Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => SMF 2.0.x Support => Topic started by: layedbaack on April 10, 2011, 01:26:04 AM

Title: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 10, 2011, 01:26:04 AM
Hey all  :) First i'd like to say that I'm kinda new to this stuff so please bear with me if I ask an obvious question.

I've recently gotten an account on Hostgator and I was and still am using x10hosting.

So, I backed up my public_html files and database from x10hosting and successfully uploaded them onto Hostgator (I used phpMyAdmin to import my database to hostgator).

The problem is that i'm not able to see my site after i've uploaded all my backup files.

I keep getting a "problem loading page" error

So I tried using the repair_settings.php. I uploaded it onto the public_html file in cpanel using an ftp client and I tried going to "example.com/forum/repair_settings.php" but no luck in even accessing my forum...

Am i doing something wrong and should I consult Hostgator about the problem?

Here's some additional information if you need it  :) -

-I remember I deleted some stuff in my cpanel before uploading my files. I made sure to back them up before permanently deleting them, should I re-upload them again and start from the beginning?

-It seems that I have made multiple databases in phpmyadmin but only successfully uploaded my files onto one of them, is having too much databases a problem? There are no files on the other DB's though.

-I checked my cpanel and i've noticed that my database that I created says that it has 0MB, could it be that I uploaded my backup database wrong? I know that i uploaded my backup DB onto the right DB name and everything...

Anyways, thanks for taking the time to read this and hope someone can help soon!

P.S. sorry if I posted this is the wrong place.

Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Illori on April 10, 2011, 06:55:23 AM
What version of smf are you running? this will help us to move this thread to a better place where people will be able to help you better.
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 10, 2011, 10:14:18 AM
Quote from: Illori on April 10, 2011, 06:55:23 AM
What version of smf are you running? this will help us to move this thread to a better place where people will be able to help you better.

SMF 2.0 RC4, sorry  :-[
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Illori on April 10, 2011, 10:16:19 AM
can you provide a link to your forum so we can see the error message ourselves?
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 10, 2011, 10:51:25 AM
Here's the link:
http://www.deathtollscans.com/
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: kat on April 10, 2011, 03:37:33 PM
There's simply nothing there.

How did you upload the files?

Not sure if it'd affect everything, but did you upload with Filezilla?

If so, was the transfer type set to "Auto"?

If so, again, try changing the transfer type to "Binary".
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 10, 2011, 05:13:18 PM
Quote from: K@ on April 10, 2011, 03:37:33 PM
There's simply nothing there.

How did you upload the files?

Not sure if it'd affect everything, but did you upload with Filezilla?

If so, was the transfer type set to "Auto"?

If so, again, try changing the transfer type to "Binary".

Hey,

I uploaded the public_html files without a ftp client and for my Database I used phpmyadmin.

Though I do have a ftp client - Cyberduck (I use a mac) which I used to upload the repair_settings.php file

And you said that there is nothing there, but I can see the public_html files that I uploaded in my cpanel :s

Thanks for the reply, btw
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: kat on April 10, 2011, 05:22:50 PM
I'm just of to bed, I'm afraid. (Well, I'm not. I quite enjoy it ;) ).

If you want to PM me some FTP login details, though, I can check stuff out, for you, if you like.

Please, before you do that, read this:

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=87130.0

and this:

http://www.simplemachines.org/about/team.php

where you can check me out.
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 10, 2011, 05:27:34 PM
haha  ;D

and okay, I will read it.
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: CapadY on April 11, 2011, 11:56:08 AM

When you're moved to another host it's almost sure login name and username for MySQL are different. Open settings.php with an editor, check (and if needed edit) username, password and maybe even databasename and upload this settings.php to your host via FTP.

Reasonable change repair_settings will work after that.
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: amko_sa on April 11, 2011, 04:49:10 PM
Do you transfer your domain to new hosting, because your page is totally unavailable?
If you transfer your domain  ;D , create new sql database in cpanel and upload backup (database from old hosting) over php myadmin. For that databese create new user with full permissions and after that change your username and password in settings.php with newly created. All other errors(path) you can solve with repair settings.php file. Most important file when transfer your forum is settings.php so check every line inside that file, must be correct.
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 08:20:53 PM
Seems like we are getting somewhere:
QuoteConnection Problems
Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.

Within your cPanel, make sure that you create a database, a username and then assign them to each other after the creation. Later, use repair_settings.php and fix the paths and database information.

Make sure that you delete repair_settings.php after your forum is back to normal. :)
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 08:33:06 PM
Im back  ;D

Thanks a lot for the replies guys :)
I went and had a talk with a hostgator staff, apparently something was wrong with the .htaccess :S
but they've fixed it  :)


Quote from: (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 08:20:53 PM
Seems like we are getting somewhere:
QuoteConnection Problems
Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.

Within your cPanel, make sure that you create a database, a username and then assign them to each other after the creation. Later, use repair_settings.php and fix the paths and database information.

Make sure that you delete repair_settings.php after your forum is back to normal. :)

Okay thanks, I'm running the repair_settings.php right now, though I keep getting this:

QuoteMaintenance Mode:
Value not found!

I've tried going to click every option but for some reason it keeps saying the above :s  ^
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 08:37:16 PM
Download a fresh copy of SMF 2.0 RC5, extract the Settings.php and upload it into your public_html

Then use repair_settings.php and it should work out nicely.

