with your browser? Or does SMF connect to the package server? And if so, what is the interface?
Title: Re: [Beta 4] Package Server no work!
Post by: karlbenson on October 04, 2008, 01:24:25 PM
Package Server has a list of mods, with a link to install.
Basically It reads an xml feed sent by smf. (so it doesn't contain all the information, nor screenshot)

Title: Re: [Beta 4] Package Server no work!
Post by: Deprecated on October 04, 2008, 01:25:05 PM
Thanks! How do I make that work?
Title: Re: [Beta 4] Package Server no work!
Post by: I B D on October 20, 2008, 07:43:27 AM
deprecated do you still require assistance?
Title: Re: [Beta 4] Package Server no work!
Post by: Deprecated on October 20, 2008, 09:45:03 AM
Yes I need assistance.

I go to Admin -> Packages -> Download Packages -> Package Servers -> Simple Machines Third-party mod site -> Browse, and I get "Error 500 - Internal server error."

I note the action for that command is:
http://example.com/forum/index.php?action=packageget;sa=browse;server=1

This happens on my 1.1.6 and 2.0 Beta 4 SMFs. Please let me know if I can provide any additional information.
Title: Re: [Beta 4] Package Server no work!
Post by: greyknight17 on October 31, 2008, 09:59:08 PM
This should be a quick fix....

Go into phpMyAdmin (http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=21919.0) and click on your database. Then click on the SQL tab and copy paste the following code and run it:

UPDATE smf_package_servers SET `url` = 'http://custom.simplemachines.org';

Run it for both databases. That should fix both versions.