News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

General observation about mods and themes

Started by Rozak, February 02, 2007, 08:27:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rozak

I've been playing around with SMF now for a few months, building a few different sites for different things - wonderful stuff - the consistent issue I see is that while the application of mods and themese is reasonably automatic in principle, as soon as you add 'enough' it becomes increasingly more and more problematic to add or upgrade. Having now had to hand-hack more and more changes into sites one thing that struck me was the need to have some more standardised 'plug-in' points in the base code.

There are some fairly obvious common places in the distribution code for adding tabs, pages, menu options, admin features, new permissions, $txt[] entries etc - but the community as a whole appears to be somewhat 'lacking' in its adherence to these placeholders.

As I look over the posts and comments in the various mods and themes available for download most of the issues are along the lines of 'it broke my forum' or 'it installed but I cant see it on theme x'.

Having looked over most of the source and spent a long time working my way up and adding several downloadable mods and themes, and now working on my own mods,  it struck me that it might not be a bad idea to populate the distribution code with some 'known' comment blocks - places people can hang modifications on. For example '// INSERT NEW MENU OPTIONS AFTER THIS LINE' springs to mind, or '// PLACE YOUR ADDITIONAL $txt DEFINITIONS HERE' - or at least something that can be searched and used to hang code diffs on.

bloc

Good points..and something we aim to improve in future versions. The template files needs some more common "anchors" and sections to search for, both in default theme and certainly in custom themes, where most of the trouble arise.

Paracelsus