News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

SEO And URLS

Started by glennk, February 03, 2009, 02:57:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

glennk

What is the best practice for urls with regard to SEO ?

Is SMF standard Urls best or is it best to use a modification like pretty urls.

Also as a long term user of pretty urls, would it be bad news for my forum to move back to the standard urls.

Kermit

I'm not a SEO expert,but i'd say pretty urls more appropriate for optimizing the urls

Quote from: glennk on February 03, 2009, 02:57:40 PM

Also as a long term user of pretty urls, would it be bad news for my forum to move back to the standard urls.

Yes it would be bad news,your old index on google will/should be reindexed due to changing url behaviour
My Mods
Please don't PM/mail me for support,unless i invite you
Formerly known as Duncan85
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."

A. Einstein

karlbenson

According to google, its better to use dynamic urls for dynamic software like smf.

The ONLY possible benefit is when users give you a backlink without a title, where the keywords in the url MIGHT help.
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com">http://www.yoursite.com/</a>

So I suppose it comes down to whether you find pretty urls pretty or unpretty. Chose which you prefer.

As for changing them, there will be a negative seo impact in changing to ANY form of urls.
This is because it takes search engines a while to dump all of the old style urls out of its index, and replacing with the new type.
It is important where possible to redirect old versions of urls to new versions (best using .htaccess)

FidelGonzales