Advertisement:

Author Topic: Affiliates System  (Read 178513 times)

Offline SA™

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,954
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • DenotsNiaga on Facebook
    • SAChatBar
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #580 on: November 19, 2011, 03:31:09 PM »
this should do it
http://samods.github.io/SAChatBar/

Xbox Live: smokerthecheese 360 or xbone
My Work
Piano Movers / Delivery service
Quote
My allies are dead.
I'm 'bout to be too.
Zombies are chasing me.
F*** it, I'm screwed -___-

Offline Eclipse16V

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,070
  • Gender: Male
  • Tornado Map
    • Eclipse16V on Facebook
    • @Eclipse16V on Twitter
    • Tornado Map
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #581 on: November 20, 2011, 02:57:30 AM »
Hmmmmm

Now I get these error messages and I get this even before that, and seen only now. Can you at the first error message so that it does not make this error message instead of the index.php?action=affiliates will be forwarded. Then there are ever fewer messages that are in the error log. For the other error I now know no further. May be they are now gone with the new code. Let's wait a few days.
I worked with:
SMF 2 in German

My Shop:
Das Lieschen

Offline SA™

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,954
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • DenotsNiaga on Facebook
    • SAChatBar
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #582 on: November 20, 2011, 03:03:50 AM »
for the no affiliate selected error

affiliates.php
fatal_error($txt['aff_error_a']);
replace with
fatal_error($txt['aff_error_a'],false);

for the other error
add
$txt['cannot_report_affiliates'] = 'You cannot report Affiliates';
to you modifactions.english.php
http://samods.github.io/SAChatBar/

Xbox Live: smokerthecheese 360 or xbone
My Work
Piano Movers / Delivery service
Quote
My allies are dead.
I'm 'bout to be too.
Zombies are chasing me.
F*** it, I'm screwed -___-

Offline Eclipse16V

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,070
  • Gender: Male
  • Tornado Map
    • Eclipse16V on Facebook
    • @Eclipse16V on Twitter
    • Tornado Map
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #583 on: November 20, 2011, 03:20:52 AM »
OK

Thank i will test it few days.
I worked with:
SMF 2 in German

My Shop:
Das Lieschen

Offline Draffi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 268
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #584 on: February 15, 2012, 07:18:07 PM »
Great Mod. Workks like a charm...

Install without any problems.

But i have a question:

It is possible to show a partner banner with a little code inside? something like this:

Code: [Select]
<script type="text/javascript">
document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="http://anexampleadress.com/servlet/view/banner/javascript/zone?zid=10323&pid=21432&random='+Math.floor(89999999*Math.random()+10000000)+'&millis='+new Date().getTime()+'&referrer='+encodeURIComponent(document.location)+'" type="text/javascript"></scr'+'ipt>');
</script>

(yes, this is the partner-banner-url !!!)

Offline Bob Perry of Web Presence Consulting

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,024
  • Gender: Male
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • Bobert921 on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/bperry921/ on LinkedIn
    • @bperry921 on Twitter
    • Web Presence Consulting
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #585 on: August 02, 2012, 12:56:46 AM »
A note to loyal mod users, I've discovered a win-win, multipurpose, SEO friendly, & painless hack to make the pagerank display function properly for this module, just pop in to my website for a demonstration & pm me and I will direct you on the procedure to either set up on your own picture showing in the icon display which may take you a little while to do, or if you don't mind my IBOtoolbox account showing there instead for simple swap out of the affiliate.template.php file (after you rename the live one you are currently using of course) in your default theme directory, you could just swap mine for yours for an instant result (this method should work perfectly for all IF you have not made any previous custom coding changes to this particular file), just let me know which way you want it, the long way you do have to sign up for another (free) service, but it's well worth the effort, trust me.
Best Regards,
Bob Perry



"The world is moving so fast these days that the man who says it can't be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it." Elbert Hubbard

Offline isl30fvi3w

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 58
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #586 on: August 12, 2012, 02:20:39 PM »
Page Rank image is not working?
DOWNGRADE your SMF 2.0 Forum to SMF 1.1.x!

http://talk.ph/index.php?topic=3430.msg68168#new

Offline Bob Perry of Web Presence Consulting

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,024
  • Gender: Male
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • Bobert921 on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/bperry921/ on LinkedIn
    • @bperry921 on Twitter
    • Web Presence Consulting
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #587 on: November 24, 2012, 07:31:35 PM »
Page Rank image is not working?

