How to add blocks in front page (index)?

Started by CityMonster, December 06, 2008, 06:11:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CityMonster

I know this must be a dumb question (newbie for SMF - Joomla expert) but how do I add block in the left and right of the index page?? I just installed my SMF and I'm having a bit of problem achieving this. The default installation only has the forum but no block on the left and right of the site. Can anyone help?

H

Welcome to SMF.
So you're using SMF with Joomla or with an SMF portal system?
-H
Former Support Team Lead
                              I recommend:
Namecheap (domains)
Fastmail (e-mail)
Linode (VPS)

CityMonster

Just the SMF forum (no joomla). I have never worked with any forum before. I have the latest version.

I want it to look like http://demo.dzinerstudio.com/ [nofollow]

Also, I'm missing the word "forum" (the empty space is there) from the user menu (strange). Is this something in the admin or I need to fix? If I need to fix is ok, I can hack it but I don't want to do it if it something that could be done in the admin section.

H

The blocks aren't a default feature of SMF. You'll need to use either Tinyportal or Simpleportal. You may also need some minor manual changes to your theme :)
-H
Former Support Team Lead
                              I recommend:
Namecheap (domains)
Fastmail (e-mail)
Linode (VPS)

CityMonster

Thanks for your quick answer:

Ok, cool. Umm, this tiny portal is a mod or plugin? Is it easy to install?

Hope I can be of service for you if you need template or Joomla help :)

jossanaijr

Hi,
I suggest you to use ezPortal or SimplePortal.
TinyPortal is not an official mod of SMF anymore and not so easy to install.

CityMonster

Can't seem to find the installation instructions for SimplePortal anywhere can you link me to it?

jossanaijr

But basically:
#1 Download the mod to your PC (zip file)
#2 Do not unzip it!
#3 Go to your admin section in your forum