Simple Machines Community Forum

Customizing SMF => Modifications and Packages => Topic started by: diamondred123 on July 15, 2010, 07:04:47 PM

Title: Remove Help from menu
Post by: diamondred123 on July 15, 2010, 07:04:47 PM
Link to Mod (http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=2640)

Remove Help From Menu

This mod will remove the help button from the menu bar, please feel free to request more mods on my Simplemachines account:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?action=profile;u=230606

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know lots of you do not like the help button on the menu bar because you have so many mods that it does not show all you want or you just dont like it there for some reason, so this mod will remove it from the menu.
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: TehCraw on July 15, 2010, 07:12:02 PM
Good mod idea.
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: Jakob Fel on July 15, 2010, 11:35:03 PM
That sounds pretty good. It does something similar to a code you can execute on SMFForFree forums.
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: Afro on July 16, 2010, 02:54:23 PM
You can also just go into the Sources/subs.php and remove this

),
'help' => array(
'title' => $txt['help'],
'href' => $scripturl . '?action=help',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),


I personally dont like many mods siting on my package page.
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: Sabre™ on July 17, 2010, 02:39:22 AM
Or, since youre only removing the button and anyone can still navigate to it via url, changing one line of code instead of removing it all, will do exactly the same thing but make it visible still for the admin incase they're modifying the template(s) or whatever. Mines an FAQ page for example.
$context['allow_admin']. Then just change it back to true if ever you need it.
Nice mod mate :)
Global permission will make it more flexible ;)
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: tRu3_sKiTz0 on July 21, 2010, 10:10:29 PM
Can ya help me out here man? I wanna remove the help button but I have tinypoertal running and there are some extra lines. If I replace it all, my forum crashes. How can I do this? Here is what my help button sub looks like.
Quote from: Subs.php
),
         'help' => array(
            'title' => $txt['help'],
            'href' => $scripturl . '?action=help',
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
               'tphelp' => array(
                  'title' => 'TinyPortal',
                  'href' => $scripturl . '?action=tpmod;sa=help',
                  'show' => true,
               ),
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: Sabre™ on July 22, 2010, 05:40:25 PM
It should look something like this, so remove it all

         'help' => array(
            'title' => $txt['help'],
            'href' => $scripturl . '?action=help',
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
               'tphelp' => array(
                  'title' => 'TinyPortal',
                  'href' => $scripturl . '?action=tpmod;sa=help',
                  'show' => true,
               ),
           ),
        ),


That will remove the links to both help sections.
If you still have issues, please attach your subs.php and somebody will remove it for you.
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: tRu3_sKiTz0 on July 22, 2010, 05:53:33 PM
Oh I'm so sorry, I got this fixed already. Usually I'm pretty good about updating. Thanks though.
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: Sabre™ on July 22, 2010, 06:00:38 PM
lol No problem buddy, glad you got it sorted :)
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: ɔɔɔɔɔɔuɥoɾ on July 24, 2010, 01:07:01 AM
Quote from: Afro on July 16, 2010, 02:54:23 PM
You can also just go into the Sources/subs.php and remove this

),
'help' => array(
'title' => $txt['help'],
'href' => $scripturl . '?action=help',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),


I personally dont like many mods siting on my package page.
If you parse the mod you will see, its does exactly that.

I just created a mod which does this too and more, its called "Add or Remove Buttons", gives you an admin panel to disable several buttons as needed
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: Sudhakar Arjunan on July 04, 2011, 06:54:57 PM
Hi Admin,

I have got a mod sitting in help menu, so i coded it like this and try to install according to my forum code.


<operation>
<search position="replace"> ),
'help' => array(
'title' => '<img align="absMiddle" src="'. $settings['images_url']. '/menu_icons/help.png" alt="'.$txt['help']. '"/>&nbsp; ' . $txt['help'],
'href' => $scripturl . '?action=help',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),</search>
<add> // This is where help use to be!!!
</add>
</operation>


When i try to install, it is throwing me a error, when i checked what it was trying using the edit icon next to parse,


),
'help' => array(
'title' => '  ' . $txt['help'],
'href' => $scripturl . '?action=help',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),


I could see it was not taking the image inside the tile url,


'title' => '<img align="absMiddle" src="'. $settings['images_url']. '/menu_icons/help.png" alt="'.$txt['help']. '"/>&nbsp; ' . $txt['help'],


Could you help me.
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: 3d-Alfalfa on November 23, 2011, 11:34:00 AM
To be fair to code development and to maintain the integrity of the original install, any time you are presented with the "'show' => true," option, you needn't remove the relevant code block as this would render the entire feature unusable in the future.

With regards to the help button and the code to be altered as outlined above, simply change 'show' => true to 'show' => false. This will turn off the help button without damaging the code.

For anything else to be hidden that does not include the "show" option, adding css "display:hide;" to the html tag containing the contents to be hidden will serve that purpose, again without removing features that may hold future significance.

Cheers.  ;)
Title: Re: Remove Help from menu
Post by: pols1337 on January 23, 2012, 03:20:50 AM
Hi will this be updated to 2.0.2?