News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

More detailed stats on attachments

Started by hurtdidit, March 16, 2007, 02:55:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hurtdidit

I'm new to SMF, but am falling in love with it!  Nicely done, developers.  :)

I'm in need of a way to track the downloading of attachments in greater detail, however.  What I need is this:

• From Admin Control Panel, I would like to be able to generate a report on which users downloaded which files, during a specified timeframe (for example, on a monthly basis).
  • I would like to be able to sort this report to list each active user ("active" as defined by users that actually downloaded a file during the specified timeframe), and by clicking on a user's name, a list of all files they downloaded will be displayed.
  • Extra nice (but not required): For my purposes, I have two groups of users--public and private--and it would be nice to additionally sort the download report by membership status (so a report could be filtered by member group). 

I have an existing file download system setup based on phpBB that I can grant private access to, to show you what I am currently using (and what I like/dislike about it).  It works alright, but lacks the reporting features I really need--and since SMF seems to be a generation ahead of phpBB, I would be interested in "upgrading" my system to an SMF-based one (yes, I realize this will probably need to be created from scratch, but I use the term "upgrade" loosely!).

Would anyone be willing to give this project some consideration?  If so, please PM me, or post here with questions/ideas.

I am willing to contract with someone to create this to make sure it is done the way I need it to be.  And then, perhaps the mod could be shared with everyone, if it's found to be acceptable.

I look forward to hearing from any interested parties!

hurtdidit