Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => SMF 1.1.x Support => Topic started by: mindseye on December 05, 2017, 01:27:07 AM

Title: [Help Request] Adding forum header to website
Post by: mindseye on December 05, 2017, 01:27:07 AM
Hi!

I'm sorry if this has been asked, but I have searched and have not found anything in the help articles nor forum so I don't know if this is possible.

I found a forum template that I think looks pretty nice, and I'm wondering if there is a way to include the full header on my main website? I have seen lots of tricks to get my website theme into my forum, but not really the other way around.

*Edit* Forgot to say I may just have to check the html, copy it, and replace the sections with the includes if there is not an easier way.

Thanks for your time and assistance.

mindseye
Title: Re: [Help Request] Adding forum header to website
Post by: Looking on December 05, 2017, 04:02:16 AM
You will probably need to edit the theme's index.template as well as the css file. Neither of these should be edited unless you know what you are doing because you can cause your site to go offline or look weird.
Title: Re: [Help Request] Adding forum header to website
Post by: mindseye on December 05, 2017, 04:05:58 AM
You will probably need to edit the theme's index.template as well as the css file. Neither of these should be edited unless you know what you are doing because you can cause your site to go offline or look weird.

Thanks Looking. That is what I figured but wanted to confirm lol. I have in the past tried to use bootstrap but that did not go so well, so I started took the html and inserted the SSI commands within.

Thanks for the quick reply and hope you have a great day.
Title: Re: [Help Request] Adding forum header to website
Post by: Arantor on December 05, 2017, 05:34:51 AM
Include SSI.php in your site, then call template_header() to display the top part, and template_footer() for the bottom after your content.
Title: Re: [Help Request] Adding forum header to website
Post by: Kindred on December 06, 2017, 01:10:07 AM
Also, if you are still using smf 1.1.x, you need to upgrade to the 2.0.x series —- 1.1.x is at end of life and will lose all support soon