Advertisement:

Author Topic: Block No IP Address? 0.0.0.0  (Read 4168 times)

Offline clindner

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Block No IP Address? 0.0.0.0
« on: March 31, 2008, 10:53:50 AM »
Hi, I have someone coming to my site that shows in the log as being from 0.0.0.0.

Is there a way to block that address, or require a real address?  I am not able to add 0.0.0.0 as an IP trigger in the Ban Triggers.


Offline Bulakbol

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,220
  • Gender: Male
  • JohnyB
Re: Block No IP Address? 0.0.0.0
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2008, 11:11:11 PM »
I don't think ip 0.0.0.0 is a valid IP. I could be wrong though.
Please do not PM me for support · My Mods and Theme · SMF Coding Guidelines · Modifications Approval Guidelines

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,730
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: Block No IP Address? 0.0.0.0
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2008, 06:26:34 AM »
If you are getting something like: 
"User agent: Mozilla/5.0 (000000000; 0; 000 000 00 0 0000000; 00) 000000000000000000 0000000 0000 000000 00000000000 0000000000000"

That is a firewall software program blocking the user agent.  ???
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline Smith6612

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 406
    • My Website
Re: Block No IP Address? 0.0.0.0
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2008, 06:31:23 AM »
0.0.0.0 is a null IP. There should be no reason that an IP like this would show up unless there is a problem.

Offline Rumbaar

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,805
  • Gender: Male
  • Inherent Omniscience
    • Rumbaar.net
Re: Block No IP Address? 0.0.0.0
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2008, 07:23:08 AM »
I think 0.0.0.0 is returned when SMF isn't able to get a valid IP from the client.  Now how and why this happens I'm not sure.
"An important reward for a job well done is a personal sense of worthwhile achievement."

[ Themes ]