Later, you can change the website title and other minor details from Admin --> Server Settings.
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 08:42:35 PM
Will do, but Im currently running RC4 will the RC5 settings still work with it?
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 08:49:48 PM
hmm okay I did it but I got this:
QuoteParse error: syntax error, unexpected '}' in /home/dtmaster/public_html/Settings.php on line 62
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 08:50:46 PM
Doesn't matter. :) They should be the same. Even if you use the 1.1.x Settings.php, it will still work in more of the cases. A few variables are added while nothing major has changed. ;)

Quote from: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 08:49:48 PM
hmm okay I did it but I got this:
QuoteParse error: syntax error, unexpected '}' in /home/dtmaster/public_html/Settings.php on line 62
Did this come up after using the SMF 2.0 RC5 Settings.php?
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 08:53:24 PM
ah okay  :)

QuoteDid this come up after using the SMF 2.0 RC5 Settings.php?
And yes it did,and with the old settings.php it wouldn't redirect me to another page it just kept giving me the maintenance error
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 08:57:56 PM
Try doing the uploading and filling in the details in repair_settings.php

If it happens again, edit Settings.php after the error shows up and remove the curly bracket from line 62. I have come accross this myself and there was a fix somewhere if I remember it correctly. I'll try and dig it out. :)
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 09:03:29 PM
ok ill try it again

Quote from: (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 08:57:56 PM
I have come accross this myself and there was a fix somewhere if I remember it correctly. I'll try and dig it out. :)

Thanks a lot  :)
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 09:16:27 PM
so I took of the "}' and it worked...but I got a "404page not found"

Could this be because of the domain? and should I contact hostgator?
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 09:22:49 PM
Meh! It is not detecting the index.php it seems.

If you do not mind, can you PM me your hostgator FTP details and I'll fix it for you?
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 10:15:31 PM
Quote from: (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 09:22:49 PM
Meh! It is not detecting the index.php it seems.

If you do not mind, can you PM me your hostgator FTP details and I'll fix it for you?

Hey back,

It seems whenever i make an ftp account, Im not able to login so your going to have to use the cpanel info to login to ftp...

Also, the person the bought the pack from the host doesn't want me to share the cpanel details, so can you tell me how to fix it?

Im sorry if this causes any problems >.<
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 10:22:59 PM
Well, the Settings.php is the main bit to fix in order to get the forum online.

Open your Settings.php
Code (Find) Select

########## Database Info ##########


Code (Add before) Select

<?php
/**********************************************************************************
* Settings.php                                                                    *
***********************************************************************************
* SMF: Simple Machines Forum                                                      *
* Open-Source Project Inspired by Zef Hemel (zef@zefhemel.com)                    *
* =============================================================================== *
* Software Version:           SMF 2.0 RC5                                         *
* Software by:                Simple Machines (http://www.simplemachines.org)     *
* Copyright 2006-2010 by:     Simple Machines LLC (http://www.simplemachines.org) *
*           2001-2006 by:     Lewis Media (http://www.lewismedia.com)             *
* Support, News, Updates at:  http://www.simplemachines.org                       *
***********************************************************************************
* This program is free software; you may redistribute it and/or modify it under   *
* the terms of the provided license as published by Simple Machines LLC.          *
*                                                                                 *
* This program is distributed in the hope that it is and will be useful, but      *
* WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES; without even any implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY    *
* or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.                                            *
*                                                                                 *
* See the "license.txt" file for details of the Simple Machines license.          *
* The latest version can always be found at http://www.simplemachines.org.        *
**********************************************************************************/

########## Maintenance ##########
# Note: If $maintenance is set to 2, the forum will be unusable!  Change it to 0 to fix it.
$maintenance 0; # Set to 1 to enable Maintenance Mode, 2 to make the forum untouchable. (you'll have to make it 0 again manually!)
$mtitle 'Maintenance Mode'; # Title for the Maintenance Mode message.
$mmessage 'Okay faithful users...we\'re attempting to restore an older backup of the database...news will be posted once we\'re back!'; # Description of why the forum is in maintenance mode.

########## Forum Info ##########
$mbname 'My Community'; # The name of your forum.
$language 'english'; # The default language file set for the forum.
$boardurl 'http://www.deathtollscans.com/'; # URL to your forum's folder. (without the trailing /!)
$webmaster_email 'email@youremail.com'; # Email address to send emails from. (like noreply@yourdomain.com.)
$cookiename 'SMFCookie11'; # Name of the cookie to set for authentication.


Code (Find) Select

########## Directories/Files ##########

AFTER the WHOLE BLOCK with the correct paths there...

Code (Add After) Select

########## Error-Catching ##########
# Note: You shouldn't touch these settings.
$db_last_error = 0;


# Make sure the paths are correct... at least try to fix them.
if (!file_exists($boarddir) && file_exists(dirname(__FILE__) . '/agreement.txt'))
$boarddir = dirname(__FILE__);
if (!file_exists($sourcedir) && file_exists($boarddir . '/Sources'))
$sourcedir = $boarddir . '/Sources';
if (!file_exists($cachedir) && file_exists($boarddir . '/cache'))
$cachedir = $boarddir . '/cache';

?>
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 10:56:06 PM
Thank you so much, it worked!  ;D

Should I try run the repair_settings.php again or should I configure everything myself from here?
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R) on April 11, 2011, 11:04:06 PM
Just open it and see if the paths are similar to the suggested. If they aren't, change it manually. Don't bother saving it via repair_settings.php ;)

I am glad that everything worked out fine now. :)
Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: layedbaack on April 11, 2011, 11:39:57 PM
Okay,

And thanks for everyones replies, they really helped a lot!
Also, thanks for taking your time to help my forum and me  ;D It's really appreciated  :)

So I guess this topic is solved  :)

Title: Re: Having Trouble Transferring hosts
Post by: kat on April 12, 2011, 09:15:23 AM
Nice work, peeps!