Advertisement:

Author Topic: TinyPortal  (Read 744607 times)

bloc

  • Guest
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #740 on: September 22, 2010, 04:11:11 PM »

when you select No on "Admin can see all blocks?"

then no blocks at all are visible to admins.

When im logged in as Admin... i see no blocks. When i log out as a guest, i see all the blocks. It wasn't like this on 5.2 because i had that setting on " no " on that version


I'm confused now, lol..  Isn't it supposed to work like that?  When you log out you can see the blocks because you're a guest not a Admin. :)

It never worked like that on previous version.

for example, i have blocks that are just viewable for guests... on 5.2 when i put this "on" i could not view the blocks that where viewable for guest (which is good) but i could view all other blocks.


The idea was to make admins not having to see all blocks, but only those *specifically* for admins. But to not make it too ahrd on this change, a setting for it was added. So if "on" it behaves like before, that admin see everything. If "off" admin only see those blocks set for them.

I will test if its working properly though.

Offline IchBin™

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,115
  • Gender: Male
  • I don't speak German.
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #741 on: September 22, 2010, 04:13:02 PM »
To upgrade can i just install over the old version or do I need to do an uninstall and a reinstall?
Unless you have installed some mods after it (which could conflict), you should be able to upgrade. If there are no errors, there shouldn't be any reason you can't upgrade.
IchBin™        TinyPortal
Coding Guidelines       

bloc

  • Guest
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #742 on: September 22, 2010, 04:13:40 PM »
Hey bloc, just curious but did you get those bullets back in since you said you rather liked the idea ?

Also, I havent had a chance to check soem other the other stuff out yet but I was wondering.

1. In the recent block they post like this line breaking when the text gets to wide...

[RSS] Mafia II : Jimmy's ... by MoreBloodWine [Today at 02:53:02 PM]

could you maybe add some <br />'s after the title an by lines so it looks like this which is what it does / did for 098 ?

[RSS] Mafia II : Jimmy's ...
by MoreBloodWine
[Today at 02:53:02 PM]

2. Any chance of getting those hr's back in to seperate the posts in the recent block, again like in 098 ?

Edit:

3. Think this may have been overlooked but what would be the code to use to color php and regular HTML blocks. Using the <body> tag in both except with PHP I echo it doesn't work.

Yes, i liked them and added them back. the hr's are out..but I can release the blockcode for the old one. Also, same for the 0.9 version, but that already exists in the added blockcodes. You can choose it when you add blocks.

Using body tag in blocks? I don't quite follow.

bloc

  • Guest
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #743 on: September 22, 2010, 04:14:26 PM »
Congratulation Bloc.
In TinyPortal.eu Team name: tamasir~
Thanks, tamasir. :)

Offline GhostRider2110

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #744 on: September 22, 2010, 05:01:09 PM »
Just installed upgrade, but the version notice at the bottom still says TinyPortal 1.0 beta 5-1 did something mess up?  Nothing else seems broken...  Great job Bloc!!!

See-ya
Mitch
Mitchell Baker
--------------------
CoffeeCup Software Ambassador
Get 20% Off CoffeeCup Web Design Software
Use this code when you checkout: 226STS
--------------------
www.getcoffeecup.com

Offline MoreBloodWine

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,723
  • Gender: Male
  • ...
    • Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Stat Sig Generator
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #745 on: September 22, 2010, 05:18:21 PM »
Hey bloc, just curious but did you get those bullets back in since you said you rather liked the idea ?

Also, I havent had a chance to check soem other the other stuff out yet but I was wondering.

1. In the recent block they post like this line breaking when the text gets to wide...

[RSS] Mafia II : Jimmy's ... by MoreBloodWine [Today at 02:53:02 PM]

could you maybe add some <br />'s after the title an by lines so it looks like this which is what it does / did for 098 ?

[RSS] Mafia II : Jimmy's ...
by MoreBloodWine
[Today at 02:53:02 PM]

2. Any chance of getting those hr's back in to seperate the posts in the recent block, again like in 098 ?

Edit:

3. Think this may have been overlooked but what would be the code to use to color php and regular HTML blocks. Using the <body> tag in both except with PHP I echo it doesn't work.

Yes, i liked them and added them back. the hr's are out..but I can release the blockcode for the old one. Also, same for the 0.9 version, but that already exists in the added blockcodes. You can choose it when you add blocks.

Using body tag in blocks? I don't quite follow.
Well, if you added the bullets back in that just leaves 1 & 2 which you said are out, so ya assuming the block code from 098 to this new version isnt to different then I would like the block code and the find / replace, find / add after stuff to get 1 & 2 done for the recent posts block.

Also, I may be trying to think to much into the below quote but I don't get what your saying / mean.
Quote
Also, same for the 0.9 version, but that already exists in the added blockcodes. You can choose it when you add blocks.

