Advertisement:

Author Topic: Strange problem with SMF bridge (works in opera, not in IE / Firefox)  (Read 7804 times)

Offline extera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Hi everyone.

I have been using SMF for quite a while now, next to my joomla website.
I have tried to integrate SMF in joomla using the Joomla to SMF Bridge.

I'm encountering a strange problem now.
In IE7 and Firefox 3, I get an error after clicking the link I created.
hxxp:www.overklokken.info/index.php/forum-intern [nonactive]

When opening that link in opera, the forum seems to be working just fine, debug info shows no errors.

I have tried this on a fresh SMF 1.16 install and with on SMF and Joomla both on the same database, both without success.

I don't understand why it works OK in opera, but gives an error in firefox and IE.
The error in firefox is:

Content Encoding Error

The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because it uses an invalid or unsupported form of compression.

I hope you guy's can help me out...

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,607
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Strange problem with SMF bridge (works in opera, not in IE / Firefox)
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2008, 05:44:15 PM »
bridge version? Joomla version?
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline extera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Strange problem with SMF bridge (works in opera, not in IE / Firefox)
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2008, 06:14:05 PM »
Oh I'm sorry, joomla 1.57 and 1.0 RC 5 for the bridge.

My developper worked it out.
The problem was joomla using gzip compression by default, and SMF does not (or the other way arround)

setting both on, or both off was the solution here.

Topic can be closed, thanks!

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,607
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Strange problem with SMF bridge (works in opera, not in IE / Firefox)
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2008, 08:25:05 PM »
well, for future searches...  we don't support that bridge here. Look on the author's site for support.

Also, you should always have GZIP turned *OFF* on any sub-components (i.e. SMF) and turned ON on the main component (i.e. Joomla)
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.