Advertisement:

Author Topic: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme  (Read 3255 times)

Offline Noctys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« on: April 16, 2008, 02:26:48 PM »
The admin sub menu is not displaying right in a copy of the default theme.  I have even tried putting all the files back to the originals and still not luck. I cleared my browsers cach & SMFs cach.

See the attachment for what I am talking about...

Any ideas???
« Last Edit: April 22, 2008, 12:34:37 PM by Noctys »

Offline shadow82x

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,278
  • Gender: Male
    • cmblaber on LinkedIn
Re: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 03:09:41 PM »
Thats probaly more an issue with the theme. I tried installing SMF1.1 themes and noticed the menu maybe a little out of alignment but its usually not too bad.
Colin B
Former Spammer, Customize, & Support Team Member

Offline Noctys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2008, 03:22:43 PM »
It's a direct copy of the Default Theme.  It worked for awhile, then went bad. I think it was when I copied over index.template.php or BoardIndex.template.php... But even copying over the originals or deleting these files (and clearing both caches) yields the same results.

Offline shadow82x

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,278
  • Gender: Male
    • cmblaber on LinkedIn
Re: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2008, 03:24:33 PM »
It would be something in the css files. Its probaly not a cache issue either. 
Colin B
Former Spammer, Customize, & Support Team Member

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2008, 08:21:47 PM »
definitely a theme issue
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline niko

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 2,003
  • Gender: Male
    • Madjoki
Re: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2008, 10:27:18 AM »
You need to copy dropmenu.css from css directory in default theme otherwise it will use dropmenu_default.css which is different.

Offline Noctys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2008, 10:56:06 AM »
Sweet... Thanks Niko; I will try that later today!!!

Offline Noctys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2008, 12:34:25 PM »
Sorry it took me so long to get back to the forums. That worked.  Thanks.

Offline kmbarr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Admin Menu not displaying right in new theme
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2008, 01:26:56 PM »
Is this a bug? Shouldn't this point to default/.../dropmenu.css when the file is missing rather than default/.../dropmenu_default.css?

The code in question is in Sources/Subs-Menu.php, around line 234:

Code: [Select]
if (file_exists($settings['theme_dir']. '/css/dropmenu.css'))
     $context['html_headers'] .=
          '<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="' .
          $settings['theme_url'] . '/css/dropmenu.css" />';
else
     $context['html_headers'] .=
          '<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="' .
          $settings['default_theme_url'] . '/css/dropmenu_default.css" />';

Changing the latter reference from dropmenu_default.css to dropmenu.css seems to resolve the problem without copying the file [but maybe breaks something else?].