Advertisement:

Author Topic: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7  (Read 207896 times)

Offline sirNemanjapro

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Gender: Male
  • None of the above applies.
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #40 on: January 15, 2009, 05:18:30 PM »
I have a problem.

Code: [Select]
Converting members... Successful.
Converting administrators... Successful.
Converting categories... Successful.
Converting boards... Successful.
Assigning boards to categories... Successful.
Converting topics... Unsuccessful!
This query:

    TRUNCATE `ckndva_cknsmf`.smf_topics;

Caused the error:

    Table 'ckndva_cknsmf.smf_topics' doesn't exist

After some research I have looked into phpMyAdmin and see the following. I have only 40 tables in my install, but in vBulletin I have 147 tables?!

« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 06:12:44 PM by sirNemanjapro »
None of the above applies.

Offline SleePy

  • Site Team Lead
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 29,936
  • Gender: Male
  • Thats his happy face.
    • jdarwood007 on GitHub
    • @jdarwood on Twitter
    • SleePy Code - My personal site
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #41 on: January 15, 2009, 06:57:18 PM »
SMF doesn't have 147 tables. But you are missing your topics table.

Was your install of SMF working before you tried to convert? The converter assumes your install of SMF is working. If there is something broken in the install before you convert it will most likely mess up something during the conversion process.
Jeremy D — Site Team / SMF Developer
Support the SMF Support team!
Profiles:
GitHub

Offline chakru

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #42 on: January 16, 2009, 02:28:29 AM »
thank you very much I have been looking for this!


Offline chakru

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #43 on: January 16, 2009, 04:53:37 AM »
yes I do

$config['Database']['tableprefix'] = ' ';

I even tried it with a space in between the quotes $config['Database']['tableprefix'] = ' ';

having the same problem as ploot please help

thank you

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #44 on: January 16, 2009, 06:34:58 AM »
chakru, your vBulletin was installed without a table prefix? then check this post please:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=271437.msg1879677#msg1879677

Offline chakru

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #45 on: January 16, 2009, 08:09:42 AM »
chakru, your vBulletin was installed without a table prefix? then check this post please:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=271437.msg1879677#msg1879677

man you are just awesome thank you so much for this help!! :D

Offline chakru

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #46 on: January 16, 2009, 08:49:54 AM »
one doubt after convertion how can I get my smf board to actual url that is I converted my forums at www.xxx.yyy/smf [nofollow] so I want my board to this location www.xxx.yyy [nofollow] how can it be done??

thank you

Offline sirNemanjapro

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Gender: Male
  • None of the above applies.
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #47 on: January 16, 2009, 08:59:03 AM »
SMF doesn't have 147 tables. But you are missing your topics table.

Was your install of SMF working before you tried to convert? The converter assumes your install of SMF is working. If there is something broken in the install before you convert it will most likely mess up something during the conversion process.

Well if it doesn't have 147, how many dose it have?
I know what I am missing, I just don't know how much of it am I missing. :)

Yes the install was working before convert.

I see I must reupload install, and do it all over.
None of the above applies.

Offline HIsPoCratiC

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Gender: Male
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #48 on: January 22, 2009, 03:00:38 PM »
Any know's about this error when I try to enter convert.php??

Code: [Select]
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_VARIABLE in /web/htdocs/www.miwebsite.com/home/smf/convert.php on line 1
I have the vbulletin in the root and SMF on a folder (root/smf) and the db in the same server, but can't solve this witch 3.7
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 03:48:47 PM by HIsPoCratiC »

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #49 on: January 22, 2009, 03:20:24 PM »
try the convert.php from this topic:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=140741.0
(it's attached at the end of the post)

Offline HIsPoCratiC

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Gender: Male
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #50 on: January 22, 2009, 03:27:13 PM »
try the convert.php from this topic:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=140741.0
(it's attached at the end of the post)

Thanks, but this is the file i'm using right now..

Offline HIsPoCratiC

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Gender: Male
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #51 on: January 22, 2009, 03:34:35 PM »
Sorry double posting. Ignore the last error, I solved using the one I downloaded from "Downloads area".

1.- I get the "eval d`code 404 on line 1 error, them I make this -> http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=271437.msg1879677#msg1879677

And the result was "no access to vbulletin db".

VB and SMF db are in the same host. Vbulletin is db #1 and the other #2 so I can't understand what the problem is..

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #52 on: January 22, 2009, 04:11:06 PM »
the changes for  vbulletin37_to_smf.sql are only needed when using vBulltetin without a table prefix. Are you sure the path to vBulletin in convert.php was the right one?

both forums can use different databases but the MySQL user from SMF must be able to read the vBulletin database.

Offline HIsPoCratiC

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Gender: Male
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #53 on: January 22, 2009, 04:40:15 PM »
Well, I'm now stopped in this error.

The error MySQL gave was: Table 'XXXXXX_1.user' doesn't exist
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 04:47:54 PM by HIsPoCratiC »

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #54 on: January 22, 2009, 04:49:43 PM »
do you get this error with the modified version (from my post) or with the original vbulletin37_to_smf.sql? when using my "modified" version  you must also create a migration.php with your database name in it.

Offline HIsPoCratiC

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Gender: Male
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #55 on: January 22, 2009, 05:02:07 PM »
I'm using your modified version,and I mean

---~ settings: "/migration.php"
---~ from_prefix: "" . $database . "."

Of course, I created a migration.php and put it on the root just where vb , and also in smf folder ...

Of course I just copy your example, and put my db name like follows;

<?php
$database = 'mydbname';
?>

All the tables for vbulletin, have and "vb" at the beggining, like "vbuser" so maybe here is the error?

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #56 on: January 23, 2009, 12:58:15 AM »
ah ok, that's the problem:
then change
Code: [Select]
---~ from_prefix: "" . $database . "."
to
Code: [Select]
---~ from_prefix: "`" . $database . "`." . $prefix . ""
and create a migration.php with this content:
Code: [Select]
<?php
$database 
'mydbname';
$prefix 'vb';
?>

in this file replace mydbname with the real database name.

Offline HIsPoCratiC

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Gender: Male
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #57 on: January 23, 2009, 08:00:11 AM »
YeS!!! You'r the one!!


Thanks man, without you this was impsible!

Offline Streakealth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #58 on: January 29, 2009, 11:32:07 AM »
No matter what I put in the boxes on the convert.php box it always says successful, but never is successful (even with the correct data entered).  The command line use doesn't work either, it always informs me that I haven't defined 'path_to' (which I have).

The process I do is as follows:
1. place both vbulletin37_to_smf.sql and convert.php in the web root of hxxp:forums.quicknbrite.net [nonactive]
2. visit the page, and fill in the correct details (knocking off the s as the old forum is hxxp:forum.quicknbrite.net [nonactive]
3. Hit continue, and get greeted with a success page almost immediately (even though nothing was very successful at all)

Much help would be appreciated, if you need more details in order to help me with my problem just say :)

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: [SMF Converter] vBulletin 3.7
« Reply #59 on: January 29, 2009, 01:17:02 PM »
maybe the session_save_path isn't writeable, please check Common conversion errors...