Advertisement:

Author Topic: Installing SMF with vBulletin  (Read 11596 times)

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Installing SMF with vBulletin
« on: August 28, 2009, 04:08:10 PM »
Hi,
My license for vB ended, so I had to delete it from my website, I still have the database.
Can I install SMF without vB installed? If so, how?
Excuse me for asking strange questions, I'm new here. Be kind on me.  :)

babjusi

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2009, 05:02:00 PM »
Hi,
My license for vB ended, so I had to delete it from my website, I still have the database.
Can I install SMF without vB installed? If so, how?
Excuse me for asking strange questions, I'm new here. Be kind on me.  :)

Welcome to Smf. Yes, you can convert to Smf provided you have a copy of your vb forum''s database. For more info on the subject, please have a look here.

http://docs.simplemachines.org/index.php?board=4.0;sort=subject

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2009, 05:10:49 PM »
But that's only when you have other software installed?

Also, when I try to install SMF, I get 'Access denied for user 'xxx'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
Changed xxx for security reasons.

I am sure the password and username are correct, because I can log in PHPmyadmin with them, and see the vB database.
I'm getting really confused and stressed  :(

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2009, 03:25:11 AM »
our converter needs a file for accessing the database.
this post should help you:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=262571.msg1976367#msg1976367

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2009, 06:13:37 AM »
Sorry to bother you, but can you tell me what to do step by step? Because I hear and see alot of different things, and I don't really know what to do anymore.  :-X

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2009, 07:04:28 AM »
Which version from vBulletin was previously installed? I can modify the converter for database only conversion but need to know your vBulletin version first.

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2009, 07:06:39 AM »
I was using 3.8.2

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2009, 03:20:28 PM »
ok, attached is a modified version from vbulletin37_to_smf.sql (should also work with vBulletin 3.8.x).

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2009, 04:09:53 PM »
Okay, so step by step, what do I do? I've uplaoded SMF already.
What files do I put, and where?

Also, when I try to install SMF, it says my sql user is denied, im using the correct pass.

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2009, 01:59:27 AM »
Also, when I try to install SMF, it says my sql user is denied, im using the correct pass.
is the name of the database right? (you can specify the name during installation).
Installing SMF
Converting to SMF

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2009, 10:44:11 AM »
Can't still seem to do it, I upload SMF, upload the converter and the SQL file, and then run the cover.php.

I am sure I select the right pass and username, because I can see the vB files in the PHPmyadmin.

Code: [Select]
The database password you entered was incorrect. Please make sure you are using the right password (for the SMF user!) and try it again. If in doubt, use the password from Settings.php in the SMF installation. is what I get

When I try to install SMF, I get this:
Code: [Select]
Cannot connect to the MySQL database server with the supplied data.

If you are not sure about what to type in, please contact your host.
Access denied for user 'xxx'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2009, 12:42:13 PM »
Are you sure the database name was right? You can see the name from your database in phpMyAdmin too (on the left side).

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2009, 01:42:59 PM »
That's the name with (number) behind it, right?
If so, then yes.

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2009, 01:53:08 PM »
see screenshot, my example database name is "smfdev"..

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2009, 09:00:35 AM »
Dunno, mine looks different

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2009, 02:28:34 PM »
the name of your database is "md126355db79323"..

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2009, 02:30:00 PM »
That's the one I used.

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #17 on: September 03, 2009, 11:38:18 AM »
have you installed SMF in the same database? or do you got the "access denied" error during installation?

Offline Bose321

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Team iDrift
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2009, 01:14:24 PM »
I'm getting it during the installation.

ThorstenE

  • Guest
Re: Installing SMF with vBulletin
« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2009, 02:21:10 PM »
Sorry, but I don't know how to solve this issue .. I believe you should contact your host.