Yes, in its default install, the pagerank image will most likely not function properly (unless you know something I don't?)
Best Regards,
Bob Perry



"The world is moving so fast these days that the man who says it can't be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it." Elbert Hubbard

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,309
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #588 on: November 24, 2012, 09:15:31 PM »
do you mean the thumbs up and thumbs down?   They work just fine for me with no additional edits.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Bob Perry of Web Presence Consulting

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,024
  • Gender: Male
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • Bobert921 on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/bperry921/ on LinkedIn
    • @bperry921 on Twitter
    • Web Presence Consulting
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #589 on: November 24, 2012, 11:40:19 PM »
do you mean the thumbs up and thumbs down?   They work just fine for me with no additional edits.

Visit my site and look at the page listing under "Recommended Sites" menu option, it will be the icon displayed all the way to the right side of the entries, my rating thumbs work fine too...
Best Regards,
Bob Perry



"The world is moving so fast these days that the man who says it can't be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it." Elbert Hubbard

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,309
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #590 on: November 25, 2012, 08:54:03 AM »
I still have no idea what you mean by "page rank image" - to me the icon on the far right looks like a user's avatar....
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Bob Perry of Web Presence Consulting

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,024
  • Gender: Male
  • (T)ogether (E)veryone (A)chieves (M)ore
    • Bobert921 on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/bperry921/ on LinkedIn
    • @bperry921 on Twitter
    • Web Presence Consulting
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #591 on: November 25, 2012, 11:14:42 PM »
I still have no idea what you mean by "page rank image" - to me the icon on the far right looks like a user's avatar....


I still have no idea what you mean by "page rank image" - to me the icon on the far right looks like a user's avatar....


Trust me, it's a Google pagerank icon,  some support specialist you are if you can't distinguish the difference...
Best Regards,
Bob Perry



"The world is moving so fast these days that the man who says it can't be done is generally interrupted by someone doing it." Elbert Hubbard

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,309
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #592 on: November 26, 2012, 12:05:35 AM »
ummm....   wow. rude much?

Looks like an avatar to me, with some silly person's headshot...


yup...   looking at the url, it is not generated by or from google.
In other words... you have made an image which fills in a supposed page rank, but is your own image.

So you will excuse me if I had a hard time understanding that some tiny text with your headshot was what you were referring to as a page rank icon... for one thing, it's not an icon, it's a banner
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline butchs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,733
  • Lost 7GB bandwidth!
    • EastCoastRollingThunder
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #593 on: December 02, 2012, 07:59:50 PM »
Can I get one too?  I am not greedy I will take a page rank of three?   :)
I have been truly inspired by the SUGGESTIONS as I sit on my throne and contemplate the wisdom imposed upon me.

Offline Howard43Willard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #594 on: December 03, 2012, 03:05:34 AM »
Ok, I'm an idiot. I didn't see the enable up marquee. Hahahaha




Offline johnpaul2k2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 738
  • Gender: Male
  • Okija amaka
    • Mgbenka
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #595 on: December 03, 2012, 05:11:55 AM »
getting notice that this mod is outdated???
where exactly will all the affiliate links appear, can i create a page for it???

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,309
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #596 on: December 03, 2012, 09:04:30 AM »
more specifically, the mod is no longer officially supported by its author.
it works fine with 2.0.2.

the affiliate link is added to the main menu through the use of the code-hooks...  you don't need to create a page for it, action=affiliates is a page for it..
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline johnpaul2k2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 738
  • Gender: Male
  • Okija amaka
    • Mgbenka
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #597 on: December 03, 2012, 12:11:42 PM »
it is working thanks . now i think i will use this as an alternative to SHOP MOD :P
but i still have 2 questions

1. i will like to make the Affiliate Main menu Link to be somehow Big and move it to where people can see it easily??
2. with the way i am seeing the "add affiliate" . it's like people can add theirs , then wait for you to approve right??

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 59,309
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #598 on: December 03, 2012, 12:44:35 PM »
in order to move the affiliate menu link, you would have to adjust the hook code in Sources/Affiliates.php to target a different insertion point.

Yes, assuming you have the permissions set up correctly, people will be able to add affiliate links and then you can approve them to make them display in the list.

(although I do not quite understand how this could be an alternative for a shop mod.... this is completely different from the shop mod)
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline johnpaul2k2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 738
  • Gender: Male
  • Okija amaka
    • Mgbenka
Re: SA affiliates
« Reply #599 on: December 03, 2012, 02:04:08 PM »
well, maybe because i cannot afford the shop mod from smfhack anyway :P
please help me with the full code to search for it on Sources/Affiliates.php because there are so many "affiliates" words there. in order not to mistake, help me with the hook code i must.

also do i need to move around in the same "Sources/Affiliates.php" so to place it in the position i like ??? if not, please tell me the place that will enable me to move where i prefer. thanks