Advertisement:

Author Topic: Changing Display Names  (Read 2148 times)

Offline Nicodemis

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Changing Display Names
« on: December 16, 2008, 12:11:33 AM »
I am the admin of my site and was logged in as such, I ran into a problem when changing my own display name.

The first change is fine, but you cannot switch it back to any previous display name. I can understand this for a regular member , but seems an admin should be able to do it.

Also I would think an admin could create more then 1 account from the same email address.

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: Changing Display Names
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2008, 05:41:41 AM »
As far as I know there's no restrictions on display names so long as 1.) The name is not already taken by another member -- excluding yourself -- and 2.)  The name is not on the admin's "banned names" list.

email addresses must be unique.  They are also accepted as login credentials and also used for notifications.  Having duplicate email addresses would likely cause errors.
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline Nicodemis

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Changing Display Names
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2008, 09:51:24 PM »
That is the glitch I was getting.. if I changed my display name I could not go back to the previous name.. it is staying in the array and seen as a taken name, even though no one is currently using it.

Offline Nicodemis

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Changing Display Names
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2008, 12:11:28 AM »
I cannot find where this info is stored in the MySQL database. Can someone point me to where the display names are stored. If I do find it should I be able to edit the databse directly? never done so before so was just curious if I can fix this issue this way.

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: Changing Display Names
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2008, 12:14:06 AM »
check first in case it is already being used. if not, then the display name if i remember right is the real_name field in the members table.
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline Nicodemis

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Changing Display Names
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2008, 12:21:47 AM »
the name is not being used.. in this case I was just playing around to see which way I like the display name better..

switched from woeisme to Woe is me, it made that switch fine, but now I want to go back and it will not let me. no one else is using the name.. I double checked, there are only a handful of members. It is stored under real_name, it list the current name Woe is me, I do not see woe is me anywhere in the database, yet it still will not let me switch back..any ideas where it is storing it.. it is finding it somewhere.


changed it directly in the database and reverted back to old name, but should have been able to do it in the forum.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2008, 12:26:11 AM by Nicodemis »

Offline greyknight17

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 14,890
  • Gender: Male
    • Kevin's Resource Center
Re: Changing Display Names
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2009, 12:22:10 AM »
Something is blocking you from changing that. I just tested it and don't have any issues changing the names around and then back to the original. I also tried woe is me and woeisme without any problems. This is on SMF 2.0 beta 4.