News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

2 Questions re: Subforums; Django

Started by vada, April 24, 2009, 04:46:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vada

Hi there. Complete and utter newbie here. I haven't even installed SMF yet. Plus I'm not sure where to post my question, so I post it here.

So what am I doing here? I found you while searching for a forum application over at hxxp:www.forummatrix.org/index.php [nonactive] and you looked like the most promising.

So I visited your website and got increasingly impressed the more I looked around. Your Core Values http://www.simplemachines.org/about/values.php determined me -- this is just the kind of community I want to be a part of. Now I just hope this application fits my needs.

I have two questions.

1) I need a forum architecture for a movie website modeled along the lines of hxxp:imdb.com [nonactive] wherein each movie has its own forum in addition to a general forum for the website. Your child forums seemed promising to me for such a thing. Is this something SMF can do out of the box, or with some relatively straitforward coding?

2) My website is being developed using the django framework. When I saw all your external integration capabilities I got excited, but I didn't find any for django. Is this something that can be done (again, relatively straitforwardly)? I'm an experienced programmer/developer, but not with web technology.

Before I go to the trouble of installing and setting up SMF I thought I'd ask these questions.

And, just so you know, if I end up not using SMF, I have tremendous respect for what you're doing and the community you've got going here. You're a great model for how people should treat each other online.

Thank you,

Vada Malbro

Fustrate