Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => SMF 2.0.x Support => Topic started by: Blade~ on June 01, 2020, 06:23:21 PM

Title: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Blade~ on June 01, 2020, 06:23:21 PM
Hi all,

We had to move to a new server from Windows to Linux, all went good except right now nothing under admin shows up. When I click on the admin button just get a blank screen, even if I select something from the drop down menu. I looked everything I could, it's probably just a case of a lower case or upper case reference since Linux is case sensitive. Any suggestions where I should look deeper? Thank you!

We're on 2.0.15 and using the Ambassador theme.
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Deaks on June 01, 2020, 07:17:41 PM
I will be honest I know nothing about databases however it could be possible using an ftp client or file manager do you have an error_log file?  If so are their any errors related t your forum?
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: shadav on June 01, 2020, 10:10:14 PM
have you run through the faq
https://wiki.simplemachines.org/smf/Hosting_-_How_do_I_move_my_SMF_forum_to_a_different_host
especial #5
Quote
Step 5 - Run repair_settings.php on the new system to ensure that your paths, URLs, and database credentials are correct.
?
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Illori on June 02, 2020, 05:10:13 AM
did you check your server error log to see if there is a related error logged?
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Blade~ on June 08, 2020, 03:12:36 PM
All right, I'm back here again, we did run repair_settings, didn't see any issues there, checked server log page, no errors at all.

Anyone has any ideas how to check why the Admin feature is not working? All else is working good, only Admin gives us a blank page.

Thank you!
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Illori on June 08, 2020, 03:34:57 PM
Have you asked your host? Maybe the server error log is not enabled.
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Blade~ on June 08, 2020, 04:32:20 PM
Got it ... well, here is the last entry just after trying the admin feature again:

PHP Fatal error:  require(): Failed opening required '/filmwor1/public_html/wp-blog-header.php' (include_path='.:/opt/cpanel/ea-php73/root/usr/share/pear') in /filmwor1/public_html/index.php on line 17
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Illori on June 08, 2020, 04:33:58 PM
does wp-blog-header.php exist?

did you put that code there?
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: shadav on June 08, 2020, 05:06:36 PM
isn't that wordpress and not smf....why would an error from wordpress not allow you log into your smf admin  :o

but as illori said, are you sure that that file actually exists?

If all else fails reupload the files just to make sure that everything actually did get uploaded and nothing got missed.....

Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: shadav on June 08, 2020, 05:08:37 PM
also on a side note when you ran the repair tool, did you press for it to reset all themes to default? Are you able to log into admin then or still the same problem?
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Blade~ on June 08, 2020, 06:05:02 PM
Yeah ... I think I found it:

PHP Fatal error:  Cannot redeclare MobileThemeSelector() (previously declared in /home2/filmwor1/public_html/MovieForum/Sources/Admin.php:1001) in /home2/filmwor1/public_html/MovieForum/Sources/Admin.php on line 1065

Looks like it's the Mobile theme selector that's causing it ...
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Arantor on June 08, 2020, 06:09:50 PM
It looks like it was installed twice by accident, rather than the mod inherently being at fault.

If you look in the code you'll almost certainly find the same section of code at line 1001 then duplicated 64 lines later.
Title: Re: Lost Admin features after server move
Post by: Blade~ on June 08, 2020, 06:14:31 PM
You're a genius! Damn, that's what it was, the function was duplicated. Thanks guys so much for the help, I could not figured this out by myself! :O