Simple Machines Community Forum

Customizing SMF => Tips and Tricks => Topic started by: Mike Bobbitt on April 22, 2005, 11:22:50 PM

Title: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on April 22, 2005, 11:22:50 PM
I have a fairly regular issue with users creating multiple accounts, whether it's to slip past a ban, lost password, or simple confusion.

To try to detect these, I've put together a script which lists every IP address that has seen more than one account post from it. (Script attached)

It's not pretty, and you will need to customize it a bit, but it should do the trick. Please note that this page takes some serious processing to build, so you may want to run it infrequently.

Each IP address is clickable, taking you to the forum "track IP" page for that address. If an account still exists, it's name will be clickable as well, taking you to the user's profile.

Note that since this page is not protected, you should either remove it when not in use, or place it under a password protected web directory. (It could allow users to get address info for each other, if they know you're using it.)

Enjoy, and good hunting! :D

Edit: Slightly updated, to allow easier setup. (DB/table names have been turned into variables.)

Edit 2: Updated to work with 1.1.

Edit 3: Updated for SMF 2... I can't un-attach the 1.1 version, so here is a link to the SMF 2 script: http://army.ca/deleteme/multiple_accts_php.txt
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: azuregenesis on May 23, 2005, 08:41:42 PM
i would like a step by step on how this is setup :)

thank you.

i'm getting these error messages:

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent

and

SELECT command denied to user
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on May 23, 2005, 09:04:54 PM
You need to edit the script to ensure the path to your SSI.php needs to be correct:

require('/var/www/html/forums/SSI.php');

And just below that, change these settings if required (the defaults may work, as they are the SMF defaults):

// Database name
$accounts_db_name="smf";

// Database tables
$db_message_table="smf_messages";
$db_member_table="smf_members";


Once that's done just browse to multiple_accounts.php and it should display the info.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: azuregenesis on May 23, 2005, 10:29:43 PM
ah. i see. forgot to edit the databse settings.. :)

thank you!
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: joker on May 24, 2005, 02:10:35 AM
I'm getting: Error writing file '/tmp/MYWwQGzY' (Errcode: 28)
Any hint?
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: [Unknown] on May 24, 2005, 06:27:30 AM
Quote from: joker on May 24, 2005, 02:10:35 AM
I'm getting: Error writing file '/tmp/MYWwQGzY' (Errcode: 28)
Any hint?

Getting Errors From MySQL? (http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=2486.0)

-[Unknown]
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on May 24, 2005, 12:15:15 PM
Sounds like you're on your way, but let me know if you need any assistance.


Cheers
Mike
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: joker on May 25, 2005, 05:10:25 AM
Thanks [Unknown] , but there is enough db/diskspace. That's why I asked here.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: [Unknown] on May 25, 2005, 05:27:53 AM
Joker, this means the /tmp partition is full.  Don't check your space, just tell your host.  This is not your fault, and you can't fix it.

-[Unknown]
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: joker on May 28, 2005, 10:40:34 AM
I run my own server, the /tmp IS empty and the error remains the same.  :-\
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: [Unknown] on May 28, 2005, 10:44:50 AM
Then perhaps tmp_table_size is larger than the available space in the /tmp partition.  Check "df".

-[Unknown]
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: rojamaia on August 27, 2005, 11:33:19 AM

i believe that this one is going to be useful.  however, i can't really understand how i would edit the database info as you have posted.   can you post an example?

mine is now like this:

// Database name
$accounts_db_name="smf";

// Database tables
$db_message_table="smf_messages";
$db_member_table="smf_members";

// Make sure table name includes database name
$db_message_table="`$accounts_db_name`.`$db_message_table`";
$db_member_table="`$accounts_db_name`.`$db_member_table`";

require('http://catbalogan.com/discussion/SSI.php');


my database name is "smf"
i'm not sure how to the rest, although i know that my member and messages tables are simply "smf_members" and "smf_messages"

Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on August 28, 2005, 07:08:24 AM
I've re-jigged the script a bit so it's easier to configure. Sounds like all you should have to do is update the system path to SSI.php. It can't be a URL, it has to be a filesystem path, such as /var/www/html/forums/SSI.php or /home/malinaobenny/www/forums/SSI.php.


