Advertisement:

Author Topic: Having trouble quoting.  (Read 2850 times)

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Having trouble quoting.
« on: July 09, 2007, 09:55:52 AM »
Whenever i click the quote button, it just continues to load.
How do i fix this.?

Offline redone

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,941
  • Gender: Male
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2007, 10:15:34 AM »
Any errors in your forum error log? Does this happen with the default theme?

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2007, 10:38:02 AM »
Quote
The SELECT would examine more than MAX_JOIN_SIZE rows; check your WHERE and use SET SQL_BIG_SELECTS=1 or SET SQL_MAX_JOIN_SIZE=# if the SELECT is okay
That error came up when i looks for errors.
What can i do to update it?

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2007, 09:54:23 PM »
Quote
The SELECT would examine more than MAX_JOIN_SIZE rows; check your WHERE and use SET SQL_BIG_SELECTS=1 or SET SQL_MAX_JOIN_SIZE=# if the SELECT is okay
That error came up when i looks for errors.
What can i do to update it?
Also, whenever i say fetching preview, it just continues to say its fetching. Nothing happens

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2007, 04:43:09 AM »
UPDATE:
This is happening on the default theme to.

Offline greyknight17

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 14,890
  • Gender: Male
    • Kevin's Resource Center
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2007, 07:00:14 PM »
Ask your webhost if they can increase that MAX_JOIN_SIZE.

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2007, 04:41:47 AM »
I did this, I still am unable to quote.

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2007, 05:10:44 AM »
Quote
Note: It appears that your database may require an upgrade. Your forum's files are currently at version SMF 1.1.3, while your database is at version 1.1.2. The above error might possibly go away if you execute the latest version of upgrade.php.
How do i get to upgrade.php.

Offline greyknight17

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 14,890
  • Gender: Male
    • Kevin's Resource Center
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2007, 07:51:53 PM »
You can either do the upgrade from Admin->Packages (and you will see a link there asking you to update) or use the upgrade packages here.

Take a look at this document on further upgrade instructions.

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2007, 03:08:20 AM »
Upgrade, yet the errors still appear.
Help this only seems to be a problem when using the "QUICK REPLY" add-on.

Offline greyknight17

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 14,890
  • Gender: Male
    • Kevin's Resource Center
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2007, 07:42:12 PM »
Go into phpMyAdmin and try to repair your database tables to see if it helps.

Otherwise, try this:
I want you to replace all your main SMF files. Before you do this though, do you have any mods installed? If so, you will need to reinstall them back. With that said, download the Upgrade Package. Once you downloaded that zip file, open it up and delete upgrade.php and the two .sql files there. Close that zip file and upload it to your webhost. Unzip it via cPanel and it will overwrite all your SMF files. See if this resolves the issue.

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2007, 09:33:07 AM »
Done the upgrade, yet still trouble with quoting.
I dont understand the problem. :(

Offline greyknight17

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 14,890
  • Gender: Male
    • Kevin's Resource Center
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2007, 12:59:15 PM »
Get the new install package and install this TEST forum in a NEW folder on your webhost. Delete install.php and use repair_settings.php and click on the recommended values. Use the same database information as your current forum. This is just used as a test forum for now. See if you can use the quote feature now without it "freezing" on you.

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2007, 10:32:28 PM »
does your registration button also not 'light up' when registering?

verify permissions are correct especially on the .js files.
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2007, 02:50:46 AM »
Everything seems to be fine, except the quoting.
Whats up with that? I dont know what is wrong.

Offline dimensions

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2007, 07:18:37 AM »
bump  :)

Offline greyknight17

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 14,890
  • Gender: Male
    • Kevin's Resource Center
Re: Having trouble quoting.
« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2007, 10:20:28 PM »
Get the new install package and install this TEST forum in a NEW folder on your webhost. Delete install.php and use repair_settings.php and click on the recommended values. Use the same database information as your current forum. This is just used as a test forum for now. See if you can use the quote feature now without it "freezing" on you.
Tried this already?