Advertisement:

Author Topic: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF  (Read 51099 times)

Offline Satrina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« on: May 23, 2004, 04:22:23 PM »
Hi, I would really appriciate any help you can think of!

I have a YaBB 1.3.1 board that I want to become an SMF forum.

I installed a YaBBSE forum in a new directory, that is up and working.

I downloaded the converter yabb2yabbse_1-5 and ran that.

I gave the converted all of my information, it did a ton of stuff and converted several things, but I think it gets stuck somewhere on the messages. Here is the last thing it prints:

Quote
We are now going to attempt to convert your message files. This may take a while.
Initializing member data for processing
Importing sticky topic data
Importing Categories

Inserting Categories

    Inserting row 1 to 4
    Data inserted successfully!

Importing Boards

Inserting Boards

    Inserting row 1 to 9
    Data inserted successfully!

Importing 'mark as read' data

Inserting 'mark as read' data

    Inserting row 1 to 71
    Data inserted successfully!

Importing Board Logs

Inserting Board Logs

    Inserting row 1 to 500
    Data inserted successfully!
    Inserting row 501 to 825
    Data inserted successfully!

Importing Topics

Then that is all it is done, there are no links or buttons on the converted page. So I go back to my main forum page and see it added the new catagories, and all of the original members, but there are no messages.

My original forum had about 7000 topics.

Any ideas what might be wrong?

Also once this does work and I have a fully functional YabbSE,  I have the SMF upgrade I believe I need, do I install that inside of the same directory as the YaBBSE and "upgrade" that, or do I put all the new files inside of a new directory and it does like the Yabb converter, you tell it where the YabbSE stuff it?

The forum I am trying to convert to is here:

hxxp:myphotos.aboutbeanies.com/chat/index.php [nonactive]

Any help would be great thank you!

-Marie


Offline Satrina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2004, 05:23:54 PM »
After adding some debug to the converter script I can tell it stops before it prints "test111"

Code: [Select]

echo 'test1';
                        if (!checkFile($_REQUEST['boardsdir'] . '/' . $boardname . '.txt'))
                                continue;
echo 'test11';
                        $boardFile = file($_REQUEST['boardsdir'] . '/' . $boardname . '.txt');
echo 'test111';


I don't know anything about php, is it possible to turn on more debug in a script?

UPDATE Well I tried running the script again after adding more debug and this time it didn't even get as far, only got to the " Initializing member data for processing" line this time. hmmmmm

-Marie

« Last Edit: May 23, 2004, 05:30:31 PM by Satrina »

Offline Springer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 326
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2004, 05:37:53 PM »
When you converted to yabbse did you go to version 1.5.X?  If so were all the members and messages there?

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2004, 06:39:13 PM »
Are you sure the converter had finnished running?
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline Satrina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2004, 07:47:19 PM »
Welp nothing yet, it appears to have "finished" the browser stopped but that was it.

Im trying to convert this Yabb 1.3.1 (all the members are here)
This is just a copy of my active forum without any mods, just members, messages and boards from my active forum.
hxxp:myphotos.aboutbeanies.com/chatold/YaBB.cgi [nonactive]

to this YabbSE 1.5.5
hxxp:myphotos.aboutbeanies.com/chat/ [nonactive]

...back to try something else!

thanx!

--Marie

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2004, 08:16:10 PM »
If you arent already, try this converter http://www.yabbse.org/community/index.php?thread=27367
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline Satrina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2004, 08:27:55 PM »
Yup that is the one I am using. Can be run from here:

hxxp:myphotos.aboutbeanies.com/chat/yabb2yabbse.php [nonactive]

Install directory

/export/vhosts/myphotos.aboutbeanies.com/chatold

Current YabbSE dir

/export/vhosts/myphotos.aboutbeanies.com/chat

-Marie

Offline ms_ukyankee

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Gender: Female
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2004, 03:27:09 AM »
Hi, if your forum is large, it can take a good 10-15 minutes or more for it to import all of the messages, I had 30,000 posts on my board, and I was worried that it had stopped, but I left it, and it did import. How long did you leave it?
SMF since 2004 <3

Offline Satrina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2004, 10:44:44 AM »
hmm I left it like 10 minutes, just in case, but the browser stop within 30 seconds of starting.

I want SMF!!!!! ;)

-Marie

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2004, 11:41:20 AM »
If you have a large board, it may be an idea to install a webserver on your local pc and download your board and do the conversion there.

Thats how I did my gold > se conversion all those years back.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline Satrina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2004, 11:46:57 PM »
Anyone know if there is a manual way to finish where the script left off? Load the database another way? Nothing seems to get it past that point, my old forum was about 7000 posts doesn't seem to to large.

I have direct access to the server, I just don't know enough about mysql and php yet.

hmmm....

