News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

PNG Fix help

Started by picos, December 11, 2007, 12:30:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

picos

Hey folks, I'm new to smf and I was wondering how to get a pngfix to work with the forums? 

I know that png fixes work with IE6 as I have used them several times but getting it to work with SMF is proving to be a pain.

I have tried several but non are working.... perhaps i'm putting the code in the wrong place or what ever but it's not working.

I know ie6 is on the way out but I would like to learn how to get it working with smf.  If it works with phpbb then it should work with smf right? 

I have searched and the posts I read weren't all the detailed. 

If someone can be kind enough to help that would be super.

Ross

Alpha_Vector

Well, of all the people that use IE the majority has IE6, so I guess it is reasonable to attempt this.

First, what is the fix you are using?

SleePy

Jeremy D ~ Site Team / SMF Developer ~ GitHub Profile ~ Join us on IRC @ Libera.chat/#smf ~ Support the SMF Support team!

Alpha_Vector

In your SMF forum, where did you put the code?

SleePy

I simply uploaded the pngfix.js to my /Themes/default and then added to my index.template.php in the head section:

//If that person is using IE fix them
if ($context['browser']['is_ie7'])
echo '
<script defer type="text/javascript" src="', $settings['default_theme_url'], '/pngfix.js"></script>';

That code will work on any theme because I use $settings['default_theme_url'] to force it to use the default theme url, making it so you only need it in the default theme.
Jeremy D ~ Site Team / SMF Developer ~ GitHub Profile ~ Join us on IRC @ Libera.chat/#smf ~ Support the SMF Support team!

Alpha_Vector

Ah, $context['browser']['is_ie7'] ?

I may be wrong, but doesn't that only gets printed if you are using IE7?

Edit: Why don't you try only 'is_ie' ?

picos

Thanks for the fast replies...  i have tried