As for the body stuff, I meant that I tried stuff like this to color the block but it didnt work.

echo '<body bgcolor="HEX HERE">';

echo 'Block stuff here...';

echo '</body>';

That didnt work, basically I just wana know what do I need to do to color the background of a single block.
Want a sig like mine for your BTCGuild stats ? Then check this out: Spend-ur-Bits


Offline IchBin™

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,115
  • Gender: Male
  • I don't speak German.
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #746 on: September 22, 2010, 05:25:48 PM »
Well if you add a div then you'd put the background like this:

<div style="background-color: #CC0000;"></div>

However, the blocks have paddings and stuff that will likely leave you with a border around the inside body part of your block. It might be easier/better to just look at the HTML (with a cool tool like firebug) so you can get ID name. Each block has a unique ID. Then in your css file just add a section for it.

#block11 {
    background-color: #CC0000;
}
IchBin™        TinyPortal
Coding Guidelines       

Offline ffingers

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #747 on: September 22, 2010, 05:37:01 PM »
Love this mod bloc. Been using it on my 1.1.11 site for two years. I am jumping ship to 2.0 now and doing prep work. With 2.0 the are some great mobile themes like mobile curve and smf4iphone. However the blocks  from tinyportal make it look completely wonky. Is there a way to disable tinyportal for mobile themes. I know you don't have one built-in but is it possible to add a conditional somewhere to check for a theme ID and therefore not load tinyportal. If you could toss me the code I can do the manual edits for now. Thanks. I am assuming it would just be conditionals in the index.template to not call the init for tinyportal? Right?

Offline MoreBloodWine

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,723
  • Gender: Male
  • ...
    • Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Stat Sig Generator
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #748 on: September 22, 2010, 05:37:32 PM »
Well if you add a div then you'd put the background like this:

<div style="background-color: #CC0000;"></div>

However, the blocks have paddings and stuff that will likely leave you with a border around the inside body part of your block. It might be easier/better to just look at the HTML (with a cool tool like firebug) so you can get ID name. Each block has a unique ID. Then in your css file just add a section for it.

#block11 {
    background-color: #CC0000;
}
The div solution worked but as you suggested due to the padding there was a border or sorts, now this isnt such a big deal since I mainly wanted content to stand out more.

Also, I was curious to see if the CSS could be used directly in the block as shown below but that didnt work.

echo '
<style type="text/css">
#block18 {
    background-color: #FFFFFF;
}
</style>
';


Is there something I'm doing wrong ?

Ok, I know I should be putting it in the css file or whatever but every time I want co change a bg color if at all I'd have to do this and that to get to the file and I find itwould just be easier to manage the color locally (directly form the block itself).
Want a sig like mine for your BTCGuild stats ? Then check this out: Spend-ur-Bits


Offline IchBin™

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,115
  • Gender: Male
  • I don't speak German.
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #749 on: September 22, 2010, 05:47:38 PM »
It's either the way I described, or you change one of the block layout options to suit what you're looking for.
IchBin™        TinyPortal
Coding Guidelines       

Offline MoreBloodWine

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,723
  • Gender: Male
  • ...
    • Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Stat Sig Generator
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #750 on: September 22, 2010, 05:58:27 PM »
It's either the way I described, or you change one of the block layout options to suit what you're looking for.
In any case I edited the tp-style.css in the default folder and added

#block18 {
    background-color: #101010;
}

But it doesnt appear to be doing anything, and yes, I have the right block number.
Want a sig like mine for your BTCGuild stats ? Then check this out: Spend-ur-Bits


bloc

  • Guest
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #751 on: September 22, 2010, 07:19:22 PM »
It won't override unless you set the block to be either "title only" or "no title or frame" for its options. 

Love this mod bloc. Been using it on my 1.1.11 site for two years. I am jumping ship to 2.0 now and doing prep work. With 2.0 the are some great mobile themes like mobile curve and smf4iphone. However the blocks  from tinyportal make it look completely wonky. Is there a way to disable tinyportal for mobile themes. I know you don't have one built-in but is it possible to add a conditional somewhere to check for a theme ID and therefore not load tinyportal. If you could toss me the code I can do the manual edits for now. Thanks. I am assuming it would just be conditionals in the index.template to not call the init for tinyportal? Right?
Its possible to turn off all panels, yes..but you will need to do it in the theme's template_init() function. The quickest way is to simply set new layers - TP use its own "tp" layer", so you could just reset them with the default layers:

Code: [Select]
$context['template_layers'] = array('html','body');
..at the end of template_init() function;

Offline gregj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #752 on: September 22, 2010, 08:11:29 PM »
Apologizies if this is in the wrong place. We have TP 1.083 loaded in SMF 1.1.11, and problem with aprostophes having slashes after them in the shoutbox. I've searched but have not come up with anything.   Thanks in advance.

