Advertisement:

Author Topic: Tidy Child Boards  (Read 137908 times)

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 73,189
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #160 on: March 20, 2010, 06:17:58 PM »
As I think it was mentioned in this thread, there's a conflict between this and the RSS mod. I haven't looked, but hopefully the mod's new maintainer can take a proper look for you.
No good deed goes unpunished
All helpful urges should be circumvented

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,669
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • Support me on Ko-fi
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #161 on: March 22, 2010, 04:51:40 AM »
Please add russian translation

Offline GohighVoltage

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 359
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #162 on: March 22, 2010, 09:12:04 AM »
My problem was due to the Twitter/Facebook mod.  I emailed them to fix.

Offline Robbo_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 501
  • Gender: Male
  • Simple Portal Customizer
    • ClanSpace
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #163 on: March 25, 2010, 01:03:49 PM »
I am now the maintainer of this mod (just a FYI).

I think it would work better if you could select how to present the child boards for each board. As in the settings would be moved from looks and layout and into the edit board area. So you could have one board using 2 columns, one using the default method and one with 3....

What do you think?
Aus-Newerth

Quote from: IRC
Roph> I just finished a double 1/2lb cheese, bacon & salad beef burger
Roph> no woman on earth could satisfy me as much as I am satisfied right now by this burger
... later on ...
Roph> how could ensie go about satisfying me =o
<Ensiferous> Roph: Merely looking at me would yield far more pleasure than a burger can provide.

Offline GazOutEast

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Gender: Male
  • If it's fixed - I can break it
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #164 on: March 26, 2010, 12:07:26 AM »
I am now the maintainer of this mod (just a FYI).

I think it would work better if you could select how to present the child boards for each board. As in the settings would be moved from looks and layout and into the edit board area. So you could have one board using 2 columns, one using the default method and one with 3....

What do you think?

Hi Robbo

Not sure I'd agree with your variable settings or making it on a per board basis - that could hammer resources on big sites with many hundreds of boards - it'd need a SQL query for each board to grab the settings, and SMF is already fairly resource heavy (with each extra mod demanding more).

Following this thread for a long time, the main requirement seems to be to have admin panel options for formatting the child board link appearances - Arantor already supplied one to make them bold, but other options such as underline etc keep coming up as requests.

Good luck with it (I like it just the way it is)

Gaz
I have 20:20 vision - I can see anything bigger than 20" x 20"

Offline Robbo_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 501
  • Gender: Male
  • Simple Portal Customizer
    • ClanSpace
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #165 on: March 26, 2010, 01:58:21 AM »
There would be no noticeable resource hit as I would add columns to the boards table and just add to the query. I would also have the current options stay where they are and used as the defaults for all boards. I don't know if it would be for the best, hence discussing :)
Aus-Newerth

Quote from: IRC
Roph> I just finished a double 1/2lb cheese, bacon & salad beef burger
Roph> no woman on earth could satisfy me as much as I am satisfied right now by this burger
... later on ...
Roph> how could ensie go about satisfying me =o
<Ensiferous> Roph: Merely looking at me would yield far more pleasure than a burger can provide.

Offline GohighVoltage

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 359
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #166 on: March 26, 2010, 09:16:18 AM »
I like the mod just the way it is.  It is great.

Offline Harry33

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 180
    • Appii Forum - the World's discussion Forum
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #167 on: March 26, 2010, 10:36:49 AM »
Hi thanks to the creator of this mod.  I tried installing the mod in admin package BUT I got this error: at least one error was encountered during a test installation of this package please what should I do to fix this error. I use SMF 2.0 Rc3. Thanks

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 73,189
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #168 on: March 26, 2010, 11:00:29 AM »
Hi thanks to the creator of this mod.  I tried installing the mod in admin package BUT I got this error: at least one error was encountered during a test installation of this package please what should I do to fix this error. I use SMF 2.0 Rc3. Thanks

Means you have a mod already that disagrees with this one.
No good deed goes unpunished
All helpful urges should be circumvented

Offline Robbo_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 501
  • Gender: Male
  • Simple Portal Customizer
    • ClanSpace
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #169 on: March 26, 2010, 11:32:09 AM »
I like the mod just the way it is.  It is great.

Ok nothing will change :)
Aus-Newerth

Quote from: IRC
Roph> I just finished a double 1/2lb cheese, bacon & salad beef burger
Roph> no woman on earth could satisfy me as much as I am satisfied right now by this burger
... later on ...
Roph> how could ensie go about satisfying me =o
<Ensiferous> Roph: Merely looking at me would yield far more pleasure than a burger can provide.

Offline Naota

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #170 on: March 29, 2010, 11:20:04 AM »
I have installed tidy_child_board.
I want to remove the letter "Subforos" (subforum in english):


I want to make:

Without letter "subforos" and y left part. What should I change?

Thx!

Offline tycms

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 88
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #171 on: April 13, 2010, 05:49:10 PM »
Last Modified: March 19, 2010
Latest Version: 1.3

In BoardIndex.template.php and MessageIndex.template.php files for default (curve) and core themes:

Code: [Select]
<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/', ($child['new'] ? 'on' : 'off'), '.png" width="12" height="12" alt="">

Code: [Select]
<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/', ($child['new'] ? 'on' : 'off'), '.gif" width="12" height="12" alt="">

Closing the image tags will eliminate markup validation warnings.

Code: [Select]
<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/', ($child['new'] ? 'on' : 'off'), '.png" width="12" height="12" alt="" />

Code: [Select]
<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/', ($child['new'] ? 'on' : 'off'), '.gif" width="12" height="12" alt="" />

Thanks.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2010, 05:53:34 PM by budun »

Offline technica

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • Technical Discussion Forum
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #172 on: April 16, 2010, 01:53:40 PM »
I have installed the MOD on my smf 1.1.11 forum, also did manual edits to boardindex.template.php file for my custom theme. Also done with settings in "layout & Options" in admin panel, BUT the mod is not working for the forum. I have it to display as 4 column, but there is no change happening on index page.

Help
Programming and Webmaster Forum - AdSense Revenue Sharing Forum
Online Magazine

Offline technica

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • Technical Discussion Forum
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #173 on: April 16, 2010, 02:12:14 PM »
After little bit studying the core, I think the code here:

if(!empty($board['tidy_children']))
{
   $context['tidy_board'] = $board;
   template_tidy_children();
}

in BoardIndex.template.php is not working as the condition if(!empty($board['tidy_children']))   is giving value as 1 and which is true (hope so)


help please.
Programming and Webmaster Forum - AdSense Revenue Sharing Forum
Online Magazine

Offline nickos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Tidy Child Boards not working!
« Reply #174 on: April 17, 2010, 01:28:07 AM »
The Code : http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=2294

I installed it (not manually, just uploaded and installed), and I modified all of the things I am supposed to like how many columns and such and saved my changes, but my child boards still display the stock way. My forum:

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 73,189
Re: Tidy Child Boards not working!
« Reply #175 on: April 17, 2010, 03:51:37 AM »
Moderators: please merge this with the mod's support topic; it isn't a bug in SMF core.
No good deed goes unpunished
All helpful urges should be circumvented

Offline ukhalik2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 458
  • Gender: Male
    • UltraUmair on Facebook
    • @UltraUmair on Twitter
    • Internet Magazine Blog
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #176 on: April 17, 2010, 08:44:11 AM »
how it will work?

I have installed now where to configure?

Offline juliegreen

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • job seekers
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #177 on: April 18, 2010, 10:45:09 AM »
I am now the maintainer of this mod (just a FYI).

I think it would work better if you could select how to present the child boards for each board. As in the settings would be moved from looks and layout and into the edit board area. So you could have one board using 2 columns, one using the default method and one with 3....

What do you think?

Hi Robbo i have too much child boards, is it possible to limit the child boards from being appeared on the homepage of the forum?

thank you

Offline Robbo_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 501
  • Gender: Male
  • Simple Portal Customizer
    • ClanSpace
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #178 on: April 18, 2010, 11:03:19 AM »
Should be easy enough to add an option in the next version.
Aus-Newerth

Quote from: IRC
Roph> I just finished a double 1/2lb cheese, bacon & salad beef burger
Roph> no woman on earth could satisfy me as much as I am satisfied right now by this burger
... later on ...
Roph> how could ensie go about satisfying me =o
<Ensiferous> Roph: Merely looking at me would yield far more pleasure than a burger can provide.

Offline jtoleric

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #179 on: April 21, 2010, 12:55:58 PM »
I have 1.1.11, and I'm trying to have my child boards in one column underneath the parent board...is that possible? I just want the child boards to look the same as the parent, only they are indented under the parent.  I use a different theme, not default. Thanks for your help.