Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => SMF 2.1.x Support => Topic started by: Juan Carlos on December 17, 2018, 07:59:51 PM

Title: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 17, 2018, 07:59:51 PM
I just download the last gh today and the upgrade process stop alwalys in the same step.

I try several times but I cant advance.

I attach the image with the error
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Kindred on December 17, 2018, 08:15:41 PM
You doi know that the upgrade script is not intended to be used between nightly builds?
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 17, 2018, 08:31:39 PM
Sorry but I dont understand you
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Kindred on December 17, 2018, 08:33:44 PM
The upgrader is not intended to be run when going from beta to beta of the github downloads
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 17, 2018, 08:43:26 PM
I made several upgrades from GitHub.
Which is the correct procesa then?
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Kindred on December 17, 2018, 09:02:04 PM
You have to manually adjust the database .

This is one of the many reasons why we caution people not to use the beta unless they know what they are doing.


When we build an actual release, we make the updater work from previously released versions ... but there is no such thing taken into account for the day to day changes between daily github builds.
To upgrade a daily to a daily, you have to manually check the database changes and manually apply them.

The upgrader should work from 1.1.x, 2.0.x and probably 2.1 beta 3...
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 17, 2018, 09:09:01 PM
Ok thank you
How I know that changes in the databases to make manually
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Kindred on December 17, 2018, 09:25:10 PM
You have to look through the upgrade script to find what the eventual target is and make sure your database matches ...     its part of the reason why I always blow away my test site and install clean copy instead of an update.
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 17, 2018, 09:35:44 PM
Ok thank you vey much. now I will try and be more carafully with the upgrades
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Antes on December 18, 2018, 07:40:44 AM
This is interesting, I'm using/testing SMF 2.1 since alpha1 and always used upgrade.php to bring my local to date and never had this issue. Are you running upgrade.php on a remote server or a local server?
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 18, 2018, 09:24:06 AM
I always did like you Antes and I did not have problems with the upgrades either.
I'm running the upgrade.php on a remote server
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: GigaWatt on December 18, 2018, 09:59:42 AM
Might be something server side. What permissions does the database user you're using for the beta have?
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Antes on December 18, 2018, 10:04:27 AM
I always did like you Antes and I did not have problems with the upgrades either.
I'm running the upgrade.php on a remote server

Clone your remote site to local and try to upgrade from there.
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 18, 2018, 12:28:53 PM
I just run the "upgrade" in another domain as I always do and it ran perfectly without any errors.
The two domains are on the same host and the databases have the same characteristics.
The only difference I had between one forum and another is that the one that produced the error had installed the l to test.
I think the tiny portal made some change in the database that is causing the error.
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Kindred on December 18, 2018, 12:54:37 PM
see, though, the thing is...  even running upgrade.php will not modify your database in the correct way(s) when going from nightly beta to nightly beta.  So, running upgrade.php will not have your database in the correct format and may result in odd issues

So I have been told by the lead developer.
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 18, 2018, 01:01:24 PM
I download from the "Clone or Download" button in GH.

I dont know if this is the same that the nightly download.
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Illori on December 18, 2018, 01:05:20 PM
no it is not.
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Kindred on December 18, 2018, 01:36:39 PM
yes, it is...  essentially.
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Arantor on December 18, 2018, 01:41:23 PM
yes, it is...  essentially.

Mostly, the key differences are that the installer is in a different folder, and that nightly can be out of sync with 'latest' by up to a day...
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: tinoest on December 18, 2018, 11:29:37 PM
I just run the "upgrade" in another domain as I always do and it ran perfectly without any errors.
The two domains are on the same host and the databases have the same characteristics.
The only difference I had between one forum and another is that the one that produced the error had installed the l to test.
I think the tiny portal made some change in the database that is causing the error.

TinyPortal doesn’t make any changes to the dB or even core files for SMF2.1 so I can’t see how it would break it.
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: shawnb61 on December 30, 2018, 04:36:53 PM
Juan Carlos -

Did you ever get this sorted out?   Or is this still an issue?

If this is still an issue it may help to see the structure of your custom_fields table - that's what it was working on.

Title: Re: Update error
Post by: lurkalot on December 30, 2018, 05:30:09 PM
This is interesting, I'm using/testing SMF 2.1 since alpha1 and always used upgrade.php to bring my local to date and never had this issue. Are you running upgrade.php on a remote server or a local server?

Me too.  Upgraded using the nightly build of RC1 only two days ago. Also running TinyPortal since day one. http://cctestsite.info/testsite3/index.php
Title: Re: Update error
Post by: Juan Carlos on December 31, 2018, 09:57:09 AM
Juan Carlos -

Did you ever get this sorted out?   Or is this still an issue?

If this is still an issue it may help to see the structure of your custom_fields table - that's what it was working on.

Well, I've already got the problem gone but I do not know how. As I did not find the problem, I did the following:
1. I deleted the database and create a new one.
2. I made a new clean installation from gh.
3. I deleted the data from the tables and then imported all the data table by table from a previous backup.
4. Then I ran the upgrade again and it worked correctly.

I understand that this was not the best way to find the error