Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => Server Performance and Configuration => Topic started by: test1.0 on March 29, 2012, 12:34:12 PM

Title: 2 databases?
Post by: test1.0 on March 29, 2012, 12:34:12 PM
guys say i have

a domain and a sub domain

1 database for the domain and 1 for the sub domain, on the same cpanel account

would that work? and the domain would go to say x database and sub domain to xx database,

or do i just use one database....... :-\

thanks

Lloyd
Title: Re: 2 databases?
Post by: BlondChick on March 29, 2012, 01:26:33 PM
This might work, especially when each domain has its own forum.
Title: Re: 2 databases?
Post by: Tristan Perry on March 29, 2012, 02:51:34 PM
Yep that's fine - as long as you're running 2 different forums.
Title: Re: 2 databases?
Post by: test1.0 on March 29, 2012, 03:06:56 PM
sweet! i thought i was right lol...

well its going to be a little online store and a smf forum so hopefully it will be sweet.
Title: Re: 2 databases?
Post by: Tristan Perry on March 29, 2012, 03:10:21 PM
Sounds good :) Yep it's fine to run multiple apps/softwares on multiple databases. You just enter the different database information when you come to install the scripts.
Title: Re: 2 databases?
Post by: test1.0 on March 29, 2012, 03:15:49 PM
thats what i thought, thats great thanks for your help.

Title: Re: 2 databases?
Post by: test1.0 on March 29, 2012, 03:18:13 PM
just noticed your in the uk, me too.

is http://www.attentivehost.com in the uk?
Title: Re: 2 databases?
Post by: Tristan Perry on March 30, 2012, 01:12:18 PM
thats what i thought, thats great thanks for your help.
You're welcome :)

just noticed your in the uk, me too.

is http://www.attentivehost.com in the uk?
Yep I'm from the UK and our company is based there but our servers are in LA, USA. :)