News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

How to add meta name keywords from the post that is being read in SMF

Started by ladynada, May 14, 2007, 04:17:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ladynada

Preliminary discussion and WARNINGS!

This is going to be a TIP which I will post in the next message.

Two threads you can consult concerning this tip have links here:

Create a standalone HTML version of your messageboard - beta

quick mod edits that add pretty keywords to your messages for SEO

What this will do:

This tip will cause SMF to insert the

<meta name="keywords" content="'blah blah blah'" />

into the top of your html code ONLY when a user is reading a message that has been retrieved by a call to the Sources/Display.php.  In all other cases, your default meta name keywords will be used, per normal.

About me:

I am not that good at programming.  I do not use the most efficient code sequences.  For example, instead of

$counter ++

I still use $counter = $counter +1

My philosophy is, if it works, and has no bugs, then I am cool.

Also, I may sometimes end up with redundant ( not needed ) code, that does not harm the functionality of the solution, but may not actually be needed.

okay now that the caveats are out of the way.

SEO philosophy:

I am a rank noob when it comes to SEO.  Also, my forum is so unique, in that I post most of the messages myself, and my content is very unique such that the meta name keywords DO help my pages to rank higher.  Therefore, this tip and the others in those links, are very useful to my TYPE of forum, but may not be for yours.

USE THESE TIPS AT YOUR OWN RISK!  make backups.

Be advised, that this tip will AFFECT your SEO, since you will be changing the keywords that a robot from a search engine sees while it is reading messages.  This affect to your SEO can not be reversed... in case that fact is not clear.