Advertisement:

Author Topic: Problem with installing mods  (Read 4790 times)

Offline Wrathchild9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Problem with installing mods
« on: May 01, 2008, 07:06:55 AM »
I have a problem with the mods... I made a temp folder to to the Packages and I made it 777 with Total Commander, and then I want to install a mod, and it says "FTP information required". So I delete cookies to the site, and I try again, but I get "You cannot download or install new packages because the Packages directory or one of the files in it are not writable!" and I can't enter to the folder with Total Commander, but I can make new folder with the same name... What the hell is that? :D

Offline madfiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 667
  • Gender: Male
  • Flit Kills Moths
    • madfiddler
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2008, 06:14:49 PM »
I'm getting this too in both Opera and IE7

Basically, the "FTP Information Required" section shows the title, but doesn't show the rest of the page where you enter your FTP password, so you cannot continue with the mod install.

Offline madfiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 667
  • Gender: Male
  • Flit Kills Moths
    • madfiddler
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2008, 06:45:23 PM »
If this is any help to the developers, viewing source of the page to install the mods, this is all that is shown for entering FTP infomation

Code: [Select]
<td class="catbg">FTP Information Required</td>
</tr><tr>
<td class="windowbg2">

</td>

Offline Wrathchild9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2008, 05:43:36 AM »
Yep.... btw I'm using Firefox 2.0.0.14

Offline madfiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 667
  • Gender: Male
  • Flit Kills Moths
    • madfiddler
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2008, 07:14:29 AM »
I've also got suexec turned on, and safe mode is turned off.. Anyone please?

Offline Metal_13

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
    • Pinoytambay.com
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2008, 05:23:23 PM »
im also getting an error... is this a bug?
i took a screenshot of mine... i need help with this pls...

i cant see any install button... its just blank at the last part...

Offline madfiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 667
  • Gender: Male
  • Flit Kills Moths
    • madfiddler
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2008, 09:04:32 PM »
Either this problem is solved elsewhere and we're not getting any replies - so we're doing something so stupid it doesn't warrent a reply. Think I'll take advantage of my charter membership and create a support ticket. I'll post the results when I get something.

Offline SleePy

  • Site Team Lead
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 30,308
  • Gender: Male
  • Thats his happy face.
    • jdarwood007 on GitHub
    • @jdarwood on Twitter
    • SleePy Code - My personal site
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2008, 12:39:42 PM »
I think this may be related to this bug: Bug #1899: Can't uninstall a package when FTP info is require
I will need to wait until I get home though to look up the revision edits and provide the changes that where done for you. Unless another team member is able to do this :)
Jeremy D — Site Team / SMF Developer
Support the SMF Support team!
Profiles:
GitHub

Offline SleePy

  • Site Team Lead
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 30,308
  • Gender: Male
  • Thats his happy face.
    • jdarwood007 on GitHub
    • @jdarwood on Twitter
    • SleePy Code - My personal site
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2008, 11:50:23 PM »
Try this..

Open Packages.php

Find:
Code: [Select]
     if (!empty($chmod_files))
     {
         $ftp_status = create_chmod_control($chmod_files);
        $context['ftp_needed'] = !empty($ftp_status['files']['notwritable']);
     }

Replace:
Code: [Select]
     if (!empty($chmod_files))
     {
         $ftp_status = create_chmod_control($chmod_files);
        $context['ftp_needed'] = !empty($ftp_status['files']['notwritable']) && !empty($context['package_ftp']);
     }

This the code from the patch file as well
Code: [Select]
Index: Sources/Packages.php
===================================================================
--- Sources/Packages.php    (revision 7095)
+++ Sources/Packages.php    (revision 7096)
@@ -640,7 +640,7 @@
     if (!empty($chmod_files))
     {
         $ftp_status = create_chmod_control($chmod_files);
-        $context['ftp_needed'] = !empty($ftp_status['files']['notwritable']);
+        $context['ftp_needed'] = !empty($ftp_status['files']['notwritable']) && !empty($context['package_ftp']);
     }
 }
Jeremy D — Site Team / SMF Developer
Support the SMF Support team!
Profiles:
GitHub

Offline madfiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 667
  • Gender: Male
  • Flit Kills Moths
    • madfiddler
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2008, 06:05:58 PM »
Thanks :) Can you explain
Quote
This the code from the patch file as well
?

Not sure what you mean.

Offline THE BRA1N

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 133
  • Gender: Male
    • The Third Rail Forum
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2008, 02:45:56 PM »
Same problem when installing simple award mod. Cleared cache and tried it with both IE7 and FF and no solution. It just shows - FTP Information Required and nothing else to enter it or proceed. The FTP info was previously entered and the connection tested in the page before that.

Offline madfiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 667
  • Gender: Male
  • Flit Kills Moths
    • madfiddler
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2008, 10:29:20 PM »
(SMF2 caused me too many probs as I have other 3rd party apps linked into the database, so I've reverted back to V1 - looking forward to a V2 release candidate though, looks great).

Offline THE BRA1N

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 133
  • Gender: Male
    • The Third Rail Forum
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2008, 05:32:28 AM »
Even though I had no clue what SleePy was talking about either with the "code from the patch file", I did what he said in the first part of his post and it worked. It got rid of the "FTP Information Required" dead end and replaced it with an install button. Thanks for the tip.

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: Problem with installing mods
« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2008, 01:01:05 PM »
hello

Did you still require assistance?
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool