Advertisement:

Author Topic: The ionCube PHP Accelerator  (Read 21216 times)

Offline 127.0.0.1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 265
  • Gender: Male
The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« on: August 29, 2004, 09:10:40 AM »
What do you guys think of this? http://www.php-accelerator.co.uk/

My host is using Turck MMCache Php Accelerator. What does this site use if any?
« Last Edit: August 29, 2004, 09:14:05 AM by 127.0.0.1 »

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2004, 05:25:41 PM »
MMCache is used here.

-[Unknown]

Offline FaSan

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,053
  • Gender: Male
  • http://www.smitaly.net
    • SMitaly - Supporto a SMF
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2005, 10:03:07 AM »
MMCache is used here.

-[Unknown]


You have configuration it with "suexec" ?

At me, it is don't work...


"Turck MMCache 2.4.6 is not active! It doesn't work in CGI or command line mode! "



FaSan

jaws

  • Guest
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2005, 04:17:21 PM »
This is the first time I have ever heard of a PHP accelerator before; I find this a bit sad, because I've been running a server for a while - you would think I would have heard of such a thing before. :-\

My server isn't using any accelerators for PHP; are accelerators only necessary if we experience slow speeds on large scripts, or is it good for all purposes?

Just curious. . .

FaSan: Aren't CGI and CLI the only modes that PHP will work in?  I think there is one other mode, actually, but I can't remember its name.

Offline Trekkie101

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,157
  • Gender: Male
  • Ad Astra!
    • https://www.facebook.com/DLRPRoundup on Facebook
    • @dlrproundup on Twitter
    • DLRP Roundup
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2005, 04:27:20 PM »
This is the first time I have ever heard of a PHP accelerator before; I find this a bit sad, because I've been running a server for a while - you would think I would have heard of such a thing before. :-\

My server isn't using any accelerators for PHP; are accelerators only necessary if we experience slow speeds on large scripts, or is it good for all purposes?

Just curious. . .

FaSan: Aren't CGI and CLI the only modes that PHP will work in? I think there is one other mode, actually, but I can't remember its name.

You dont use Zend? etc......

wow

Its good all round, speeds a few things up

jaws

  • Guest
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2005, 04:44:45 PM »
This is the first time I have ever heard of a PHP accelerator before; I find this a bit sad, because I've been running a server for a while - you would think I would have heard of such a thing before. :-\

My server isn't using any accelerators for PHP; are accelerators only necessary if we experience slow speeds on large scripts, or is it good for all purposes?

Just curious. . .

FaSan: Aren't CGI and CLI the only modes that PHP will work in? I think there is one other mode, actually, but I can't remember its name.

You dont use Zend? etc......

wow

Its good all round, speeds a few things up

Oh yeah, I forgot all about Zend; of course I use zend... :P

Heh, sorry.  *Hits self in head*...
« Last Edit: February 27, 2005, 04:46:40 PM by jaws »

Offline FaSan

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,053
  • Gender: Male
  • http://www.smitaly.net
    • SMitaly - Supporto a SMF
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2005, 06:28:27 PM »
MMCache is a AddOn for Zend ;)

And, without suExec is very very fast.  ;)

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2005, 07:25:48 PM »
You have configuration it with "suexec" ?

At me, it is don't work...

Accelerators don't work in CGI mode.  If you really need CGI mode, you might have to get one of Zend's performance products ($300+) - instead I suggest using sapi.

Quote
"Turck MMCache 2.4.6 is not active! It doesn't work in CGI or command line mode! "

Of course it doesn't, it uses shared memory, etc... it doesn't make sense otherwise.  If you want active development, there is eAccelerator.

Accelerators have been known to boost performance by 10x and reduce load by the same factor.  Use them.

-[Unknown]

Offline Anguz

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,430
  • Gender: Male
    • cristianlavaque.com
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2005, 06:32:46 PM »
Is FastCGI an accelerator? Cause I've read about it being used used together with eAccelerator and is supposedly really fast. Also, it makes me think that eAccelerator can be used with PHP in CGI, or am I guessing wrong?
Cristián Lávaque http://cristianlavaque.com

Offline [Unknown]

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 36,102
  • Gender: Male
Re: The ionCube PHP Accelerator
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2005, 06:44:25 PM »
Is FastCGI an accelerator? Cause I've read about it being used used together with eAccelerator and is supposedly really fast. Also, it makes me think that eAccelerator can be used with PHP in CGI, or am I guessing wrong?

FastCGI is another implementation of CGI, as far as I know.  I actually don't know all that much about FastCGI, but it's only an alternative to sapi.

-[Unknown]