Please help.. using 1.1.2

Started by JRagus, March 23, 2008, 08:59:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JRagus

I am using 1.1.2 and want to upgrade to something where I can use certain MODS.

I am very new to this so can someone give me some instructions on how to do this?

I really appreciate it. Thank you.

D M G

babjusi

Quote from: D M G on March 23, 2008, 09:01:25 PM
http://docs.simplemachines.org/index.php?board=2.0;sort=subject

There are some articles there that may help you.

That link is for installing smf and not upgrading.

Anyhow, @JRagus if you want to upgrade to 1.1.4, you can do so one version at a time through the package manager in the acp of your forum. It should be a link there which will allow you to update to 1.1.3 first and then follow the same procedure to the 1.1.4.

But if the link won''t work, then you can upgrade your forum manually. For more info see the link below:

http://docs.simplemachines.org/index.php?board=3.0;sort=subject

This goes if you want to upgrade to the 2.0B3 as well. Hope it helps

JRagus

Will I lose whatever is on my current forum now like the members, content, etc.?

babjusi

Quote from: JRagus on March 23, 2008, 09:09:46 PM
Will I lose whatever is on my current forum now like the members, content, etc.?

All the posts, topics, members info is preserved at the database, so you will have nothing to worry about.

The modifications however, if you perform the large upgrade to the 1.1.4 will be lost. The same goes for the upgrade to the 2.0.B3, the custom themes as well for this version.

Whereas if you upgrade to 1.1.4. through the package manager, one version at the time, then all the mods will be preserved intact

JRagus

Finally got to 1.1.4! Thanks alot I REALLY appreciate it.

Lets see if this chat mod works now finally.

babjusi

Quote from: JRagus on March 23, 2008, 09:17:05 PM
Finally got to 1.1.4! Thanks alot I REALLY appreciate it.

Lets see if this chat mod works now finally.