Advertisement:

Author Topic: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?  (Read 7152 times)

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« on: August 25, 2009, 01:08:15 AM »
Hello, I currently have tons and tons of icons, and I am not sure how to use this mod on Black Rain V.2 Custom Theme. I currently on have 1 mod installed called PortaMX, but Need assistance in how to use this CBI Mod...
I read the parse code thing, but Black Rain V.2 has none of those files, so then I checked my other themes, but they are the same, I am not sure how to use it now, so please someone help me out.  :'(
Thanks in Advanced;
REDSEW  O:)

Offline JBlaze

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,160
  • Gender: Male
    • @fragicide on Twitter
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2009, 01:32:57 AM »
Manual Installation of Mods

Also, try moving any images that are in the mod to the theme's /images directory.

Also, when a theme's template files don't exist, they fall back on the default templates. In other words, if your theme does not have a BoardIndex.template.php, it will fall back on the default BoardIndex.template.php so no manual editing is needed unless it fails on install.
Jason Clemons
Former Lead Customizer/Support Specialist
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2009, 01:41:50 AM »
Wow, Thanks, that means that all I have to edit is the language files. Thanks JBlaze, Ill test this out and tell you...

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2009, 01:43:53 AM »
Umm, I checked the parse for the mod, and it came up to this: Modification.english and I only have Index.php and Settings.English.php, should I post it in the settings???

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2009, 01:45:33 AM »
I added $txt['no_icon'] = 'No icon set'; and there seems to be no change in anything, Ill install the mod and test it and let you know...

Offline JBlaze

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,160
  • Gender: Male
    • @fragicide on Twitter
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2009, 01:45:49 AM »
Nope, all language strings are also taken from the default theme.

The only thing that is used in conjunction with the custom theme are the ones that come with the theme, including images. Anything else that is not included with the custom theme falls back on the default theme.
Jason Clemons
Former Lead Customizer/Support Specialist
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2009, 01:54:14 AM »
I tried every single method, .gif, .png, .jpg, and I got the folders right: /images/icons/1/ong.png
Im not sure whats wrong... Is it that the possibility is that I renamed my theme???

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2009, 02:02:17 AM »
I changed the name back, but it still doesnt work...
I even put the images in every theme I used incase, but still get that big red X mark.
Im not sure what im doing wrong...

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2009, 02:10:44 AM »
Cant the SMF team just setup something like what PHPbb does?
When you make a board, you can add the link to the image you want for that board icon to be, and if you leave it blank, the image would be the Theme's icon. How about that feature? I am currently lost so yeah... Best way to get noobs attention...

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2009, 02:21:01 AM »
First: Please use the mods support topic, which can be found by clicking on the support and comments button on the mods page. People may have the same question as you and they go to that topic to find it. It makes it hard if answers are spread everywhere :(.

Second: Please link to the mod so we could help you faster. Sometimes there's several mods with the same name or function and we don't always know. For the record I assume you mean this mod: http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=511

The description says: This mod was packaged from some code found here on simplemachines.org What this mod does is give you the ability to change the default board icons to custom ones just by uploading a new .gif file named on_##.gif, on2_##.gif and off_##.gif to the images directory of the default theme.

The readme says:
Quote
Create icons folder in to your /Themes/default/.
In the icons folder create folder which name is the boards id,(meaning only the
number of the board) where you want custom board icon.
Then put on.gif, on2.gif and off.gif in that folder.

Structure:
forum/Themes/default/icons
forum/Themes/default/icons/board_id/on.gif
forum/Themes/default/icons/board_id/on2.gif
forum/Themes/default/icons/board_id/off.gif

(Where "board_id" is the id number of the board you want the icon to show up for. So for example for your first board on your forum it would look like this:

forum/Themes/default/icons/1/on.gif

)


If you're using a different theme, change the "default" folder for that themes folder :).
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2009, 02:29:01 AM »
I know what to do, I tried the readme as I am using the latest, and it doesnt work... Ill try the description... But in the description it also says: But if you use the latest file, it only picks up .png files...

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2009, 02:32:11 AM »
It still doesnt ring any bells... Tried what you posted... No answer... Just "X No Icon Set"

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2009, 02:33:33 AM »
If you're using a different theme, change the "default" folder for that themes folder :).

Are those images in all themes?

Not just /default/, but /black_rain/ or what ever as well?
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2009, 02:36:23 AM »
Yes they are...

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2009, 02:38:23 AM »
Do you know what your board ID's are? Can you tell me the ID of the board this topic is in? SMF 2.x Support?
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2009, 02:39:56 AM »
ID is 147... I know... I added the folder 1, but still doesnt work...

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2009, 02:42:47 AM »
Do you have an on.gif, an off.gif, and an on2.gif in there?
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2009, 02:43:43 AM »
I have gifs jpgs and pngs...

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2009, 02:44:54 AM »
Can you give me a screenshot please, including the directory structure in it? (you can erase/black out anything you dont want seen with something like Paint :))
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2009, 02:46:03 AM »
Please wait...

