Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => SMF 2.0.x Support => Topic started by: Chazion on March 12, 2011, 11:12:40 PM

Title: Editing menu bar
Post by: Chazion on March 12, 2011, 11:12:40 PM
Well first off I would like to say that I'm new to SMF and editing PHP.

my problem is that I'm trying to add a new button to the menu bar and it's just not showing up, and when i remove buttons from the menu bar it's not removing them.
I am editing the right file. sub.php right?
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: codnerd on March 12, 2011, 11:14:57 PM
sources/Subs.php
Search for Home, and you will see the tabs.

There is also a few mods you can install to do this.
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: Chazion on March 12, 2011, 11:19:10 PM
Ya I'm in the right file, I'm gonna look through the mod section to see what i find.
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: Masterd on March 13, 2011, 07:00:39 AM
Take a look at this.

Adding tabs to SMF 2.0 (http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=261880.0)
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: Ozzie on March 13, 2011, 07:50:29 AM
 Try this it allows you to add buttons etc http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=2657



you may also wanna try this it allows you to arrange the tabs in any order u want and remove them and or edit there names,  the 6 custom button one only places them in the menu..

this needs one to be loaded in emulation for rc4 and is a good addition to run along side the 6 custom button mod   http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=2348
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: Chazion on March 13, 2011, 09:26:11 PM
i have rc5
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: Ozzie on March 13, 2011, 09:47:40 PM
Quote
i have rc5


No worries in your package manager at the bottom click advanced and in the box there replace SMF 2.0 RC5 with    SMF 2.0 RC4 and click apply now go back to package manager and install the mod..you only need to do this for the menu order mod the other one loads ok in rc5
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: Chazion on March 13, 2011, 10:26:11 PM
i installed it, how do i use it?
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: Chazion on March 13, 2011, 10:33:52 PM
okay, i've gotten a different mod that can hide\show and sort them. but when i edit my subs.php and make a new button it still doesn't show up
Title: Re: Editing menu bar
Post by: Ozzie on March 13, 2011, 10:34:50 PM
i will PM you it will take ages here as i dont know which one u on about as i recommended two  :laugh: