Simple Machines Community Forum

Customizing SMF => Graphics and Templates => Theme Site Themes => Topic started by: nilar on December 07, 2017, 05:35:35 PM

Title: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 07, 2017, 05:35:35 PM
Link to the theme (https://custom.simplemachines.org/themes/index.php?lemma=2895)
(https://custom.simplemachines.org/themes/index.php/action,download/lemma,2895/image,thumb)

A modern, responsive theme with a green layout and a right sidebar featuring a top ad spot, new posts and popular topics.

The ad spot is configurable through Theme Settings in the admin area.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Rock Lee on December 07, 2017, 07:36:54 PM
It seems a clean and very good subject, let's try it, thank you for sharing!


Regards!
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: lazo50 on December 08, 2017, 07:26:40 AM
Excellent work.
I like the theme a lot, but the right column is too cumbersome. Can you delete? If so how?

Many TNX
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 09, 2017, 04:55:26 PM
Thanks a lot guys.

lazo50, the theme was designed with the sidebar in mind and it can't be removed from the admin area, but if you pm me your email address I can send you a copy without it.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: lazo50 on December 10, 2017, 02:24:47 AM
Thanks a lot guys.

lazo50, the theme was designed with the sidebar in mind and it can't be removed from the admin area, but if you pm me your email address I can send you a copy without it.


Done by PM
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 10, 2017, 03:58:04 AM
Sent. If you have any problems, please let me know.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: lazo50 on December 10, 2017, 12:43:58 PM
Sent. If you have any problems, please let me know.

Many thanks for the help. Everything works perfectly. :-*
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: JonasTheGamer on December 12, 2017, 06:39:33 AM
Hey! I'm happy that there is a nice and functional theme!
But i still have a few questions about customization.
 - How can i change the colors on top of the page? (the light- and dark green)
 - When i visit the forum on mobile, it seems to show the normal web view. Is there a mobile friendly version?
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: JonasTheGamer on December 12, 2017, 06:40:22 AM
Oh wait, there is :) My phone was on "desktop site"
Just the color question left...
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 13, 2017, 10:37:52 AM
- How can i change the colors on top of the page? (the light- and dark green)
I'm glad you like the theme. To change those colors you have to modify the stylesheets. You can do that from Admin >> Configuration  >> Current Theme >> Modify the stylesheets. (colors, fonts, etc.)

Please PM me and I'll explain which files and lines you have to modify exactly.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: JonasTheGamer on December 13, 2017, 11:16:03 AM
Hi! No need to pm :)
I found the right css files and eited them :)
Thanks!
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 13, 2017, 12:10:50 PM
 Awesome. Thank you  ;)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 14, 2017, 05:42:38 AM
The theme has been updated to fix a bug.

Please download and install the new package and as usual, if you find any issues, just let me know :)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Teru Mikami on December 14, 2017, 10:42:00 PM
Dear Nilar. We use simpleportal in our forum, so, the right sidebar is not a good idea for us. Would you send me a copy without the sidebar, please?

Great job. A really nice and functional theme. Very professional.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 15, 2017, 03:59:39 AM
Thank you  :)

Yes, sure. Please send your email address by PM.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: JonasTheGamer on December 16, 2017, 04:57:08 AM
Hello! I'm installing the update but i still have one question:
The email system isn't working. Is that related to the forum theme?
Thanks
Jonas
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: JonasTheGamer on December 16, 2017, 05:01:57 AM
Hi. The update kinda messed up my forum
Now i have 2 startaza ones in my forum
How can i remove the old one?
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 16, 2017, 12:57:27 PM
Hi, it shouldn't. The theme does not alter the way emails are sent. Do you get an error? Anyone else experiencing an issue with the email system?

The new theme should be the first one in the combo box, but to be sure I would delete both and install it again.

To remove go to Admin >> Configuration >> Themes and Layouts >> Theme Settings tab.  Then click on the red X to the right of the theme name.

Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: JonasTheGamer on December 24, 2017, 11:42:35 AM
Aha. That worked :)

Weird. Now the next problem appeared. The icons in the menu and above the posts (reply,help,...) are visible on pc but they aren't on mobile devices. Is there a way to fix that?

Thanks,
Jonas
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 25, 2017, 03:32:16 AM
Glad it worked :)

On the screen of a mobile the top menu is reachable from the top right menu icon.

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.forummechanics.com%2Fdemo%2Fsmf%2Fstartaza%2FScreenshot_1.png&hash=e83acc6c041da0baba2501601592231e)

The menu above the posts is there, but you can see only the corresponding icons, not the text.

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.forummechanics.com%2Fdemo%2Fsmf%2Fstartaza%2FScreenshot_2.png&hash=20745cdc7e87dcf6c844b8c7bbf8b886)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: JonasTheGamer on December 25, 2017, 06:33:25 AM
This is how the icons look to me:
See attachments

Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: thomp4pal on December 25, 2017, 02:24:04 PM
A very nice theme, but i need to turn off the right widget containing 'New post' and 'Popular post'.
Thanks for this sexy theme ;D
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 26, 2017, 04:03:17 AM
This is how the icons look to me:
See attachments

Weird indeed. PM me the URL of your website and I'll take a look.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on December 26, 2017, 04:06:24 AM
A very nice theme, but i need to turn off the right widget containing 'New post' and 'Popular post'.
Thanks for this sexy theme ;D

Do you want to remove the entire sidebar or those 2 widgets only? Please PM details and your email address.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Pippo Giornini on December 26, 2017, 06:19:19 PM
Simply beautiful, functional and professional at the same time. Congratulations, Nilar.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Portugal on December 28, 2017, 06:44:53 AM
Great theme, im using it on one forum mine. Thanks Nilar.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: legaziofunk on January 25, 2018, 05:29:45 AM
Dear Nilar,

thanx for the theme.

I do have a couple of issues which have already been adressed in this thread.

Therfore, before "bombing" you with PMs, I thought, maybe it makes sense for you to provide a thread or a simple text file which contains the answers to many aforementioned issues in this thread (since they do not contain too "private" informations).

Just a thought.

Thanx! ;-)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: legaziofunk on January 25, 2018, 07:03:14 AM
Dear Nilar,

I am having two isseus with your theme that I have adressed in these two threads, but not a solution, yet.

Therefore, I may post them into this thread as a reference and am hoping, this is okay to do.

1. alternative Log-in Box is not functioning:
https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=558391.0
In short: When using the alternative on the right by entering all profile data (name and pass) correctly, there is an error showing up: "Ihre Sitzung ist während des Schreibens abgelaufen. Bitte gehen Sie zurück und versuchen Sie es erneut." (the board is in German) Means: "The session has timed out. Please go back and try again."

2. Theme negates protected boards:
https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=558390.0
In short: After a new post has been done in a protected/hidden board or there is huge traffic in a protected/hidden board, this very post pops up in one or both of the right hand widgets, giving access to any user to this very post and therefore to the protected board, even if the user has no permission to do so.

I'd be very greatful if these issues could be solved.

Thanx!
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on January 25, 2018, 11:01:57 AM
Hi legaziofunk,

Thank you for using the theme and no problem, feel free to bomb me with PMs :)

If you have downloaded the latest version, point 1) was addressed.

I am not sure about point 2). I will take a look at the threads you created, but I see that other members are already doing a nice work there :)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: toasterninja on February 05, 2018, 06:12:40 AM
Hiya, Nilar! Startaza's a great theme, thank you!

I have a question - I'd like to replace the "Recent Posts" block with "Recent Topics" and show 10 instead of 5. I read in another thread that Startaza is using SSI so it shouldn't be too hard, I'm just not sure where to make those changes?


Also regarding hidden boards showing up, I have a bunch of private boards for different project groups, and everything's behaving according to permissions. Users are only seeing what they are allowed to access.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on February 05, 2018, 08:29:34 AM
Hi toasterninja,

Yes, it is not difficult. You must only change the index.template.php file.

At line 471 you must change line

Code: [Select]
$array = ssi_recentPosts( ...
with this

Code: [Select]
$array = ssi_recentTopics(10, null, null, 'array');
Also change the line 467

Code: [Select]
<span>&nbsp;<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=recent">', $txt['new_posts'], '</a></span>
with this

Code: [Select]
<span>&nbsp;<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=recent">', $txt['new'], ' ', $txt['topics'], '</a></span>
Hope it helps  :)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: toasterninja on February 07, 2018, 02:10:28 PM
Hi toasterninja,

Yes, it is not difficult. You must only change the index.template.php file.

Brilliant! Thanks so much!  :D
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on February 08, 2018, 04:39:42 AM
You are welcome!  ;)

I didn't test it, but you may also want to use this mod http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1414
to show the Recent Topics On "Recent Posts" page, since the title of the widget still links to that page.

Or you can just remove the link from here

Code: [Select]
<span>&nbsp;<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=recent">', $txt['new'], ' ', $txt['topics'], '</a></span>
like this:

Code: [Select]
<span>&nbsp;'', $txt['new'], ' ', $txt['topics'], '</span>
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: christx on February 13, 2018, 04:58:48 AM
Hi
I got 1 question, how to change the blank names of settings in user-menu?
Just like screen above
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on February 13, 2018, 05:05:24 AM
They should not be blank. I got your PM. I'll reply there.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Welicak94 on March 01, 2018, 08:45:10 PM
Hi. I'm using SMFPacks ShoutBox mod, and I have this problem (check screenshot) :D
Their mod is fitting and responsive to all themes I tried so far...
So, nilar, can you help me to fix this problem? :)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on March 02, 2018, 03:01:34 AM
Hi! Please PM the URL of your website and I will take a look.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: sehalic on March 27, 2018, 10:48:49 AM
Dear Nilar, thank you for your theme, it looks great. I installed but I have some problem not showing some titles or menu titles, can you please check. Thank you.

stripovi.ba/forum/index.php


Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on March 27, 2018, 11:07:42 AM
Dear Nilar, thank you for your theme, it looks great. I installed but I have some problem not showing some titles or menu titles, can you please check. Thank you.

stripovi.ba/forum/index.php
Hi!  :) It seems there is some problem with your language file. Try to remove the language, verify that everything works fine with the default English, and then add your language again. If you need further assistance, please send a PM.  8)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: sehalic on March 27, 2018, 11:31:12 AM
Hi, Im sending you PM :).
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: rfjardim on April 06, 2018, 12:32:44 AM
Hi Nilar,

Congrats on your theme. It is awesome.

We decided to use your theme as the default for now. ( ******ute. com )

However, as you can see, I have been trying to customize the colours to tons of red to match our brand.

I have fiddled with all the css files but the green still persists.

What files do I have to edit in order to change the colours?

Thank you

Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on April 06, 2018, 01:57:39 AM
Hi rfjardim! Thank you for using my theme.
The main css file of the theme is index.css. If you change that, most of the work is done.
There are also a couple of things to change in bootstrap.css

I'll also reply to your PM.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Grossy on May 13, 2018, 01:22:47 PM
Hi Nilar

thanks for the nice theme.
have a little isue with th Ü/ü (sorry, just posted it under the 'wrong' Subject).

just installed the nice Startaza theme.
In the header and footer the Ü/ü are missing altough correctly represented in the menu(see attachment).
Anyone knows how to fix this?


(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2FC%3A%5CDownload+Programmas%5C_WebDesign%5C_Forum%5CSFM%5C%C3%9C-missing.png&hash=c3b47f16c1e316ab724f05d658ed5c80)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Grossy on May 14, 2018, 03:03:47 AM
Hi Nilar,

Problem solved:
Administrator-Center>Serversettings>Konfiguration>'Allgemein'/'general'>Forum Name....>save

Have a nice day.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on May 14, 2018, 03:14:50 AM
Hi Grossy!

Thank you for using the theme. I'm happy you have found the right solution :)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: UFT on May 19, 2018, 01:01:15 PM
- How can i change the colors on top of the page? (the light- and dark green)
I'm glad you like the theme. To change those colors you have to modify the stylesheets. You can do that from Admin >> Configuration  >> Current Theme >> Modify the stylesheets. (colors, fonts, etc.)

Please PM me and I'll explain which files and lines you have to modify exactly.

Great theme nilar!!  Exactly what I've been looking for.

Can you let me know how to change the green colors to another color?  Which stylesheet?  Thanks!
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on May 20, 2018, 03:39:45 AM
Hi UFT,

I'm glad you like the theme  :)

The main stylesheets are index.css and bootstrap.css. To change the light green you must find and replace all occurrences of #A1B400 with your preferred color. To change the dark green you must find and replace all occurrences of #224A37 with your preferred color.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: UFT on May 22, 2018, 12:27:51 PM
Hi UFT,

I'm glad you like the theme  :)

The main stylesheets are index.css and bootstrap.css. To change the light green you must find and replace all occurrences of #A1B400 with your preferred color. To change the dark green you must find and replace all occurrences of #224A37 with your preferred color.

Thank you, Nilar
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: prinzgilz on May 27, 2018, 12:49:59 PM
Very nice theme, i love it . we have adopted this theme for our new forum, But i need to get rid of the 'new posts' box that shows on every page. Please how can i do that. and  i also  want to reduce the size of the author details on the right left side of every posts.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: prinzgilz on May 28, 2018, 10:49:56 AM
Thanks a lot guys.

lazo50, the theme was designed with the sidebar in mind and it can't be removed from the admin area, but if you pm me your email address I can send you a copy without it.

Hello, please can you also send me the copy of the theme without the sidebar too, my email address is prinzgilz@gmail.com
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Timanator on May 30, 2018, 08:37:49 AM
How do you change the top light green bar color? I did a replace in index.css for A1B400, all the other light green areas changed in the them, but the top bar remained the same color?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on June 03, 2018, 02:52:50 AM
How do you change the top light green bar color? I did a replace in index.css for A1B400, all the other light green areas changed in the them, but the top bar remained the same color?

Thanks.

Solved by PM. Thank you for using the theme  ;)
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on June 14, 2018, 01:34:03 AM
Placeholder in search input field does not display when field is open in IE11, only as it closes.  Works fine in FF60.  Can this be fixed?
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on June 14, 2018, 05:36:14 AM
Placeholder in search input field does not display when field is open in IE11, only as it closes.  Works fine in FF60.  Can this be fixed?

I am not sure. This is an IE bug known by IE development team since 2014, and apparently never solved.
Basically, unlike other browsers, even Edge, when the input field has focus it gets the normal style of the input field and the placeholder text disappears. When you close the search box, the input field loses focus, and the placeholder text shows up.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on June 14, 2018, 07:02:38 PM
A bit of a hack, but seems to work in IE11 and FF60 -

index.template.php

Code: [Select]

<input type="text" id="search" class="searchbox-input" value="Search..." style="color:#aaa;" onfocus="value=\'\';this.style.color=\'#000\';" onkeyup="buttonUp();" required/>


startaza.js

Code: [Select]

            submitIcon.click(function(){
                if(isOpen == false){
                    searchBox.addClass('searchbox-open');
                    inputBox.blur();
                    isOpen = true;
                } else {


Maybe you can do something with it.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on June 15, 2018, 02:31:06 AM
Quote
inputBox.blur();

Thank you. I am not sure the user would expect this behaviour though.

When I click I expect to input my search keywords immediately, removing the focus you have basically to click again.

Have others using this theme an opinion about this?
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on June 15, 2018, 01:41:08 PM
First time I'm working with this theme, haven't gotten any feedback.  Search input field on most themes requires clicking in the box to begin typing, yours is different because field is hidden until button is clicked to open it.  Don't know how much difference it would make to anyone for it to open with/without focus in the box.  Placeholder apparently only goes missing in IE, not really a big deal, but it's obviously broken because it appears briefly when input field closes.  It's one of those things where it's not perfect either way, so it's a judgement call.

Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on June 16, 2018, 03:26:10 AM
ok, thank you for your feedback. I'll do this way, I'll put a check on the browser, if it is IE, then the search box will use blur() instead of focus(). What do you think?
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Sir Osis of Liver on June 16, 2018, 07:49:21 PM
Hmm, there seem to be many ways to do this, none of which are particularly reliable, but this seems to work -

startaza.js

Code: [Select]

                if(isOpen == false){
                    searchBox.addClass('searchbox-open');

var msie = ua.indexOf('MSIE');
var ie11 = /Trident.*rv[ :]*11\./.test(navigator.userAgent);
if (msie > 0 || ie11 === true) {
inputBox.blur();
}
else {
inputBox.focus();
}

                    isOpen = true;
                } else {
                    searchBox.removeClass('searchbox-open');
                    inputBox.focusout();
                    isOpen = false;
                }


index.template.php

Code: [Select]

<input type="search"  class="searchbox-input" placeholder="Search..." onfocus="value=\'\';this.style.color=\'#000\';"  onblur="value=\'\';this.style.color=\'#aaa\';" name="search" onkeyup="buttonUp();" >

Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: BNS Marko on June 20, 2018, 08:23:08 AM
Greetings,

Cheers to creating this excellent theme. I already read someone here reported the issue of missing icons, has that been resolved?

Testing so far I managed to reproduce the error on Mozilla and Internet Explorer, but it works fine on Chrome.

On Mozilla the icons are replaced by some symbol,
(https://puu.sh/AIGyU/78717d72b4.png)
(https://puu.sh/AIGyX/d7c7f3d543.png)

while on Internet Explorer they are entirely missing
(https://puu.sh/AIGAm/d61a63d991.png)

Any solutions for this?
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on June 20, 2018, 08:55:42 AM
Hi, Thank you  :)

Not sure if you have the same problem, but a guy who reported this had issues with his SMF settings and had to repair his installation. But he also had the issue on any browser.

Would you like I take a look? Feel free to PM details.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: Jason P on June 26, 2018, 06:18:12 AM
Greetings,

Cheers to creating this excellent theme. I already read someone here reported the issue of missing icons, has that been resolved?

Testing so far I managed to reproduce the error on Mozilla and Internet Explorer, but it works fine on Chrome.

On Mozilla the icons are replaced by some symbol,
(https://puu.sh/AIGyU/78717d72b4.png)
(https://puu.sh/AIGyX/d7c7f3d543.png)

while on Internet Explorer they are entirely missing
(https://puu.sh/AIGAm/d61a63d991.png)

Any solutions for this?

It normally happens when loading mixed content. ie; https over http and vice versa.

To fix it change the url's to load correctly.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: lawebdelexpatriado on July 30, 2018, 01:19:23 AM
How can I change the font size on quotes? I have tried editing the index.css file, setting the font size to 110%, for example, (or to "large" instead of x-small) and the fun thing is that I can see the change on the preview, but no in the forum when I accept the changes :S
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on July 30, 2018, 02:09:09 AM
How can I change the font size on quotes? I have tried editing the index.css file, setting the font size to 110%, for example, (or to "large" instead of x-small) and the fun thing is that I can see the change on the preview, but no in the forum when I accept the changes :S

Probably you must only refresh the css file in your browser, but please feel free to PM me your forum link and I'll take a look.
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: stevehayes on September 08, 2018, 04:49:46 PM
Thanks a lot guys.

lazo50, the theme was designed with the sidebar in mind and it can't be removed from the admin area, but if you pm me your email address I can send you a copy without it.


Done by PM
Love your theme but I also have a reason why I need to remove RHS sidebar. Is there a chance you could PM myself instruction?
Title: Re: Startaza
Post by: nilar on September 09, 2018, 02:41:33 AM

Love your theme but I also have a reason why I need to remove RHS sidebar. Is there a chance you could PM myself instruction?
[/quote]

Done!  ;D