Offline IchBin™

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,115
  • Gender: Male
  • I don't speak German.
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #753 on: September 22, 2010, 09:24:00 PM »
What is the TP version at the bottom of your forum say? You posted the internal version which doesn't mean anything to anyone except bloc. Did you see that Bloc just released an update today? If you haven't upgraded, I'd highly suggest you do as it will fix problems just like what you are having.
IchBin™        TinyPortal
Coding Guidelines       

Offline Wiwar

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
    • The Welsh Hard Men
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #754 on: September 22, 2010, 09:36:41 PM »
Can you please supply me with a quick fix for this minor problem:

I'd like my shoutbox to scroll from recent through previous shouts? Before I mess about experimenting with my files, I'd rather ask the experts! :)

Thanks in advance

Offline agridoc

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,274
  • Gender: Male
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #755 on: September 23, 2010, 01:39:10 AM »
Good work Bloc, many bugs fixed.  8)

A note for non latin chars language and multilingual users upgrading from TP 0.9.8.

Most bugs affecting non latin chars languages are fixed and the language option for blocks is back again. A caution here, it works differently than in TP 0.9.8. In TP 0.9.8 if a language is selected the block appears only if this language is selected. In TP 1.0 RC1 the language option for blocks (NEW) in TP settings must be turned on. Then existing language specific blocks will work as expected, however the desired languages MUST be selected in the remaining blocks, so they appear with every language.

With this version TP is full back for sophisticated multilingual sites.
  For Greek aeromodellers and our friends around the world  - Greek Button sets for SMF - Greeklish to Greek mod
Δeν αφιερώνω χρόνο για μηνύματα σε greeklish.

Offline agridoc

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,274
  • Gender: Male
    • Aeromodelling GR - Aeromodelling in Greece
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #756 on: September 23, 2010, 01:47:45 AM »
I'd like my shoutbox to scroll from recent through previous shouts? Before I mess about experimenting with my files, I'd rather ask the experts! :)

Good observation Wiwar, the sorting goes to ASCending by date if you choose scrolling, while it is DESCending by date in simple presentation. I had a quick look but I didn't find a solution, however my specialty in TP is Languages and Internationalization, I believe one will be soon available.
  For Greek aeromodellers and our friends around the world  - Greek Button sets for SMF - Greeklish to Greek mod
Δeν αφιερώνω χρόνο για μηνύματα σε greeklish.

Offline SN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 398
  • Gender: Male
  • » To Dare is To Do
    • SpursNetwork - Tottenham Hotspurs Fansite
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #757 on: September 23, 2010, 02:13:06 AM »

when you select No on "Admin can see all blocks?"

then no blocks at all are visible to admins.

When im logged in as Admin... i see no blocks. When i log out as a guest, i see all the blocks. It wasn't like this on 5.2 because i had that setting on " no " on that version


I'm confused now, lol..  Isn't it supposed to work like that?  When you log out you can see the blocks because you're a guest not a Admin. :)

It never worked like that on previous version.

for example, i have blocks that are just viewable for guests... on 5.2 when i put this "on" i could not view the blocks that where viewable for guest (which is good) but i could view all other blocks.


The idea was to make admins not having to see all blocks, but only those *specifically* for admins. But to not make it too ahrd on this change, a setting for it was added. So if "on" it behaves like before, that admin see everything. If "off" admin only see those blocks set for them.

I will test if its working properly though.

Yeah that is how i have it set up bloc. But none of the blocks are showing when im logged in as admin

Picture 1 is my front page settings. And picture 2 is an example of how i have a block set up which isn't showing for admin


Offline gregj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #758 on: September 23, 2010, 07:13:16 AM »
What is the TP version at the bottom of your forum say? You posted the internal version which doesn't mean anything to anyone except bloc. Did you see that Bloc just released an update today? If you haven't upgraded, I'd highly suggest you do as it will fix problems just like what you are having.

The version of TP is v1.0 beta 4.

I will try the update.  thanks

Offline GhostRider2110

  • Charter Member
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
Re: TinyPortal
« Reply #759 on: September 23, 2010, 11:55:30 AM »
Just installed upgrade, but the version notice at the bottom still says TinyPortal 1.0 beta 5-1 did something mess up?  Nothing else seems broken...  Great job Bloc!!!

See-ya
Mitch

Guess it would help if I gave SMF version.  1.1.11 is current SMF using BlueSkies modified.  You can see at www.usscalemasters.org

It did have the 5-2 version which I was told didn't get the version display updated.  Did this happen again on this update? 

See-ya
Mitch
« Last Edit: September 23, 2010, 04:44:20 PM by GhostRider2110 »
Mitchell Baker
--------------------
CoffeeCup Software Ambassador
Get 20% Off CoffeeCup Web Design Software
Use this code when you checkout: 226STS
--------------------
www.getcoffeecup.com