Advertisement:

Author Topic: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7  (Read 9457 times)

Offline blondeamon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 242
    • Kamenos Gaming Community
Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« on: November 22, 2008, 10:58:54 AM »
Greetings guys


i am a new webmaster trying to design a Alumni website for my University. I was thinking of making a site with Joomla for Portal (CMS) and SMF 1.1.7 forum integrated for community forum.

Is this possible or there is incompatibility between them? It would be great if you could provide some information or een links to other threads about this. I have SMF for years but not until recently did i think of integrating Joomla.

Thanks in advance to anyone kind enough to help a beginner in CMS
Always looking for the best

www.kamenos.gr  Greek Gaming Community

Offline blondeamon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 242
    • Kamenos Gaming Community
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 04:18:05 PM »
bump ,someone?
Always looking for the best

www.kamenos.gr  Greek Gaming Community

Orstio

  • Guest

Offline lureah21

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2008, 06:18:26 PM »
I don't know how well this works, but I've heard good things. Definitely worth a shot.

http://www.jfusion.org/

Offline blondeamon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 242
    • Kamenos Gaming Community
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2008, 07:53:28 PM »
So in few words, if i have SMF i cant have Joomla as portal.


What else can i have if not joomla? I have TP for years and im not satisified at all.
Always looking for the best

www.kamenos.gr  Greek Gaming Community

Offline lureah21

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2008, 09:05:11 PM »
There's an officially supported bridge for Mambo.

You could also try this bridge:

http://extensions.joomla.org/component/option,com_mtree/task,viewlink/link_id,5388/Itemid,35/

But like I said earlier, Jfusion is supposed to work pretty well.

Offline Voyeurette

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2008, 03:27:38 PM »
Greetings Blondeamon - I'm sort of in the same place - starting up a new joomla 1.5 website  - wanting to bridge my existing 1.1.7 smf forum...

I was going to try the bridge posted above ( J 1.5 to smf 2.0  )  but I get the feeling it might not work...


Offline blondeamon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 242
    • Kamenos Gaming Community
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2008, 04:19:55 PM »
Hi Voy , yes but that way we would have to convert our forums to SMF2 which i dont want to because it is still a beta and the site im working on is destined for university use.
Always looking for the best

www.kamenos.gr  Greek Gaming Community

Offline lureah21

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2008, 07:22:49 PM »
Did you even visit the Jfusion site? If you did, you'd know that it works with SMF 1.1.x, not 2.0.

Offline blondeamon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 242
    • Kamenos Gaming Community
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2008, 02:23:47 PM »
Truly sorry lureah , i am checking on it right now.

But this on their site deters me from using it:

"JFusion is still an Alpha Software. Do Not use it on live sites! Please read the FAQs and Documentation before proceeding to the Forums to post your queries."
Always looking for the best

www.kamenos.gr  Greek Gaming Community

Offline Voyeurette

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2008, 11:24:39 AM »
I did get the JFusion to work - however in the end decided not to use it.

I am still too unfamiliar with Joomla and the way things work.

I ended up just putting a link to my SMF that opens in a new window...   boo hoo if the user has to enter their name and password again.

Is there a way to have the SMF open without displaying all the header info when it opens within my Joomla page?    ( but retains it when in a separate page? )    <<< probably a separate issue...

Good luck Blondeamon !

Offline blondeamon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 242
    • Kamenos Gaming Community
Re: Questions about Joomla and 1.1.7
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2008, 11:29:39 AM »
I installed joomla with wrapped smf inside of it with dual login and all of this using JFusion. I only login at joomla and it logs smf automatically,its a very good tool.
Always looking for the best

www.kamenos.gr  Greek Gaming Community