Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => SMF 2.1.x Support => Topic started by: Sir Osis of Liver on April 29, 2015, 10:58:24 PM

Title: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on April 29, 2015, 10:58:24 PM
The user dropmenu doesn't work in IE11.  Highlights on mouseover, but no menu.  :P
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: JBlaze on April 29, 2015, 11:45:24 PM
Yay. Microshaft breaking things again.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on April 29, 2015, 11:49:04 PM
Does this happen to other IE11 users?
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Antes on April 30, 2015, 03:47:11 AM
I can't reproduce this on IE11 (RTM - Windows 10) & Spartan (Using Build 10061). I'll update my post now downloading build 10074.

Can you reproduce same issue on http://users.tpg.com.au/j_birch/plugins/superfish/examples/ here ?
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: margarett on April 30, 2015, 04:41:50 AM
The menu works for me in IE11. I mean, I have to click it to open, not sure if this is what you meant?
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Antes on April 30, 2015, 04:55:22 AM
The menu works for me in IE11. I mean, I have to click it to open, not sure if this is what you meant?

Tap-to-open is mobile special case if you have to click on it means something wrong :D maybe worth reporting to author of plug-in.

https://github.com/joeldbirch/superfish/issues
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: margarett on April 30, 2015, 05:05:20 AM
The behavior is the same in FF, so I imagine that it might be on purpose?

All other "dropdowns", errrmmm, drop down :P when pointing, except the user menu.

edit: I'm pretty sure that it is on purpose, because the user menu displays a "loading" when clicked the first time, so it makes sense that it doesn't do it (and loads whatever it has to load) just because the mouse travels there.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Illori on April 30, 2015, 05:06:20 AM
The menu works for me in IE11. I mean, I have to click it to open, not sure if this is what you meant?

Tap-to-open is mobile special case if you have to click on it means something wrong :D maybe worth reporting to author of plug-in.

https://github.com/joeldbirch/superfish/issues

i believe margarett is talking about the desktop browser not a phone browser. on the desktop browser you need to click to view the menu.

i believe it was made click to view on purpose. especially the alerts menu ;)
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Antes on April 30, 2015, 05:13:01 AM
oh wait. Another misunderstanding :( , I thought you guys talking about "the main menu", top menus such as User - Messages - Alerts are click-to-open, they are designed that way to avoid unnecessary load on server.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: margarett on April 30, 2015, 05:19:18 AM
^^ This is what I was talking about ;)

Krash did mention the "user dropmenu", which I understood as being the top-left menu where your username is and that links to profile stuff
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Kindred on April 30, 2015, 07:08:13 AM
yup... not sure which "user menu" is meant... but IE11 seems to work correctly for me.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: live627 on April 30, 2015, 12:15:43 PM
There is one user menu, and it is filled with alligators. Oh, and it's in the top bar. :P
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Kindred on April 30, 2015, 12:16:37 PM
If that is what he means, then it works perfectly fine for me in IE11, FF and Chrome
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Illori on April 30, 2015, 12:32:32 PM
If that is what he means, then it works perfectly fine for me in IE11, FF and Chrome

i think the issue is at first it is not obvious that you need to click it to show anything as the main menu works on hover.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on April 30, 2015, 02:28:42 PM
Clicking on it does nothing, it doesn't work.  Install is about a month old, so it's not current build.  Using InPrivate browsing with Ghostery, AdBlock Plus, and some configuration tweaks.  Are we back to using external link to jquery?
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Illori on April 30, 2015, 02:38:47 PM
we have not changed to using local jquery by default, although it was suggested that would be the best way and let the admin select otherwise.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Kindred on April 30, 2015, 02:47:52 PM
Krash,

you must have something strange in your configuration... it works for me just fine on http://test2.turtleshellprod.com
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Illori on April 30, 2015, 02:53:23 PM
i bet he is blocking google's jquery so the menu will fail to work.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on April 30, 2015, 02:58:38 PM
Works on your test site.  My 2.1 install is pretty much out-of-box, haven't had time to play with it.  Jquery is set to Local.  Will update to current build soon as I get a chance. 
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on May 11, 2015, 12:41:39 AM
Just got around to installing the current github version, and user drop menu still doesn't work in IE11.  Works fine in FF37.  Odd thing is, I believe it worked once a week or so ago, while I was paying attention to something else.  Been setting up a new computer, so things have been a bit ragged here.  Maybe something in my browser setup, but works fine everywhere else.  Not sure what to look for.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: live627 on May 11, 2015, 02:17:24 AM
Did you check the JavaScript error console?
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on May 11, 2015, 12:52:49 PM
Getting errors like this -

Code: [Select]

Line: 2
Error: Object doesn't support property or method 'addEventListener'

{return H||(H=n.Deferred(),"complete"===l.readyState?setTimeout(n.ready):(l.addEventListener("DOMContentLoaded",I,!1),a.addEventListener

("load",I,!1))),H.promise(b)},


Line: 21
Error: 'jQuery' is undefined

// clear the tip on a click
$(this).bind("click", function(event){
hideTooltip(this);
return true;
});

});
};

})(jQuery);


Line: 1590
Error: The value of the property '$' is null or undefined, not a Function object

Line: 33
Error: '$' is undefined

Line: 150
Error: '$' is undefined


But only in IE11, and only on my install.  Works fine in FF, and IE11 works fine on Kindred's install.

It's here (http://www.thekrashsite.com/smf21/), try it. 

  un - Test
  pw - testosterone

Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Illori on May 11, 2015, 01:04:03 PM
when did you last update this version? you had this issue sometime ago and the problem was resolved on github.

jquery is not being loaded it seems.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on May 11, 2015, 01:29:18 PM
D/l'ed github package May 8.  It's a clean install over existing database, ran upgrade.php.  Works in FF, so jquery is loading there. 

Ok, here's the problem.  Jquery library is set local.  If I set it to auto, dropmenu opens, but takes 20-30 sec to do so first time.  It's set for auto now, if you want to try it.

Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on May 12, 2015, 03:13:14 PM
In Load.php -

This works in FF37, not in IE11 -

Code: [Select]

elseif (isset($modSettings['jquery_source']) && $modSettings['jquery_source'] == 'local')
loadJavascriptFile('jquery-2.1.3.min.js', array('default_theme' => true, 'seed' => false), 'jquery');


This works in both -

Code: [Select]

elseif (isset($modSettings['jquery_source']) && $modSettings['jquery_source'] == 'local')
loadJavascriptFile('jquery-1.11.0.min.js', array('default_theme' => true, 'seed' => false), 'jquery');



Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Illori on May 12, 2015, 03:19:58 PM
http://blog.jquery.com/2014/12/18/jquery-1-11-2-and-2-1-3-released-safari-fail-safe-edition/

Quote
The 1.x branch includes support for IE 6/7/8 and the 2.x branch does not.

the 1.11 version of jquery was dropped as support for ie8 was removed from 2.1.

no idea why your IE 11 may be having issues with jquery 2.x

was not a huge change to move to jquery 2, if a revert is necceary i guess it can be done https://github.com/SimpleMachines/SMF2.1/commit/2d9df801c54a97d9b199550c9707a1f4c776f505
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on May 12, 2015, 03:30:01 PM
Another thing, the 'Custom url to the jQuery Library' shows 'https://code.jquery.com/' for all choices.  Admins should be aware they are linking to a Google resource if they select 'Auto'.
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: margarett on May 12, 2015, 05:09:15 PM
There has to be something weird in your setup :P

In my IE11 it works fine. And it clearly loads the correct jquery file locally... Can you check in your developer tools if the script is correctly loaded?
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on May 12, 2015, 05:38:43 PM
Well bugger me with a fish fork. (https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thekrashsite.com%2Fpics%2Feek.gif&hash=72ccbf47cf5be22b0ceabe2e1b43f420)

Dev console tells me script's failing because browser is running in compatibility view.  Default setting in IE11 is to 'Display intranet sites in Compatibility View', if disabled jquery 2.1.3 loads correctly.  I'm guessing that because my proxy is set up in LAN settings, IE considers all websites to be intranet.  This also screwed up the custom theme on my production forums.  Have spent hours dicking around with css trying to fix it, now it's fine.  Don't imagine this would be a common problem, but it would affect anyone using IE11 with a proxy.
 
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: margarett on May 12, 2015, 05:53:02 PM
It's actually a great find ;)
That's something we can come across in Support in a not-so-distant-future ;)
Title: Re: First look in IE11
Post by: Kindred on May 12, 2015, 06:02:33 PM
Actually, with the posts above, about javascript versions and support for older ie versions, I was going to ask you if you were running in compatibility format...   good catch!