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2009, 02:52:46 AM »
Sorry, I dont know any computer screen recorders or anything and cant find my camera...

I will tell you...

Public_HTML>blackrainv220rc1>images>icons>1
Then I have:
on.png, on2.png, and off.png

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #21 on: August 25, 2009, 02:56:57 AM »
You need to have the black rain folder in your Themes folder lol...
Screenshot: There should be a print screen (prt scr) button somewhere - that should work, then press crt + v in paint to paste it :). If you're still having trouble, I used to use this on my old PC because it didnt have the capability (and I know others who have that issue so I saved it): http://www.box.net/shared/ko1b64gak8 You just open it and click the "take picture" button :).


If no one else can help you tonight, I'll be back tomorrow. I really need to head to bed - I'm tired and sick :P.

Please check:
-It has no enable/disable buttons in admin that may have been missed.
-It works on the Core (SMF default) theme.
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #22 on: August 25, 2009, 03:16:56 AM »
Added them to a zip file in the attachments...
Thanks for that file... Needed it to do this, lol  :P
Anyway... I use a file manager...

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #23 on: August 25, 2009, 03:18:51 AM »
Hmmm... It doesnt work in the Defualt theme...

Offline Norv

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 18,313
  • Blue Wolf
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #24 on: August 25, 2009, 05:19:25 AM »

The description says: This mod was packaged from some code found here on simplemachines.org What this mod does is give you the ability to change the default board icons to custom ones just by uploading a new .gif file named on_##.gif, on2_##.gif and off_##.gif to the images directory of the default theme.

The readme says:
Quote
Create icons folder in to your /Themes/default/.
In the icons folder create folder which name is the boards id,(meaning only the
number of the board) where you want custom board icon.
Then put on.gif, on2.gif and off.gif in that folder.

Structure:
forum/Themes/default/icons
forum/Themes/default/icons/board_id/on.gif
forum/Themes/default/icons/board_id/on2.gif
forum/Themes/default/icons/board_id/off.gif

(Where "board_id" is the id number of the board you want the icon to show up for. So for example for your first board on your forum it would look like this:

forum/Themes/default/icons/1/on.gif

)


If you're using a different theme, change the "default" folder for that themes folder :).

Please check again the readme as linked by Jade: you didn't create the folder where it says, nor with the name it says.
The paths start with:
forum/Themes/default/icons/1
For the custom theme, replace in the instructions above "default" with the name of the custom theme folder. It's in the ./Themes folder. Not outside it.
Note above: create a folder icons in forum/Themes/default, instead of using the one in images.
Also: create a folder named 1, not 1.0.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2009, 05:28:52 AM by Norv »
To-do lists are for deferral. The more things you write down the later they're doneā€¦ until you have 100s of lists of things you don't do.
File a security report | Developers' Blog | Bug Tracker

Also known as Norv on D* | Norv N. on G+ | Norv on Github

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #25 on: August 25, 2009, 04:25:59 PM »
Try what Norv said :).
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #26 on: August 25, 2009, 10:00:48 PM »
My bad... I forgot to add the themes folder. I have it in the themes folder...
And it still doesnt work... And I never named my folder 1.0 i just named it 1.

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #27 on: August 25, 2009, 10:09:56 PM »
Well the screenshots you sent tell a different story :).
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #28 on: August 25, 2009, 11:13:24 PM »
Man...
Here, I posted but I double clicked and the file was to big so I had to upload it on my photobucket...

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #29 on: August 25, 2009, 11:17:05 PM »
Yeah, now go into the black rain AND default directory and show us that :).
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #30 on: August 25, 2009, 11:21:25 PM »
I just edited it from the other images... check that area in all the images, it would give you steps on it...

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #31 on: August 26, 2009, 12:36:57 AM »
You really need to pay attention to the readme. Here's a screenshot.
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #32 on: August 26, 2009, 12:41:25 AM »
Oh thanks jade, now I understand... I thought it had to do with the images in the forum theme..
Im going to test this out, i miss understood. LOL.

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #33 on: August 26, 2009, 12:44:32 AM »
Ummm... Im not sure whats going on, but it still doesnt work, I tried hard refreshing my page but still nothing changed...

Offline REDSEW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #34 on: August 26, 2009, 01:03:28 AM »
I got it working!!
The problem was the .gif doesnt work, it only works with .png... someone has to update thier description lol. :P
Thanks guys. :D

Offline Jade Elizabeth

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 12,652
  • Gender: Female
  • Keep your enemies close and your friends closer ;)
    • jadetrainor on LinkedIn
    • @alundra on Twitter
    • Jades-World
Re: How do I use CBI MOD for Black Rain V.2?
« Reply #35 on: August 26, 2009, 02:13:46 AM »
No worries, glad you got it sorted :D.
Once proud Documentation Writer and Help Squad Leader | Check out my new adult coloring career: Color With Jade/Patreon.