Advertisement:

Author Topic: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board  (Read 9822 times)

Offline Yingzi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« on: March 17, 2008, 08:54:20 PM »
Hi,

can anyone tell me how to import the Data from the old Board?

Thanks in advance

Greets Yingzi

Offline Bigguy

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,995
  • Gender: Male
  • Be nice, or else....
    • smfbigguy on GitHub
    • What's Ur Beef
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2008, 08:57:32 PM »
it all should be the same as it was in SMF 1.1.4 Are you just upgrading your forum or are you moving to a new site. ???

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2008, 08:57:45 PM »
are you looking to upgrade your board or just simply create a test forum using a copy of your existing database?
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline Yingzi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2008, 09:02:44 PM »
I have installed a new one but now i will import the Data from the old Board.

Must i import that over PHPMyAdmin or Navicat?
The Table Structure are the same?

Greets Yingzi

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2008, 09:12:00 PM »
the table structures are vastly different.

The easiest way i could think of to do it would be to dump your install and do an upgrade instead of an install.

- Do a backup of your current forum files.
- Download the SMF 2.0 Beta 3 Public UPGRADE archive from the downloads page
- Extract everything from the archive onto your computer
- Using FTP, upload ALL OF THE FILES on your computer and OVERWRITE the ones in your 1.1.4 install (make sure Settings.php gets backed up!, just in case)
- Point your browser at your forum; replace index.php in the address bar with upgrade.php; follow the steps on it.

That should upgrade your forum including your current posts and topics.

Please keep in mind that without a backup, it is not possible to downgrade once you have upgraded So be sure that you want to run the beta version.
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline Dragooon

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 6,738
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm batman
    • ShitizGarg on Facebook
    • Dragooon on GitHub
    • dragooon on LinkedIn
    • SMF-Media
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2008, 10:06:32 PM »
Make sure to Backup the MySQL Database too :)

Offline Guy Verschuere

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 253
  • Gender: Male
    • guyverschuere on Facebook
    • Egregius on GitHub
    • guyverschuere on LinkedIn
    • @guyverschuere on Twitter
    • Egregius.be
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2008, 12:25:04 AM »
Hi,

I like to import old topics and members to.
The upgrade.php doesn't work. It stops at the first step of 'Database Changes' with a red text ERROR. There is no detailed info given.

Offline SleePy

  • Let there be light!
  • Site Team Lead
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 30,411
  • Gender: Male
  • Thats his happy face.
    • jdarwood007 on GitHub
    • @jdarwood on Twitter
    • SleePy Code - My personal site
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2008, 12:34:11 AM »
Is that with output debug info checked on the options at the start of the upgrade?

What was the last thing it said it updated?
Jeremy D — Site Team / SMF Developer
Support the SMF Support team!
Profiles:
GitHub

Offline Guy Verschuere

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 253
  • Gender: Male
    • guyverschuere on Facebook
    • Egregius on GitHub
    • guyverschuere on LinkedIn
    • @guyverschuere on Twitter
    • Egregius.be
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2008, 12:36:27 AM »
Yes, with debug.

It doesn't update anything.

edit: after a lot of uploaden and testing, running upgrade.php etc etc suddenly it worked. I don't know what I did exactly but it worked!

Take a look at http://test.cindyenguy.be
« Last Edit: March 19, 2008, 01:55:22 AM by Guy Verschuere »

Offline CrabbyHost

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2008, 03:37:53 PM »
Hi,

I like to import old topics and members to.

This is what I was hoping to do also....import only topics/members.  I could care less about any mods installed.

My reason for wanting to do this rather than upgrade is my current 1.1.4 forum is VERY buggy (user error - I was learning) and I would prefer to start with a fresh install, but I don't want to lose our topics and/or members.

We currently use Tiny Portal and one of their themes, but I'm even willing sacrifice those if I can just export the aforementioned info.

Is this possible in any way or am I just spitting in the wind?

Thanks!

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2008, 06:50:29 PM »
Upgrading requires you to overwrite ALL source files and Default Theme files as it stands, so unless theres actual database problems, you'd be best off just doing the regular upgrade as it is :P
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline CrabbyHost

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2008, 08:25:41 PM »
I'm not sure where the problems are, but I don't think it's in the database.

It's annoying little things like some of the text not showing up in the admin, etc.

Thanks for the help, I may just bite the bullet and do the upgrade then.  :)

Offline Loverboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 351
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2008, 07:20:29 PM »
I'm not sure where the problems are, but I don't think it's in the database.

It's annoying little things like some of the text not showing up in the admin, etc.

Thanks for the help, I may just bite the bullet and do the upgrade then.  :)

I have the same problems.. Some of the text does not show up in the admin panel.

I would also like to take my members and posts to a completely new smf 2.0 forum.

So please don't come up with 'get an upgrade'. I would appriciate if someone could help.

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2008, 03:38:46 AM »
Text not showing up in admin is usually indicative of one of two things

1.) Language files (/Themes/default/languages) were either not overwritten with the new files (the 1.1 files won't work) or
2.) Using a language other than English (including English-utf8, for example).  Most language packages aren't yet updated to work with 2.0.

You can check the above by using an FTP client to check the last modified date of the file.  The upgrade does require that all Theme and Source files -- practically all files, be overwritten with 2.0 versions.

For the languages thing, you can look in your profile, if you are using user-selectable languages, otherwise, in admin > server settings > default forum language.

If you could go more into detail about what it is you need assistance doing, it'd be much appreciated.  Thanks :)

Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline Loverboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 351
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #14 on: March 22, 2008, 06:21:51 PM »
You were right.. I was not using the english language files. I hope the updated language files will be ready soon.

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #15 on: March 22, 2008, 06:29:12 PM »
hopefully soon.  All the translators now have access to 2.0 and the language files
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline Divine

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #16 on: July 17, 2008, 03:04:28 AM »
Is there any solution to this?

I have the same problem and can't upgrade from SMF 1.14 to SMF 2.0 Beta 3.1.

I just get the "!!Error" message. I've tested changing the version line in upgrade.php without success and everything else suggested here, such as uploading the files etc etc.

Any ideas?

Offline Divine

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #17 on: July 17, 2008, 03:46:32 AM »
Is it possible to make a clean install of SMF 2.0 and then import the forum data from 1.14 instead perhaps?

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #18 on: July 17, 2008, 04:28:42 AM »
no.  the data is not cross compatible.  have you checked all applicable error logs (php/webserver *and* SMF  (if applicable))?
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline Divine

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: How to import Data from 1.1.4 SMF Board
« Reply #19 on: July 17, 2008, 05:00:04 AM »
no.  the data is not cross compatible.  have you checked all applicable error logs (php/webserver *and* SMF  (if applicable))?

OMG! I just fixed it!!  :D

I've scracthed my head on this all last night and this morning. I've reviewed all posts, error logs etc. Now that I was going to show you the error log I edited it in notepad and realized that it is not getting the default theme from the 2.0 release but rather from my old forum (since I exported and imported the database).

Anyhow I just managed to make the upgrade! :D