Offline Satrina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2004, 09:20:46 PM »
anymore thoughts or ideas??? :(

-Marie

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2004, 05:32:09 PM »
Do you know what the memory limits and timeout settings are in php.ini?

Have you tried repairing your YaBB database?

-[Unknown]

Offline Thunderace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 722
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm still a llama!
    • FWR Media UK
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2004, 05:48:58 PM »
I downloaded and uploaded a 44mb yabbse on 40k dialup (although I don't recommend it as a past time  :D)

What I did ..

in PHPMYADMIN I looked at the dB and noted the large tables, they were messages and topics.

I downloaded the big files first individually (gzip)

Then downloaded the rest as one unit. (gzip)

I found that if I uploaded (gzipped) SQL textfiles over 2.5 MB it would "time-out" so I broke the tables down into 2.5 mb chunks and uploaded them individually.

The only thing to remember is that if you break down "e.g _messages" into 4 chunks .. the 1st chunk will create a table so has to be done as an SQL command in the main DB

The subsequent "chunks" are only "insert" so do not create a table so must be done in the newly created table.

Don't know if this will help or not   :-\

About GZIP .. if you're not sure how to do this I highly recommend the free software HERE Just remember to zip files as gzip not 7-zip. I'm sure the guys here will know of better but it's been great to me.

Offline krizz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Gender: Male
    • .: Foititiko Steki :.
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2004, 05:29:22 AM »
I remember a small problem with converting yabb gold --> yabbse --> smf.

I'm not sure in which face of the process, but it's a problem with the sorting of the posts. After the upgrading all the posts are stored in database and displayed in SMF in exactly the other way sorting.

I remember it excists a script that solves the problem, but I can't find it any more.

Any help on that?

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #15 on: August 31, 2004, 02:25:06 PM »
I remember a small problem with converting yabb gold --> yabbse --> smf.

I'm not sure in which face of the process, but it's a problem with the sorting of the posts. After the upgrading all the posts are stored in database and displayed in SMF in exactly the other way sorting.

I remember it excists a script that solves the problem, but I can't find it any more.

Any help on that?

This only happens if you use an older converter.  I have an updated converter on the forum at yabbse.org which is much preferred, and does not have such bugs in it.

-[Unknown]

Offline krizz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Gender: Male
    • .: Foititiko Steki :.
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #16 on: August 31, 2004, 02:31:35 PM »
You are correct! I tried it and it works fine!

thanks

Offline crash07

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #17 on: September 22, 2004, 05:17:52 AM »
Hello! :)

I try to convert my YaBB Gold 1.3.1 to YaBBSE, but I find out, that all [ quote author=XXXXX link=YYYY date=ZZZZ]... [ /quote] qoutes will convert to [ quote]... [ /quote] and DELETE all information about links to another postings, threads and boards! :(

Converter:
$messageinfo[8] = preg_replace('/\[ quote (.+?)]/i', '[ quote]', $messageinfo[8]);

Can you help me please!!!!!!

Thanx a lot in advance! :)
« Last Edit: September 22, 2004, 05:19:41 AM by hannover »

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #18 on: September 22, 2004, 08:15:20 AM »
Its a but in RC1, it will be fixed in RC2.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline crash07

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #19 on: September 22, 2004, 08:52:13 AM »
Its a but in RC1, it will be fixed in RC2.
Hello Ben,

what do you mean with RC2: Release Candidate of SMF or RC of Converter from YaBB Gold to SMF? I have troubles with qoutes in converter from Yabb Gold to SMF - all qoutes will be delete!!!

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2004, 02:16:23 PM »
Hmm... at the least, the author should be kept.

-[Unknown]

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #21 on: September 23, 2004, 03:19:49 AM »
Code: [Select]
$messageinfo[8] = preg_replace('/\[quote (.+?)]/i', '[quote][/quote]', $messageinfo[8]);
Will change:

[ quote author=hannover link=topic=11459.msg140391#msg140391 date=1095844672 ]

To:

[ quote ]

This is not that big a loss, and the actual quoted content should remain.  However, the author could be kept, like so:

Code: [Select]
$messageinfo[8] = preg_replace('/\[quote (author=[^ ]+?)(.+?)]/i', '[quote $1]', $messageinfo[8]);
-[Unknown]

Offline crash07

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2004, 06:58:03 PM »
Its a but in RC1, it will be fixed in RC2.
RC2 is available now, but I can't see some direct YaBB Gold to SMF converters or some changes in old converters from YaBB Gold :(.

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #23 on: October 12, 2004, 07:10:01 PM »
The change has been made in the bbc parsing.

-[Unknown]

Offline crash07

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #24 on: October 13, 2004, 12:59:26 PM »
The change has been made in the bbc parsing.

