Advertisement:

Author Topic: Rate That Topic  (Read 150656 times)

Offline jeri

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #80 on: August 30, 2008, 08:52:42 PM »
Open

../Themes/default/languages/Modifications.english.php

Find and Cut:

Code: [Select]
?>
Paste at the very end of the file.

Thank you, Thank you!!!!

Offline Mouthrax

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #81 on: September 03, 2008, 10:14:34 AM »
Hi all,

great theme, I followed the replies and got the fix working ...brilliant

Is there any way to make the rating out of 10 please?

Offline Marcus Forsberg

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,608
  • Gender: Male
    • marcus.t.forsberg on Facebook
    • marcusforsberg on LinkedIn
    • @marcusforsberg on Twitter
    • marcusforsberg.net
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #82 on: September 03, 2008, 02:01:15 PM »
Looks great.

But I don't think that it's something that I need right now ;)

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #83 on: September 03, 2008, 05:47:38 PM »
TechPrince:

Your file is attached.

Rifugio:

../Sources/Subs-Rate.php

Find:

Code: [Select]
$request = db_query("
SELECT locked
FROM {$db_prefix}topics
WHERE ID_TOPIC = $topic_id
LIMIT 1", __FILE__, __LINE__);
list ($check['lock']) = mysql_fetch_row($request);
mysql_free_result($request);

if(!empty($check['lock']))
return false;

Replace:

Code: [Select]
/*
$request = db_query("
SELECT locked
FROM {$db_prefix}topics
WHERE ID_TOPIC = $topic_id
LIMIT 1", __FILE__, __LINE__);
list ($check['lock']) = mysql_fetch_row($request);
mysql_free_result($request);

if(!empty($check['lock']))
return false;
*/

Mouthrax:

../Sources/Subs-Rate.php

Find:

Code: [Select]
if($rateOptions['rate'] > 5 || $rateOptions['rate'] < 1)
Replace:

Code: [Select]
if($rateOptions['rate'] > 10 || $rateOptions['rate'] < 1)
../Display.template.php

Find:

Code: [Select]
<option value="5"', $context['user_rating'] == 5 ? 'selected="selected"' : '', '>5</option>
Replace:

Code: [Select]
<option value="5"', $context['user_rating'] == 5 ? 'selected="selected"' : '', '>5</option>
<option value="6"', $context['user_rating'] == 6 ? 'selected="selected"' : '', '>6</option>
<option value="7"', $context['user_rating'] == 7 ? 'selected="selected"' : '', '>7</option>
<option value="8"', $context['user_rating'] == 8 ? 'selected="selected"' : '', '>8</option>
<option value="9"', $context['user_rating'] == 9 ? 'selected="selected"' : '', '>9</option>
<option value="10"', $context['user_rating'] == 10 ? 'selected="selected"' : '', '>10</option>

Then you need to have 6-10 star images in your theme's images directory.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2008, 05:50:25 PM by [SiNaN] »
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline mrstime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 154
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #84 on: September 04, 2008, 09:40:41 PM »
I have installed and can get to the control panel but I don't see the rating option on the board.  What am I doing wrong?

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #85 on: September 04, 2008, 10:16:31 PM »
Have you enabled it for the boards you want to use it?
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline mrstime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 154
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #86 on: September 05, 2008, 06:41:03 AM »
I thought I did.  I had tried just about every option I could think of. 

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #87 on: September 05, 2008, 06:54:35 AM »
Can you provide me an admin account via pm to check it?
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #88 on: September 05, 2008, 07:06:10 AM »
can you please work over the hover stars for this rating ? I am too much interested...please... would be great stuff to add in.... :)

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #89 on: September 05, 2008, 07:34:51 AM »
can you please work over the hover stars for this rating ?

I couldn't get what you mean.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #90 on: September 05, 2008, 08:12:22 AM »
i mean like just put the mouse over the stars.. it highlights that much part and to lock that rating, just click on it and you get a message written under it saying "Thank you for your Rating." And to change that rating, an option just near the post reply, saying "Change Ratings" for individual changes ?


Offline mrstime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 154
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #91 on: September 05, 2008, 10:21:52 PM »
Can you provide me an admin account via pm to check it?

PM sent.  Thank you SiNaN

Offline chrisb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 214
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #92 on: September 05, 2008, 11:25:48 PM »
I have installed and can get to the control panel but I don't see the rating option on the board.  What am I doing wrong?

Under Admin and then Forum and then Topic Rating Admin , this where you can enable the rate topics on your forum.

Offline mrstime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 154
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #93 on: September 05, 2008, 11:27:12 PM »
I have tried that and yet there is nothing. 

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #94 on: September 05, 2008, 11:31:33 PM »
go to the boards settings over there which is just next to that tab.. enabale it in the specific boards and check it.

Offline mrstime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 154
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #95 on: September 05, 2008, 11:40:45 PM »
I have tried enabling all boards, checked all I can check, tried it, adjusted settings and I still don't see the option to rate the topic. 

Offline mrstime

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 154
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #96 on: September 05, 2008, 11:46:27 PM »
I think this may be the problem.  I uninstalled and reinstalled and this is what I get for one file:

8.     Execute Modification     ./Themes/default/languages/Modifications.english-utf8.php     Skipping file

Offline chrisb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 214
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #97 on: September 06, 2008, 02:09:42 AM »
When you click on the stars and then goes to rating topic log, nothing will show up on this page, should it state the username and postion and ratings as well and time, i am using firefox 3, i wonder if that causing these issues,

Username       Position       Rating       Time

Any help would be helpful

Offline Wajalot

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #98 on: September 07, 2008, 06:15:04 PM »
Hi [SiNaN]

First of all, many thanks for your time. I also fixed the error with your posts..

Now, if i can, i have a question. Is there any option to have some stats of rating as 'Most rated topic in a week, also in a month and ever' ?

Could be a good improvement.

Thanks again
« Last Edit: September 07, 2008, 06:16:51 PM by Wajalot »

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Rate That Topic
« Reply #99 on: September 07, 2008, 07:15:22 PM »
mrstime:

I've checked your forum. You haven't enabled it for any board. I've enabled for all. If you check with default theme, it works. You make the template file changes for your custom theme manually. You can use the Mod Site package parser for that.

chrisb:

Are you sure that you are looking at a rated topic?

Wajalot:

I liked the idea, we can add some stats to Stats page. I'll consider it for the next release. Thanks.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal