Advertisement:

Author Topic: Integrating the forum into your site...  (Read 271469 times)

Offline jrcarr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 142
  • Gender: Male
  • Following the boards
    • Upholstery Website
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #140 on: March 26, 2006, 05:17:26 PM »
I find that many times error messages like this indicate I have forgotten to add a the closing to an Echo. (';) Also, if you have any single quotes inside the echo statement, you need to add a back-slash. Example:

Code: [Select]
<?php
echo &#39;
<a href="example.php">This isn&#39;t right</a>&#39;;

echo&#39;
<a href="example2.php">It\&#39;s like this</a>&#39;;
?>


Jack
« Last Edit: March 26, 2006, 05:19:15 PM by jrcarr »
Jack Carr

Offline fous

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #141 on: March 29, 2006, 07:53:22 AM »
Hi im brand new to php and am building my website. I keep trying to integrate the SMF forum into my site template but can't seem to do it. I don't even know how to split up the template into the header.php and footer.php .

so my website is www.thetechnicaltrader.net Basically i want the SMF forum to sit in the middle there below the flash intro and to the right of the nav bar on the left while also including the disclaimer at the bottom.

I have my template made right now, which is just the top flash intro,side nav bar, and the bottom disclaimer and no content in the middle, but don't know how to properly split it into the header.php and footer.php file

Here is the XHTML file for my template. Now how to i split this up?
Quote
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<html>
<head>
<title>TheTechnicalTrader.net [ Your Guide to Technical Analysis ]</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1251" />
<style type="text/css">
<!--
td {
   font-family: Tahoma;
   font-size: 11px;
   color: #333366;
   text-decoration: none;
   border: none;
}
img {
   text-decoration: none;
   border: none;
}
.data {
   font-family: Tahoma;
   font-size: 10px;
   color: #000066;
   text-decoration: none;
   border: none;
}
a {
   font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
   font-size: 11px;
   color: #FFFFFF;
   text-decoration: none;
   border: none;
}
.links {
   font-family: Tahoma;
   font-size: 11px;
   color: #FFFFFF;
   text-decoration: none;
   border: none;
}
body,td,th {
   font-size: 11px;
}
.style15 {color: #FF0000}
.style16 {font-size: 10px}
body {
   background-image: url(images/main_bg.jpg);
   background-color: #FFFFFF;
   background-repeat: repeat;
}
a:visited {
   color: #FFFFFF;
}
a:hover {
   color: #FF0000;
}
a:active {
   color: #FF0000;
}
.style20 {
   font-size: medium;
   color: #FF0000;
}
.style22 {color: #FFFFCC}
.style37 {color: #0000FF}
.style41 {
   color: #FFFF00;
   font-family: Arial;
   font-weight: bold;
   font-size: small;
}
.style50 {color: #FFFFFF}
.style56 {color: #00FF00}
.style58 {
   color: #000000;
   font-size: 10px;
   font-family: Arial;
}
.style59 {color: #FFFF00; font-family: Arial; }
.style60 {color: #FFFF00; font-family: Arial; font-size: 10px; }
.style61 {font-family: Arial; font-size: 11px; color: #000000; text-decoration: none; border: none; }
.style62 {
   color: #000000;
   font-family: Arial;
}
.Links2 {font-family: Arial}
.style65 {
   color: #FF0000;
   font-weight: bold;
   font-size: 11px;
   font-family: Tahoma;
}
.style66 {color: #000000}
-->
</style>
</head>
<body leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<table width="780" height="100%" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"  bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
 

  <tr>
    <td width="780" height="20" align="center" valign="top" bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><table width="780" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
        <tr>
          <th colspan="2" scope="col"><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0" width="780" height="128" title="introflash">
            <param name="movie" value="Flash/0307intro.swf" />
            <param name="quality" value="high" />
            <embed src="Flash/0307intro.swf" width="780" height="128" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"></embed>
          </object></th>
        </tr>
        <tr>
          <th width="120" height="0" align="center" valign="top" background="images/transparentquote.png" bgcolor="#0B43A1" class="links" scope="row"><table width="120" border="0" cellpadding="2">
            <tr>
              <td bgcolor="#0B43A1" scope="col"><div align="center"><img src="images/menu.png" alt="menu\" width="110" height="15" /></div></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top" class="links"><div align="left" class="Links2"><a href="index.php"><u>Home</u></a></div></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top" class="links"><div align="left" class="Links2"><u>Login</u></div></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top" class="links"><div align="left" class="Links2"><u>Register</u></div></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top" class="links"><div align="left" class="Links2"><u>Message Board </u></div></td>
            </tr>
           
