News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

How to integrate SMF Forum in Template using the bridge?

Started by nexus, November 13, 2004, 07:01:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nexus

Hi Community,

first of all I have to say that I am new with Mambo and SMF.
Now I want to integrqate the Forum in my Mambo navigation.
I heard that I must use a bridge.

MOS_SMF_BRIDGEv2.0beta
Mambo CMS: 4.5.1a
SMF: SMF 1.0 RC2

Mambo: hxxp:66.79.179.17/mambo/index.php [nonactive]
SMF: hxxp:66.79.179.17/mambo/components/com_smf/index.php [nonactive]

But I don't understand the english description for installing the bridge. So can anyone explain:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
These are all the required files for integrating Mambo and SMF.

There are instructions with each component and module.

The components and modules should be installed in this order:

com_smf
com_smf_registration
mod_smf_login

Be sure to read the readme.txt for each, because special instructions beyond just the installation may be required.

Make sure you install the correct component for the version of software you are running. 
Installing the wrong version will cause errors.

Some related things you might need to do:

If you are using a Mozilla browser, and you get a blank page when you go to your forum, you need to go into your Mambo control panel,
and turn off GZip compression.  This will fix your forum.

If you have session timeout problems with your bridge component, there are a few things that could be happening.  To remedy this, go
to your Mambo control panel, and set your session cookies to a very high number (999999999999999999999999 will do ;) ).  Then go to your
SMF admin area, "Edit Features and Options", and make sure of the following:

Use database driven sessions - unchecked
Enable local storage of cookies - unchecked
Use subdomain independent cookies - checked