Cheers
Mike
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: rojamaia on August 29, 2005, 06:53:03 AM

i already configured it as:

/malinaobenny/discussion/SSI.php


then i ran the PHP, but all i got is a blank white page
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on August 29, 2005, 09:34:19 AM
That looks like it's not a complete path, check your Settings.php and use the value found in $boarddir as the directory. (Just append /SSI.php to that.)
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: rojamaia on August 29, 2005, 10:24:13 AM


i did, and it was only '/discussion' there, so i set it into '/discussion/SSI.php' but it didn't work either


require('discussion/SSI.php');

// Database name
$accounts_db_name="smf";

// Database tables
$db_message_table="smf_messages";
$db_member_table="smf_members";

// Make sure table name includes database name
$db_message_table="`$accounts_db_name`.`$db_message_table`";
$db_member_table="`$accounts_db_name`.`$db_member_table`";


Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on August 29, 2005, 10:39:57 AM
You're missing a leading /:

require('/discussion/SSI.php');

If that's the right path, it should work. Anything in your web server error logs?
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: rojamaia on August 29, 2005, 01:36:49 PM

it now works, but this is what i got:

QuoteYou have an error in your SQL syntax near 'OR ID_BOARD = 0)
ORDER BY addDeny DESC, ID_BOARD' at line 5
File: /discussion/Sources/Load.php
Line: 435
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on August 29, 2005, 02:31:43 PM
Works ok for me on a couple of test boards... have you made any changes to Load.php? Any mods installed?
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: rojamaia on August 29, 2005, 02:47:52 PM
yes, i had some mods

this is the code in the vicinity of line 435:

$request = db_query("
SELECT permission, addDeny
FROM {$db_prefix}member_permissions
WHERE ID_MEMBER = $ID_MEMBER
AND (ID_BOARD = $board OR ID_BOARD = 0)
[color=red]ORDER BY addDeny DESC, ID_BOARD", __FILE__, __LINE__);[/color]
$remove = array();
while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($request))
{
if (empty($row['addDeny']))
$removals[] = $row['permission'];
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on August 29, 2005, 03:08:09 PM
Looks like you need help from the mod or SMF folks from here... I'd be tempted to revert back to a clean SMF install, as something that has been changed is causing problems.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: jrstark on December 21, 2005, 11:30:29 PM
This works great!

Any tips on separating out all the AOLers?
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on December 22, 2005, 09:11:24 AM
Unfortunately if a lot of people appear to be sharing the same IP pool (such as AOL) there's not too much that can be done other than manaul investigation of suspicious accounts. The script itself is pretty simplistic in it's approach.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: SleePy on December 23, 2005, 02:47:30 PM
i get this error "Hacking attempt..."
while running it. any ideas?
i think i got all the information correct. i copied most of it like  the db_name out of my settings.php and i put it in the same directory as forums so my require is just require('SSI.php');
this is on my test site so i dont need to worry about it right now.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Sheepy on December 25, 2005, 01:16:05 AM
May be we can extend the search fulltext index function to do an word statistic for each users, one of the techniques of stylometry?
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: unrelenting on December 23, 2006, 04:20:35 PM
I get:

CGI Error

The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: jerm on January 21, 2007, 12:11:27 AM
Open up a new topic. Bumping posts that are a year old doesn't help.
Nor does your post help at all.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: vconcept on January 22, 2007, 03:03:10 PM
I get this error :

QuoteMultuple Accounts
This script discovers users who have potentially created multiple accounts by checking for IP addresses where multiple accounts have been seen.


Fatal error: Call to undefined function: show_topofpageads() in /home/www/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/web/smf/Sources/Load.php(1724) : eval()'d code on line 202
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Davy-D on January 24, 2007, 01:59:54 PM
This script is soooooo nice. Exactly what I have been looking for.
Keep up the great work.