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top" class="links"><div align="left" class="Links2"><u>Contact us </u></div></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top"><div align="left"><img src="images/portfolios.png" alt="port" width="110" height="15" /></div></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top" class="links"><div align="left" class="Links2"><u>Speculation Chamber </u></div></td>
            </tr>
           
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top"><div align="center"><img src="images/menuedu.png" alt="menuedu" width="110" height="15" /><br />
                  <span class="style15">(Coming Soon!)</span></div></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top" class="links"><div align="left" class="Links2"><u>Chart Patterns </u></div></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
              <td align="center" valign="top" class="links"><div align="left" class="Links2"><u>Candlestick Theory </u></div></td>
            </tr>
          </table>         
            <table width="120" height="69" border="1" cellpadding="1" bordercolor="#00FF00">
              <tr>
                <td colspan="2"><img src="images/chat.png" alt="chat" width="110" height="15" /></td>
              </tr>
              <tr>
                <td colspan="2" align="center" valign="top" background="chat.php" class="Links2"><div align="left"><a href="chat.php"><U>Enter Chat Room </u></a></div></td>
              </tr>
              <tr>
                <td width="56" class="Links2"><u><span class="style65">Users In: </span></u></td>
                <td width="54" bgcolor="#D9DEFF" class="style15"><script  type="&quot;text/javascript&quot;"  language="JavaScript"src="http://www.everywherechat.com/users.asp?room=The_Technical_Trader"></script></td>
              </tr>
              <tr>
                <td colspan="2" class="style50"><u class="style65">Members Chatting: </u> </td>
              </tr>
              <tr>
                <td colspan="2" bordercolor="#CCCCCC" bgcolor="#D9DEFF" class="style15"><script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript"src="http://www.everywherechat.com/members.asp?room=The_Technical_Trader"></script>                </td>
              </tr>
          </table></th>
          <th width="656" align="center" valign="top" background="Drag to a file to choose it." bgcolor="#FFFFFF" scope="row"><table align="middle" width="660" border="0" cellpadding="1">
              <tr>
                <td>&nbsp;</td>
              </tr>
            </table>
          </th>
        </tr>
       
        <tr>
          <td width="780" height="15" colspan="2" align="center" valign="top" nowrap="nowrap" bgcolor="#0C3E96" class="links" scope="row">Home | Message Board | Chat | Chart Patterns | Candlestick Theory | Contact Us          </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
          <th colspan="2" align="center" valign="top" bgcolor="#CCCCCC" class="links" scope="row"><div align="left" class="style16"><span class="style66">Disclosure: Please read:</span>The technical trader.com service provided is for educational purposes only. Please be advised that our team is by no means SEC licensed brokers or financial advisors and are simply sharing trading ideas based off of our own experience. The technicaltrader.com and its owners certify that we do share our stock picks with the public so that they can trade using our portfolio as a guide. Futhermore Thetechnicaltrader.net and its owners certify that we may or not have an actual position in a stock that we recommend at any given time and may be held in part of a virtual portfolio. Thetechnicaltrader.net and its owners further certify that we trade the securities exactly as stated in our analysis. Trading the stock market is not an easy task, there is much risk involved and you can lose alot of money. Our site is designed to help you through the difficulties invovled in trading the stock market and help you develop profitable trading methods. We strongly advise to not make decisions based soley on our analysis. Thetechnicaltrader.net offers no guarantees and is not held liable for any losses you may incur. Do your own due diligence and make informed decisions. </div></th>
        </tr>
      </table>
    Thetechnicaltrader.net © 2006</td>
  </tr>
</table>

</body>
</html>

and so now when i split this up should it have <body> and <head> tags included etc included when i make the new php document? or should i just copy and paste what i divide up here into a completley blank document? Im really lost here so the more detailed instructions the better.

When i was placing the Include function the first time into the index.template file where "unknown" stated to place it the nav bar and base of the page was being displayed up above the smf forum and the flash wasnt showing up even though i had the flash file placed into the forum folder.

Much help needed here will greatly appreciate some feedback.

-fous

When

Offline silverdragonrs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • Gender: Male
  • Family really is EVERYTHING!
    • DragonCreativeLabs
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #142 on: April 14, 2006, 09:49:36 PM »
I would like to just add a link/button to the top (home, calender, etc) that links the forum to my existing site..... also.... i there any way i can change "home" to say "Forum Home" so that people don't think that "home" meens the beginning of my site?

I know this is simple stuff but I no absolutely nothing about php much less SMF editing... and only know basic html....

and is there a way to just sub my own graphics with those of an existing theme?...... I am not interested in changing the layout and functions and all that... just want an original look.... (make the home button round instead of square kinda thing... or look like a dragon head or eyeball sorta thing.... ) if so please point me to the right place.... if not...... anyone care to help a fella?..... I am willing to exchange graphics for services.....


thanks,
danny
I'd like to quote my idol. Homer Simpson. "Press any key now!... Any Key? Where's the any key?!... Doh!" ---- One day I'll be that good with computers..... ~ danny ~ feel free to IM me about anything!

Offline jrcarr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 142
  • Gender: Male
  • Following the boards
    • Upholstery Website
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #143 on: April 14, 2006, 10:51:47 PM »
Hello Danny,

I you will find your index.template.php file, located in Themes/yourtheme and scroll to the bottom of the file, you will find a function called template_menu.  It will look something like the following.
Code: [Select]
function template_menu()
{
global $context, $settings, $options, $scripturl, $txt, $user_info;

// Show the [home] and [help] buttons.
echo '
<a href="', $scripturl, '">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/home.gif" alt="' . $txt[103] . '" border="0" />' : $txt[103]), '</a>', $context['menu_separator'], '
<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=help" target="_blank">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/help.gif" alt="' . $txt[119] . '" border="0" />' : $txt[119]), '</a>', $context['menu_separator'], '
                <a href="http://www.carrscorner.com/gallery"><img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/gallery.gif" border="0"></a>', $context['menu_separator'];

// How about the [search] button?
if ($context['allow_search'])
echo '
<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=search">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/search.gif" alt="' . $txt[182] . '" border="0" />' : $txt[182]), '</a>', $context['menu_separator'];

// Edit Profile... [profile]
if ($context['allow_edit_profile'])
echo '
<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=profile">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/profile.gif" alt="' . $txt[79] . '" border="0" />' : $txt[467]), '</a>', $context['menu_separator'];

// The [calendar]!
if ($context['allow_calendar'])
echo '
<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=calendar">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/calendar.gif" alt="' . $txt['calendar24'] . '" border="0" />' : $txt['calendar24']), '</a>', $context['menu_separator'];


    // added code for viewing Pro information (Jack)
    if (in_array(1, $user_info['groups']) || in_array(30, $user_info['groups']) || in_array(28, $user_info['groups'])) {
        echo '
        <a href="http://www.carrscorner.com/yabbse/membertools/promemberfunc.php"><img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/proinfo.gif" border="0"></a>', $context['menu_separator'];
        echo '
        <a href="http://www.carrscorner.com/yabbse/membertools/suppliers.php"><img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/suppliers.gif" border="0"></a>', $context['menu_separator'];
        }

    // added code for Chat and Newsletter Systems (Jack)
        if (in_array(1, $user_info['groups']) || in_array(30, $user_info['groups'])) {
        echo '
        <a href="http://www.carrscorner.com/yabbse/chat.php"><img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/chat.gif" border="0"></a>', $context['menu_separator'];
        echo '
        <a href="http://www.carrscorner.com/yabbse/Newsletter/4-06.php"><img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/newsletter.gif" border="0"></a>', $context['menu_separator'];
        }
    // end added code for Chat System


// If the user is a guest, show [login] and [register] buttons.
if ($context['user']['is_guest'])
{
echo '
<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=login">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/login.gif" alt="' . $txt[34] . '" border="0" />' : $txt[34]), '</a>', $context['menu_separator'], '
<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=register">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/register.gif" alt="' . $txt[97] . '" border="0" />' : $txt[97]), '</a>';
}
// Otherwise, they might want to [logout]...
else
echo '
<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=logout;sesc=', $context['session_id'], '">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/logout.gif" alt="' . $txt[108] . '" border="0" />' : $txt[108]), '</a>';

// Is the user allowed to administrate at all? ([admin])
if ($context['allow_admin'])
    {
echo '<br>
<a href="', $scripturl, '?action=admin">', ($settings['use_image_buttons'] ? '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/forumadmin.gif" alt="' . $txt[2] . '" border="0" />' : $txt[2]), '</a>', $context['menu_separator'], '
<a href="http://www.carrscorner.com/admin"><img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/siteadmin.gif" border="0"></a>', $context['menu_separator'];
    }

}

This is a lot less greek than it looks.  It is basically HTML with some php variable stuck in it.  You will recongnize the <a> and <image> tags and with a little looking you can figure out which ones are which.  You can see a couple extra images and links in the above code that I have added to my site.  You can see with this link and button
Code: [Select]
        <a href="http://www.carrscorner.com/yabbse/Newsletter/4-06.php"><img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/' . $context['user']['language'] . '/newsletter.gif" border="0"></a>', $context['menu_separator'];
That I changed the href= to the url of one of my newsletters and with the graphic for the button, I just put a copy of it in the YabbImages folder and changed the end of one of the other button images code to point to my newletter.gif file.  You of course could get rid of all the php variable and point directly to any folder containing your images.

Hope this helps some.

Jack
Jack Carr

Offline sturgis

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #144 on: June 08, 2006, 02:54:22 PM »
Can you add just a link at the top of the page?  how?

Offline silverdragonrs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • Gender: Male
  • Family really is EVERYTHING!
    • DragonCreativeLabs
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #145 on: June 12, 2006, 03:49:42 PM »
ok.. thanks... i have another integration issue.... a couple of them actually... i was using the forum on my own server but for the sake of bandwidth moved it to another faster one.. all is well but now i can't link to the ssi.php anymore...my site is on my server and my forum on another.... how can i call/ access the ssi.php for functions like login on the home page... recent topics... so on... if i try a direct link/include/call the ssi responds with a do not link directly to the ssi.php error... so i did this... i created an includes folder on the other server (with forum on it) and put in that folder logininclude.php... in that file is a simple ssi call and login include...

now i just include that file where i want the login to be... and it works... but looks off... the login and regester links are there.. but you can see some other coding also... odd..

that wraps up problem number one.....

problem number two is that i want profiles on my website for the customers/members... since smf already has this feature i can use it... but i need to add a few custom fields... like a member journal... that they can mark public or not.. and create a browser for other members to search/browse member profiles from an out of forum page..... logged in or not...doesnt matter... actually... ill post problem two on the mods and scripts boards...

thanks peeps... have a good one..
danny
I'd like to quote my idol. Homer Simpson. "Press any key now!... Any Key? Where's the any key?!... Doh!" ---- One day I'll be that good with computers..... ~ danny ~ feel free to IM me about anything!

Offline Legolass

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
  • Gender: Female
  • i am not a shrimp - i am a KING PRAWN!!!
    • UK Juggalettes
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #146 on: June 19, 2006, 02:54:05 AM »
Please help! i've screwed up!

i attempted making my forum look like my site using the 'cooler way' it didnt work and i figured i dont know enough about it all just yet so decided to just backtrack

i re-uploaded my original index.template.php but now i get:
 
Quote
Unable to load the 'site_above' template.
when i use that theme, the forum works fine in the default theme :S

is it anything to do with the sql query? it took me ages to get that theme the way i wanted, i'd be gutted if i had to start over!  :'(

Offline crashlab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #147 on: July 07, 2006, 09:03:18 PM »
Is too hard... is impossible!!!  :'(
I dont had never problem to skin forum or portal, but this is impossible!
I had 2 files, header.php (that contains te upper part of my html) and footer.php (that contain the lowest part).... and then? i cant find the parts to remove... is so strange the index.template.php

WHY???????? grrrrrrr!!!  :-[ :'( i would integrate the standard graphics to my actual layout!!! i see results with minibb hxxp:www.smokinglinux.com/forum_old [nonactive]
but I have serious difficult with yours confusonary method and strange template file!!!

Offline jrcarr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 142
  • Gender: Male
  • Following the boards
    • Upholstery Website
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #148 on: July 08, 2006, 01:38:47 PM »
Not impossible, here is my forum with my site template wrapped around it: www.carrscorner.com/yabbse

Jack
Jack Carr

Offline junjimalaza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #149 on: July 08, 2006, 03:10:09 PM »
Jack,

Can you show us the codes, I've made some layout changes to the template, never really thought it can be done, and I didn't have to follow this tutorial, quite confusing if you are using the RC2.

Read about my problems here http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=97837.msg637352#msg637352

and the solution to it here
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=97837.msg637352#msg637352

Cheers,


Junji

Offline DLoney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #150 on: July 09, 2006, 04:27:15 AM »
Edit:
Never mind.
I just got the site 100% integrated!
---------------------------------------------

I do have one question though, where is the hex tag for this color, as I want to change it to white to match the rest of my background…



---------------------------------------------
Edit 2:
haha... Never mind. I was having a dead brain moment.
Sorry for the page bump. If you want to see the forum I was working on; it is here...
hxxp:ctrlclick-online.com/forum/index.php [nonactive]
« Last Edit: July 09, 2006, 11:56:38 AM by DLoney »

Offline Leipe Po

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 700
  • Gender: Male
  • Bookmark Mod 1.0
    • PhpScripters(under construction)
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #151 on: July 10, 2006, 12:57:27 PM »
well how do you like: www.smf-apps.org/ then?? :P
even got multi theme support working
There is only one thing more importend to me then coding:
My Girlfriend

Microsoft - "You've got questions.  We've got dancing paperclips."

Offline Col

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 964
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #152 on: July 10, 2006, 04:19:18 PM »
Is too hard... is impossible!!!  :'(
I dont had never problem to skin forum or portal, but this is impossible!
I had 2 files, header.php (that contains te upper part of my html) and footer.php (that contain the lowest part).... and then? i cant find the parts to remove... is so strange the index.template.php

WHY???????? grrrrrrr!!!  :-[ :'( i would integrate the standard graphics to my actual layout!!! i see results with minibb http://www.smokinglinux.com/forum_old
but I have serious difficult with yours confusonary method and strange template file!!!

Hi Crashlab,

I posted what I did a few pages back, I hope it helps:

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=19638.msg410696#msg410696

jbeezer

  • Guest
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #153 on: July 17, 2006, 05:27:27 PM »
I am wanting to integrate an individual topic into my view.php (that takes an id variable that tells it what entry to pull from sql) page.  I pretty much want to use this nice forum as a fully featured commenting system.  For each new item in my database i want to try and set it up so that a corresponding topic is created, and that topic displayed at the bottom of my content page for that selected item.  Is this possible with SMF?  Idealy i'd like to be able to just do a <? include('smf/index.php?topic=$id') ?> in my view.php.  Somehow i doubt that its this easy.

Offline hydroboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #154 on: August 07, 2006, 11:13:02 AM »
Could somone who has either version working in RC2 please post up their index template files and any other changes they made?

I am having real trouble getting it working :(.  I have tried both the simple method and frames method.

Offline ynneb

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Mach 2/3/4 Community Forum
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #155 on: August 24, 2006, 10:18:27 AM »
This is sheer phucking misery. :P
 I have spent more than a week trying to get the bloody thing to work and it wont.
To tell the truth I am yet to see a site that has it done too.
While I appreciate this software I think the design for everyday users is too hard and could be set out better.
I have followed both methods and had heaps of erros and still cant get it to work.
ARRRRRRRRRRRRRR

This should be so simple, I want to put this http://www.machsupport.com/forum/menu/menu.php over http://machsupport.com/forum/index.php using this include code.

Its interesting to see how few sites are truely customised. I wonder if there are lots of people with similar problems who eventually give up trying. It just shouldnt be this hard.

Offline Leipe Po

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 700
  • Gender: Male
  • Bookmark Mod 1.0
    • PhpScripters(under construction)
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #156 on: August 24, 2006, 12:34:37 PM »
This is sheer phucking misery. :P
 I have spent more than a week trying to get the bloody thing to work and it wont.
To tell the truth I am yet to see a site that has it done too.
While I appreciate this software I think the design for everyday users is too hard and could be set out better.
I have followed both methods and had heaps of erros and still cant get it to work.
ARRRRRRRRRRRRRR

This should be so simple, I want to put this http://www.machsupport.com/forum/menu/menu.php over http://machsupport.com/forum/index.php using this include code.

Its interesting to see how few sites are truely customised. I wonder if there are lots of people with similar problems who eventually give up trying. It just shouldnt be this hard.

hey i have drop downs to: http://www.smf-apps.org/

i have used this script: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/anylinkcss.htm
if you want i can tell you how ife done it?....
There is only one thing more importend to me then coding:
My Girlfriend

Microsoft - "You've got questions.  We've got dancing paperclips."

Offline Col

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 964
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #157 on: August 24, 2006, 12:48:05 PM »
Ynneb,

Here is what I did. I used the simple method. My instructions apply to SMF1.0.x, but it should nearly identical for SMF1.1

Offline ynneb

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Mach 2/3/4 Community Forum
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #158 on: August 24, 2006, 09:44:36 PM »
Just out of interest, should my header.php be constraucted the same as a conventional html page with HTML, Head, and body tags encased in HTML brackets?, but saved as a php instead of a html document?

Offline Col

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 964
Re: Integrating the forum into your site...
« Reply #159 on: August 25, 2006, 01:01:35 PM »
All you need do is include the HTML needed, and this will be imported into your page. Don't use a doctype, etc.