Advertisement:

Author Topic: Stack Overflow at line: 9  (Read 12860 times)

Offline Study Force

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,607
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Stack Overflow at line: 9
« on: May 15, 2011, 01:13:57 PM »
Some members are saying that they're getting the error Stack Overflow at line: 9; what could this be coming from?

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 50,830
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 01:58:31 PM »
stack overflow at line 9 of what file? a bit more information would help us to be able to tell you what may be going on.

Offline Study Force

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,607
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2011, 02:31:45 PM »
Have no idea, it was reported by a member :-\

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 50,830
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2011, 02:36:51 PM »
can you get some more details from that member?

Offline Study Force

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,607
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2011, 03:14:49 PM »
Trying to, but hopefully someone else has seen this before.

Offline YogiBear

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,936
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2011, 04:31:37 AM »
Stack Overflow occurs when something is trying to do too much in any given area of memory at any given time. Put it anoher way the call stack in the local machine cannot handle the amount of data coming in. My first thought is to contact your host as the fault could be in the RAM their end but if it is affecting only one member the likelihood is the problem is on his/her machine.

The solution is usually to clear all browsing history and cookies, then run a cleaner (CCleaner and Eusing as very good and both free) then flush the resolver cache ...

Start > Run > type cmd in the box : this opens a command line (DOS) screen

At the prompt type   ipconfig /release

ipconfig /flushdns

ipconfig /renew

exit (which closes the box)

Let us know what happens :)
« Last Edit: May 16, 2011, 04:37:29 AM by YogiBear »
SMF v2.0.15  Mods : Ohara YouTube Embed v1.2.9,  Custom Tab v1.2 , Bakers' Dozen Pages v1.2 , SMFPacks Shoutbox v1.1,  Board Color & Icons v1.1 , Simple Image Upload , Snow & Garland v1.4

Offline Study Force

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,607
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2011, 11:54:44 AM »
I told the member the same thing, thanks for sharing your knowledge.

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 18,270
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • There's No Place Like 127.0.0.1
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2011, 12:33:01 AM »
Most common cause for this AFAIK, would be a javascript that IE can't handle properly (I've mostly seen this error in IE). Can happen at times without real problems in the code, but if it happens all the time, then something is probably off somewhere.
A Finnish Support Specialist
 Happily running multiple SMF 2.0 installations.

How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
 Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline Study Force

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,607
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2011, 01:27:44 AM »
Most common cause for this AFAIK, would be a javascript that IE can't handle properly (I've mostly seen this error in IE). Can happen at times without real problems in the code, but if it happens all the time, then something is probably off somewhere.

I found out it was caused by a javascript installed  by the facebook connect mod.

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 18,270
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • There's No Place Like 127.0.0.1
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2011, 01:28:51 AM »
Good :) We can mark this solved then?
A Finnish Support Specialist
 Happily running multiple SMF 2.0 installations.

How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
 Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline Study Force

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,607
    • StudyForcePS on Facebook
    • @studyforceps on Twitter
Re: Stack Overflow at line: 9
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2011, 01:48:18 AM »