Davy-D
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: mersindost on March 10, 2007, 06:37:27 AM
Quote from: vconcept on January 22, 2007, 03:03:10 PM
I get this error :

QuoteMultuple Accounts
This script discovers users who have potentially created multiple accounts by checking for IP addresses where multiple accounts have been seen.


Fatal error: Call to undefined function: show_topofpageads() in /home/www/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/web/smf/Sources/Load.php(1724) : eval()'d code on line 202

Yes.İ have same problem  :-[

require('/var/www/html/forum/SSI.php'); What i can write here?

my site url: www.videotr.net/forum   (linux host) /domains/videotr.net/public_html/forum/

Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Dreadfull on March 22, 2007, 04:53:05 PM
Mike Bobbitt, edit line 16

echo "<h1>Multuple Accounts</h1>\n";

should be

echo "<h1>Multiple Accounts</h1>\n";


:) just a thought .. also, great job.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: JungleBunny on April 20, 2007, 07:46:29 AM
Got the same error :-* :-*

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: show_topofpageads() in /var/www/****/****/BORD/Sources/Load.php(1792) : eval()'d code on line 147

Line 147 says:

// Most database systems have not set UTF-8 as their default input charset.
        if (isset($db_character_set) && preg_match('~^\w+$~', $db_character_set) === 1)
                db_query("
                        SET NAMES $db_character_set", __FILE__, __LINE__);


Any ideas ??????

Would be a fantastic script.

Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: cmcmom on August 23, 2007, 10:42:47 PM
I just wanted to explain what I do for this without any code.  When I get a new applicant I trace the IP before acceptance to see if any other posts or user has that IP.  This would have saved a LOT of headache and heartache at my old board.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: kasparh on January 15, 2012, 11:51:38 AM
i know this is a very old topic, but the script is fascinating.
I'm tryng to extend the use of the script to another group that not is administrator.
How can i do that ?
I find this piece of code on the script, but i don't know how to personalize with another group name for example "guard"

Quote
   // Set this to restrict access. Currently only admins are allowed.
   $isstaff = $user_info['is_admin'];
}

if (!$isstaff) {
   echo "ERROR: You are not permitted to run this script.";
   if ($armyca) {
      include "$include_dir/footer.php";
   }
   exit (1);
}

any help very much appreciated
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on January 25, 2012, 01:52:04 PM
Basically you can set $isstaff = TRUE for any user you want to have access. Some sample code that might help pick out a specific group:

// Detect group membership
function getGroups($userid = 0) {

global $context;
global $smcFunc;

// If no userid was passed in, check the currently logged in user
if (!$userid) {
$userid = $context['user']['id'];
global $isadmin;
}

$isstaff = 0;

// Staff group IDs
$staffgroup_ids = "1,2,20,21";

// Reformat staff IDs into regex
$staffgroups = "(" . join("|", explode(",", $staffgroup_ids)) . ")";

$result = $smcFunc['db_query'] ('', "SELECT m.id_group, m.additional_groups FROM {db_prefix}members AS m WHERE m.id_member = {int:id_member}", array (
'id_member' => $userid
));

while ($res = $smcFunc['db_fetch_assoc'] ($result)) {
$groups = $res['id_group'];
if ($res['additional_groups']) {
$groups .= "," . $res['additional_groups'];
}

$groups = ",$groups,";

// Staff
if (preg_match("/,$staffgroups,/", $groups)) {
$isstaff = 1;
} else {
$isstaff = 0;
}
}
$smcFunc['db_free_result'] ($result);

return $isstaff;
}


In this example, anyone in group numbers 1, 2, 20 or 21 will have access to the tool.
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: kimcarter14 on February 13, 2012, 10:43:44 PM
That's quite unfair for other members here. And what's the reason why they registered multiple accounts here?
Title: Re: Detecting Multiple Accounts
Post by: Mike Bobbitt on February 13, 2012, 11:03:50 PM
Not sure I understand... What is unfair?