Advertisement:

Author Topic: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat  (Read 1011598 times)

Offline davejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 344
    • Dave's Hobby Workshop
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2800 on: August 23, 2019, 03:45:17 AM »
Hi,

I have installed the latest free version and although the settings are set to maxlength 1024 I can still only get 61 characters on a line. Has anyone else had the same issue with version 1.1 please?

Nibogo...would you have the courtesy to reply to this message please?

You were on the site yesterday

Last Active:    Yesterday at 14:50:42
If you want 'Quiz' questions Click here
Quiz Test Site Link

Offline Tricky-Ricky

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2801 on: August 23, 2019, 05:01:21 PM »
Well after testing I don't have the issue iv set to 800 and it posts just fine.

Offline YogiBear

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,944
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2802 on: August 24, 2019, 08:56:46 AM »
Hi davejo, at least a few of us are having this problem. Make a pot of coffee and take a look at pages starting at...
https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=269091.2600

Tricky-Ricky : your solution has improved things a bit.  :) 
SMF v2.0.15  Mods : Ohara YouTube Embed v1.2.9,  Custom Tab v1.2 , Bakers' Dozen Pages v1.2 , SMFPacks Shoutbox v1.1,  Board Color & Icons v1.1 , Simple Image Upload , Snow & Garland v1.4
PHP  v.7.2.7

Offline davejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 344
    • Dave's Hobby Workshop
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2803 on: August 24, 2019, 11:18:06 AM »
Hi Yogi,

Thanks for the reply

I've literally looked at every possible reason for this not working correctly. I have the Pro 1.0.14 version, my year of support has expired long ago, but that doesn't work either as it doesn't even post a single word let alone a line of text, that's why I unistalled the that version and tried to install the free 1.1 version.

I wonder if it's got something to do with some other mod. Recently I was trying to get in post vidoes working but they always come back with an error too so maybe when I was adding the mods to do that they have left some residual code in the templates somewhere.

I really can't think of anything else as it always used to work with no issues.

For now I, as I have Simple Portal installed, I am using that on the forum page and it works OK, as far as SMFPacks version is concerned I'll just have to look into it further another time.

If you want 'Quiz' questions Click here
Quiz Test Site Link

Offline davejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 344
    • Dave's Hobby Workshop
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2804 on: August 25, 2019, 03:40:24 AM »
OK I had a lightbulb moment and I checked the PHP version for my site and the host had set it to 7.0. I have now reverted it back to 5.6 and everything works as it should do including my Pro version of the shoutbox.

Not sure what the implications are of going back to 5.6 are but maybe anyone having similar issues should check their settings too.

My host also has PHP 7.0 - 7.3 so tested it on 7.3 and it doesn't work on that either.

So the question is: Has the Shoutbox mod, either the Pro version or the free version, been updated to work with the newer versions of PHP 7.0 and above?

As my discovery seems to show it would seem not: or is it not as simple as that?

As always any comments are welcome.
If you want 'Quiz' questions Click here
Quiz Test Site Link

Offline mattdanzig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2805 on: October 23, 2019, 10:56:38 AM »
any other shout box mods available? I'm having same problem and it's irritating my users. Thanks in advance

Offline stoneageman

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2806 on: October 23, 2019, 03:36:22 PM »
Free version 1.1 works with PHP7
Pro version 1.2 and above works with PHP7

Offline Nibogo

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,666
  • Gender: Male
    • smfpacks on Facebook
    • @smfpacks on Twitter
    • SMFPacks
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2807 on: October 24, 2019, 11:01:24 PM »
Apologies, but I cannot read everything that has been posted here recently due to some time constraints. If the issue is PHP7 could someone give me a hand with the file involved and perhaps the error?

Offline davejo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 344
    • Dave's Hobby Workshop
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2808 on: October 26, 2019, 08:23:36 AM »
Apologies, but I cannot read everything that has been posted here recently due to some time constraints. If the issue is PHP7 could someone give me a hand with the file involved and perhaps the error?

Nibogo

The problem lies with my Pro version 1.0.10 when my host upgrades to 7+ it doesn't work, when I mean doesn't work I mean the shoutbox is there but it wont show any shouts. If I revert back to php5.6 all is OK again. I bought it from you back in 2015 I think. I don't expect you to give me an upgrade but if you could just tell us what files to edit please I can do it myself .
If you want 'Quiz' questions Click here
Quiz Test Site Link

Offline Nibogo

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,666
  • Gender: Male
    • smfpacks on Facebook
    • @smfpacks on Twitter
    • SMFPacks
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2809 on: October 26, 2019, 06:24:12 PM »
This forum is to support the free version only davejo, unfortunately there is no 1.0.10 compatible with PHP 7 and I don't even know the errors presented with that environment.

Offline BellGab.com

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • BellGab.com
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2810 on: November 16, 2019, 10:29:42 PM »
Love the mod so far.  We'll test it under a load (probably 40 or 50 users) in a couple days.

Guests aren't able to use the shoutbox on my forum (I do want it that way).  When they attempt to, they see, "You are not allowed to view Shoutbox."  I'd like to change that to read, "You must be logged in to use the chat room."

I ran AstroGrep on the shoutbox installation package and can't find "You are not allowed to view Shoutbox" in any file, so I'm guessing this message must be the result of a standard SMF permissions error with "Shoutbox" entered as a variable at the end.

Is it possible to change this without modifying permissions errors site wide?  How?

Thanks.

Offline Mick.

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,074
  • Gender: Male
    • idesignSMF on Facebook
    • @idesign360 on Twitter
    • idesignSMF.com
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2811 on: November 16, 2019, 10:39:32 PM »
Possibly in the language file?

Offline BellGab.com

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • BellGab.com
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2812 on: November 16, 2019, 10:57:55 PM »
Possibly in the language file?

Thanks.  In shoutbox.english.php:
Code: [Select]
$txt['sbe_4'] = 'You are not allowed to view <i>Shoutbox</i>';

Offline BellGab.com

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • BellGab.com
Re: SMFPacks.com Shoutbox, Chat
« Reply #2813 on: November 16, 2019, 11:01:54 PM »
Another question:

We've used IRC chat for this in the past, accessed through a browser interface.  There was a vertical column always visible within the chat showing current users.  Is that sort of thing possible with this package?  Out of the box, as I'm sure you know, current users can only be viewed in a separate browser window upon request.