-[Unknown]
I know, ehat do You mean, but it's not the bbc problem only! In exist converter you can parse in bbc the author, but you must remember all boards and topic ID's! In YaBB you have boardname and topicname (like timestamp). I look for converter, what convert all quotes correctly(!) - I mean with all links with NEW (YaBBSE/SMF-Format) links of old topics and boards!

The second thing is - I look for DIRECT converter (from YaBB Gold to SMF)! :)

It's possible to write direct converter (I can take some development costs ... if it's can accelerate the development process ;) )

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #25 on: October 13, 2004, 05:02:49 PM »
I'm still working on it... it may take some time.

-[Unknown]

Offline crash07

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #26 on: October 23, 2004, 12:10:29 PM »
I'm still working on it... it may take some time.

-[Unknown]
Thanks a lot for your great work!!!! :))))

Offline crash07

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #27 on: October 30, 2004, 04:44:52 AM »
Dear [Unknown],

can I ask you about time for YaBB(Gold) -> SMF Converter? One or two week, couple of weeks or months?
May be I can pay money for this converter?!  ;)

Thanks a lot! :)

I'm still working on it... it may take some time.

-[Unknown]

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #28 on: October 31, 2004, 01:15:08 AM »
Well, if you have a decent size forum (how many boards do you have?) and wouldn't mind me testing the converter with it, sooner than otherwise ;).

What's holding me back from active work right now is basically that I need a forum to test it on that is large enough to let me test any possible problems (for example, timeouts) so they can be resolved.  You can read more in this topic:

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=18350.0

Even if you don't have that large a forum, no one's volunteering... so a "real" one is better than my testing one any day (since I just plain can't sit there and make even a thousand posts for testing...)

-[Unknown]

Offline crash07

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #29 on: October 31, 2004, 05:33:07 PM »
Dear [Unknown],

Well, if you have a decent size forum (how many boards do you have?) and wouldn't mind me testing the converter with it, sooner than otherwise ;).
I have 3 big forums with about 50 boards, 4.000 users, 2.500 topics and 100.000 postings in each forum.

What's holding me back from active work right now is basically that I need a forum to test it on that is large enough to let me test any possible problems (for example, timeouts) so they can be resolved. You can read more in this topic:

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=18350.0

Even if you don't have that large a forum, no one's volunteering... so a "real" one is better than my testing one any day (since I just plain can't sit there and make even a thousand posts for testing...)

I can copy all data from one big forum and make one board (or many boards) just for your tests. Of course I can give you access to this forum via FTP oder SSH2. I will contact you in ICQ :) See you ICQ-messages! :)))

CU! :)

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #30 on: November 01, 2004, 02:13:49 AM »
I got your message, but I'm afraid that I'm not on ICQ much - very busy, and I only get more so when I go online.

Thanks very much for your willingness to help - and that sounds like a great test of the converter ;).  I shouldn't need more than FTP, and if you'd like I can download the data and do it locally (so as not to distrupt your server.)  I'd appreciate it if you could send me the FTP information by email, or whatever means you think best.

As for copying them together, it's your call.  I think 100,000 posts should be enough, but more can't (or if it can, I will need to fix that) hurt.

Thanks again,
-[Unknown]

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #31 on: November 07, 2004, 06:04:29 PM »
Any news on this, Hannover?

-[Unknown]

Offline ms_ukyankee

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Gender: Female
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #32 on: November 08, 2004, 04:51:21 AM »
[Unknown], I have a 6000 member, 70,700 post yabb sp 1.3.1 board that I can get to you if you need test data. I can gzip and give you a download link. Let me know. It's one I'll be converting in the future after other projects are completed.
SMF since 2004 <3

Offline crash07

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #33 on: November 09, 2004, 08:47:18 AM »
Dear Unknown, sorry for delay - a lot of work ;)

I install some mods for YaBBGold and my data format is a little bit different, than YaBB Gold - native data format. I insert some new fields in data files. I need some days to write converter from my data format in YaBB native fortam.

leah, do you have original YaBB data format? Mya be ist faster to use your data files?

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #34 on: November 09, 2004, 11:39:52 PM »
I can use either - a gzip (provided I can download it FTP or HTTP steadily) would be fine and great.

-[Unknown]

Offline ms_ukyankee

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Gender: Female
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #35 on: November 10, 2004, 02:54:20 AM »
I'll do that today and send you a pm with details. :)
SMF since 2004 <3

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #36 on: December 06, 2004, 07:58:00 AM »
Hi,
I'm also planning to make my YaBB 1.3.1 a SMF.

Do I need to make a backup before converting my Yabb 1.3.1 into a YaBBSE?
Or doesn't the converter touch the Yabb 1.3.1 data?

