Advertisement:

Author Topic: How can I restore smf forum from a backup?  (Read 26837 times)

Offline Elad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: How can I restore smf forum from a backup?
« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2007, 03:33:32 PM »
Some support Motoko-chan :(
We like answers now instead of SPENDING HOURS seaching all the time.
I am trying smf over phpbb2 that I have been using for years.

phpbb2 has a built in Restore function along with Backup function buttons in its admin panel.
Why does sfm not have that?
Why even bother to have a Backup button since it seems one have to use cpanel anyway to Restore?
Might as well use Backup there too (in cpanel) instead of confusing us out here.
To me, this is usless function creating more headaches as it is now.
 

Offline 青山 素子

  • Server Team
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 17,073
  • 戦場ヶ原、蕩れ!
    • srvrguy on GitHub
    • @motokochan on Twitter
    • Nekomusume Moe
Re: How can I restore smf forum from a backup?
« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2007, 04:38:58 PM »
Some support Motoko-chan :(
We like answers now instead of SPENDING HOURS seaching all the time.
I am trying smf over phpbb2 that I have been using for years.

Better to find your answer in a few minutes than wait hours because the team keeps having to answer the same questions for the hundredth time. We ask people to search so they can have a chance of finding an answer quicker, or maybe find something that can at least help them know what the issue is not.


phpbb2 has a built in Restore function along with Backup function buttons in its admin panel.
Why does sfm not have that?
Why even bother to have a Backup button since it seems one have to use cpanel anyway to Restore?
Might as well use Backup there too (in cpanel) instead of confusing us out here.
To me, this is usless function creating more headaches as it is now.

The restore function would require SMF to be already installed to work. If you are moving hosts or having to recover from a lost database, you probably won't have a working SMF to restore with. Basically, it makes no sense (you'd have to do an install to restore).

Not everyone has cPanel. Some people have Ensim, others have Plesk. Others have nothing at all. Backup exists in the admin to let any forum admin, even one without direct server access, to make a backup.


Also, this is an old topic. Why are we digging it up now?
« Last Edit: September 25, 2007, 04:58:35 PM by Motoko-chan »
Motoko-chan
Director, Simple Machines

Note: Unless otherwise stated, my posts are not representative of any official position or opinion of Simple Machines.


Offline Elad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: How can I restore smf forum from a backup?
« Reply #22 on: November 11, 2008, 01:32:00 AM »
Problem was not SMF but my system.
Google CHROME and IE8 v2.0.2 beta both acting up.
One day my entire system crashed - bootsector failure.
New HD and a lot of restoring software and all is well now...

Offline Rumbaar

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,806
  • Gender: Male
  • Inherent Omniscience
    • Rumbaar.net
Re: How can I restore smf forum from a backup?
« Reply #23 on: December 09, 2008, 07:24:36 PM »
Wow a response almost a year after posting ... not sure the adage "Better late than never applies here" :)
"An important reward for a job well done is a personal sense of worthwhile achievement."

[ Themes ]