Advertisement:

Author Topic: SMFChess  (Read 256901 times)

Offline politirant

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Politirant Political Message Board
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #760 on: June 19, 2011, 03:52:06 PM »
So?
Will it be updated for 2.0 or not?

I cant believe im seeing this mod getting wasted. What a shame.

As it stands now, it will not, apparently due to legal issues (read the older posts in this thread if you're interested in the legal details).

It is a shame indeed.

Offline PLAYBOY

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,065
  • Livephotoshop.com & Lullabyabc.com
    • Lullabies and Us
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #761 on: June 19, 2011, 05:30:17 PM »
Is there a way to install it manually to 2.0?

Offline xious

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #762 on: July 25, 2011, 08:34:10 AM »
I can see that many people want this for SMF2.0... My case is a bit different: I'm wondering if this will run, or will break on the latest 1.1x build (1.1.14), or even (1.1.13) and if it breaks; and if so, has anyone (e.g. Bugo) has patched it? I would love to run this, but I think I should create a duplicate test-site first, before I do anything silly. I'm also curious if this is actual, live-chess, or play-by-play via posting.

Anyhow, 'm not sure if anyone has tried it, but if someone out there does have an answer to my question(s), I would very-much-a-lot appreciate a reply.

Feel free to PM any of those non-existing updates to me.  ;D

Thanks!

Offline PLAYBOY

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,065
  • Livephotoshop.com & Lullabyabc.com
    • Lullabies and Us
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #763 on: October 23, 2011, 01:21:18 AM »
I already got the version which fits to 2.0 but my members are having troubles with it the last few weeks. The moves are so slow. Pieces slide down off the bottom border of the board. Chat doesnt work.

I uninstalled and installed it again but its still the same. I have so many other mods in my forum. Maybe one of them is preventing chess to work properly. Can somebody help me please???

Offline Lord Anubis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 217
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #764 on: October 23, 2011, 09:11:31 PM »
playboy, mod author wont be round it seems (he was a great guy, hope he is ok), but I can tell you from experience its something AJAX related with the chat not working... TBH I found it was additional white space in my scripts at the bottom... I did have same problem though, fixed it with a tool here, if I remember it I will post it, (it showed where white space was on your scripts, so you could delete it)


Offline PLAYBOY

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,065
  • Livephotoshop.com & Lullabyabc.com
    • Lullabies and Us
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #765 on: October 23, 2011, 10:29:46 PM »
That would be very very good. I ll be waiting for the solution Thank you very much.

Offline Lord Anubis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 217
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #766 on: October 24, 2011, 04:35:18 PM »
Found it!

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=329069.0

Give that a shot and let me know if it works for you

Offline Godsongz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 135
  • Gender: Male
    • Coffeehouse 2.0
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #767 on: October 29, 2011, 02:59:37 PM »
Hey all!  Haven't been around here for a long time, but I'm setting up a new SMF installation (2.0.1) and I'd love to get SMFChess working on it.  I'm very familiar with the code (was one of Feeble's alpha-testers a few years back) but haven't touched it in quite a while.  Does anyone have a working method for installing the mod on a 2.0.1 installation that they can share?

Thanks!

Offline PLAYBOY

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,065
  • Livephotoshop.com & Lullabyabc.com
    • Lullabies and Us
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #768 on: October 29, 2011, 09:47:14 PM »
Hey all!  Haven't been around here for a long time, but I'm setting up a new SMF installation (2.0.1) and I'd love to get SMFChess working on it.  I'm very familiar with the code (was one of Feeble's alpha-testers a few years back) but haven't touched it in quite a while.  Does anyone have a working method for installing the mod on a 2.0.1 installation that they can share?

Thanks!

Attached is the current version i use in my 2.0.1
I believe this version is the most recent one.

It works. But it definitely needs a nice upgrade.

I appreciate you stepping up on this and am very excited to see the new version.

Found it!

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=329069.0

Give that a shot and let me know if it works for you

FYI, im still waiting for a confirmation from my members. I will let you know.

Offline PLAYBOY

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,065
  • Livephotoshop.com & Lullabyabc.com
    • Lullabies and Us
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #769 on: October 29, 2011, 10:16:12 PM »
Well my chess is working now, thx to Lord Anubis`s solution. But now i have these problems...

1- Mouse icon doesnt hold the pieces unless the icon is 2-3 square away from the piece. However if you setup the zoom to %80 , while it creates a scroll bar the mouse holds the pieces correct.

2- It would be nice to have the chat section to fit in the same screen (like move next to the chess board or something) We have to scroll down and scroll back up all the time to see if there is a message or piece has been moved yet.

Offline Godsongz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 135
  • Gender: Male
    • Coffeehouse 2.0
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #770 on: November 02, 2011, 11:34:28 PM »
My chess board is elongated.  Only problem with my installation that I know of so far, and if it's the worst I get I'll count myself very lucky.  Anyone know a quick fix?


Offline whatsadollartoya

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #771 on: November 07, 2011, 03:49:31 AM »
I am also interested in getting this to work on 2.0.1. Any suggestions to what part of this post has directions?

Offline saks

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Gender: Male
    • Krasnoyarsk paragliding club
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #772 on: December 01, 2011, 11:02:32 PM »
I am install this mod from this post, in my forum 2.0.1 and it work fine, but have small bugs...
1. If I am write user name in Challenge Request , it not Requested, only Create Quickmatch is working
2. In game figures dubles after my next course, and show right after refresh page...

Offline busterone

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Gender: Male
  • Devil Dog
    • The Demon's Den
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #773 on: December 01, 2011, 11:13:50 PM »
The version you are referring to is an unofficial upgraded version that was done long before 2.0 or 2.0.1.  I think it was for 2.0 RC3 or 4.  The original mod author has been absent for several years, and it is highly doubtful that he will return or give permission to anyone to update his mod.  I use that version as well, so we are pretty much stuck with the bugs unless something changes in the near future.



Offline Godsongz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 135
  • Gender: Male
    • Coffeehouse 2.0
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #774 on: December 14, 2011, 04:04:27 PM »
Does anybody remember the chess bbcode and its syntax?  I used to use it all the time for posting static chess puzzles in the forums, but I can't get to those old posts now to see how I laid them out.

Offline Lord Anubis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 217
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #775 on: December 18, 2011, 09:25:07 AM »
Here u go Godsongz, (I think this is what you were talking about)

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=129749.msg1350737#msg1350737

Offline Godsongz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 135
  • Gender: Male
    • Coffeehouse 2.0
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #776 on: December 18, 2011, 04:55:25 PM »
That's the one, thanks LA!

Offline anakmacan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 444
  • Gender: Female
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #777 on: December 20, 2011, 07:44:26 AM »
I want this so bad :(..

Offline Bozforroz

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #778 on: March 20, 2012, 08:22:53 PM »
hello,

i would like this on my smf 1.1.16 site but im not sure how to get it to work as i am not great with codes etc

Can i just install the package using my package downloader/emulator or do i have to upload it to the FTP.

I tried both but once on the site, i didnt know where to find the chess mod and how i access it.

Would appreciate any help. Thankyou

Offline THE BRA1N

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 133
  • Gender: Male
    • The Third Rail Forum
Re: SMFChess Mod
« Reply #779 on: March 25, 2012, 01:59:02 AM »
How would one go about editing the colors and size of the chess board on a custom theme without disturbing the default theme (which displays good)? I have tried all kinds of edits with a chess.template.php in the custom theme directory to no avail. I can't seem to find the code for the chess board.