Thanx in advance for your replies :)

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #37 on: December 06, 2004, 09:39:43 AM »
The convertor only reads your YaBB data, it won't touch it.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #38 on: December 08, 2004, 10:23:08 AM »
Thanks alot, will give it a try then this weekend :)

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #39 on: December 09, 2004, 01:28:51 PM »
Welp nothing yet, it appears to have "finished" the browser stopped but that was it.
I have exactly the same prob...when it comes to "Importing Messages" it just stops (there are about 5.000 threads).

Though, I've installed Apache + MySQL on my computer & tried it offline - without any problems with converting etc. :)

But as I've got absolutely no idea how MySQL works - how can I get the offline version to the internet now?
When I enter my account with WS_FTP, there is no directory called "MySQL" I could upload the stuff to :(

Offline EG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 414
  • Gender: Female
    • The Age of the Ring
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #40 on: December 09, 2004, 01:40:20 PM »
you need to upload the database in MyPHP in Cpanel.

you cant FTP it

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #41 on: December 09, 2004, 02:21:32 PM »
Ouch!

Thanx alot! Though, it's still a bit confusing to me, as it doesn't say anything about "uploading" in PHPMyAdmin.
Is this the right menu to upload the files?

-> Databases -> [Choose Database] -> SQL -> Enter Location of the textfile


Though, another problem...uploading is limited to 8MB...my largest file is 60MB :-\

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #42 on: December 09, 2004, 02:24:22 PM »
Thats the option, you can split the sql file into smaller chunks, just make sure as you not split it half way through a statement or ask your host to import it for you.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #43 on: December 09, 2004, 04:53:01 PM »
D'oh! I've no idea how to do this, but I also don't want to send 90MB to my host with my slow internet connection, and then maybe it's not working & I have to send it again. My host anyway doesn't like me at the moment, as they say my current Yabb 1.3.1 would slow down the server & I'd have to switch to another forum-software :-\

Is there maybe another way to do the upgrade online - As said, everything is going fine until it displays "Importing Messages" after about two minutes (Step6). After that nothing happens - and I waited several hours...and I started from scratch at least five times now - but the problems reamins, every time I try.

When I enter YabbSE after the unfinished conversion, all the Categories and Members are converted, but no topic and messages are displayed. When I delete the categories in YabbSE, it says "Removing Topic...Removing Messages", so it must have converted some messages. Is it maybe possible to split this Step 6 in two "smaller" steps?

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #44 on: December 09, 2004, 10:23:24 PM »
The YaBB converter is not very efficient.  As I've said before, I'm working on an optimized version that will be able to handle larger forums.  I am not done yet, however.

-[Unknown]

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #45 on: December 10, 2004, 08:02:07 AM »
My Yabb has about 5000 Threads, 95000 Messages and 1325 Users.
As said, if I do it offline, converting is no problem. But online it doesn't complete converting.

Could the size be the problem anyway (so that it might work if I delete some thousand postings)?

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,725
  • xxx
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #46 on: December 10, 2004, 09:55:44 AM »
The size causes it, your host has the server configured to time out after a while. You could try deleting posts, but you may have to delete most of them.

If you could upload the file, I'm sure your host would do it for you since it gets you away from YaBB.
Liverpool FC Forum with 14 million+ posts.

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #47 on: December 11, 2004, 11:03:43 PM »
I've been deleting posts for about 15 hours now...deleted about 170 users, 1700 threads and 20000 postings...and still it won't run through :P


So all they'd need to do would be putting the FRM + MYI + MYD files into the mysql directory?

On my local installation I used a different username + password for mysql´- would it work anyway?

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #48 on: December 11, 2004, 11:05:00 PM »
You could use phpMyAdmin or a similar tool to copy over the converted database.

-[Unknown]

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #49 on: December 11, 2004, 11:10:46 PM »
Wow, what a fast reply :)

The problem is, I'm not sure how to do this for files bigger than 8MB (which seems to be the maximum file size for uploading). I already tried your "restore_backup.php" script, but it also doesn't run through :(

Do you know of similar tools?

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #50 on: December 11, 2004, 11:36:57 PM »
Please reply to the topic that contains restore_backup.php with those errors you got, and make sure you're using the most recent attached version I posted.

-[Unknown]

Offline jezinho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Help converting from Yabb 1.3.1 to SE to SMF
« Reply #51 on: December 12, 2004, 12:43:39 AM »
D'oh!!!
I'm afraid...looks like I didn't use the latest version...after about 20 hours nonstop in front of my pc screen I just got a bit dull I suppose :D

After my last posting I downloaded another script called "Bigdump" which worked perfectly. SMF is running now...so all the deleting etc. was useless, as I uploaded my (original) database including all 95000 messages.

Anyway thanks for your help!
Despite all the problems while getting the database running I think I've switched to the best forum software around :)