Advertisement:

Author Topic: Tidy Child Boards  (Read 137820 times)

Offline Mari-chi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
  • Gender: Female
  • puddiblast attack!
    • Ad Lucem
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #260 on: January 22, 2011, 05:46:28 PM »
Yay, that worked! I just changed the '100' to '130' because some of the list items were long, and were cut off. :3

You rock my world!! <3

Offline Mari-chi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
  • Gender: Female
  • puddiblast attack!
    • Ad Lucem
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #261 on: January 22, 2011, 10:03:59 PM »
D: I saw the columns were messy in Firefox as soon as I had the chance to look at it. :( I assumed, mistakenly, that the "100" was in pixels, ha. Changed the 130 back to 100 to make the columns neat in FF again! IE can go eat poop. :P

Offline Eyesman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 264
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #262 on: January 23, 2011, 03:11:06 AM »
Hello,

I have an smf v.1.1.12 and I have installed this mod but it doesn't work as it should. My child board remail as they were. I'm using the default theme of smf.

Is there a configuration page?

Thanx.

Offline HunterP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 976
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF 2.0.4
    • Hulpverleningsforum Nederland
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #263 on: February 03, 2011, 12:52:21 AM »
I have an smf v.1.1.12 and I have installed this mod but it doesn't work as it should. My child board remail as they were. I'm using the default theme of smf.

Doesn't work on my 1.1.12 board either. The boardindex got messed up and the messageindex didn't change at all.
No errors on installation...

Offline HunterP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 976
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF 2.0.4
    • Hulpverleningsforum Nederland
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #264 on: February 03, 2011, 08:12:33 AM »

Sorry, not meaning to be impatient, but really can't get it working. First of all the boardindex got messed up. Maybe I needed to make a screenshot, but instead I removed the code for BoardIndex.php and BoardIndex.template.php as I'm only interested in the part which modifies the MessageIndex. That shouldn't cause any problems for the MessageIndex, does it?

The MessageIndex doesn't change at all. I temporarily removed the IF-clauses, just to see if it would make any difference, but it didn't.

SMF 1.1.12
MOD v1.3
FireFox/IE

Link to one of my boards :

http://www.hulpverleningsforum.nl/forum/index.php?board=54.0

We are planning to increase the number of children in this board, that's why  ;)

Offline HunterP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 976
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF 2.0.4
    • Hulpverleningsforum Nederland
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #265 on: February 03, 2011, 01:03:06 PM »
Firstly, you linked to a board, which means MessageIndex.template.php is being used not BoardIndex.template.php.

Correct. I only want the MessageIndex to be altered, not the BoardIndex. So the link I provided should be the correct one?

Secondly, that board is behaving exactly as I would expect it to, seeing that it doesn't relay the normal child boards but child boards only, i.e. the child boards of a parent are altered on the front index, and also the child boards of child boards (i.e. when presented as child boards) in the message index. So I would expect nothing to occur in the message index unless some of THOSE had children - which they don't.

I don't really understand what you're telling here. If I look at this screenshot :



Isn't that the MessageIndex? If so, I can't get my MessageIndex(es) altered like this, whatever setting I try.

Thirdly, it doesn't appear to be turned on from the Features and Options panel, so it's not been told to use anything other than the default. You know, the setting I mentioned in the mod description...

Whether I set it to two, three or four columns, nothing happens  :(

Offline HunterP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 976
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF 2.0.4
    • Hulpverleningsforum Nederland
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #266 on: February 03, 2011, 03:15:04 PM »
Yes, that's the message index. But as demonstrated it will only do anything if the boards shown in the message index have child boards themselves. NONE of your boards in the presented link do so, so it does nothing.

Sorry Arantor, sorry... I must have misunderstood the purpose of this modification.

In the screenshot, New Boards is already a child? So we have, lets say :

Parent -> New Board -> Child 1
Parent -> New Board -> etc

If so, your mod unfortunately is not usefull for me :(

Unless you can provide me modified code which allows me to the same with 'first level' child boards?

Offline HunterP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 976
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF 2.0.4
    • Hulpverleningsforum Nederland
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #267 on: February 05, 2011, 12:51:51 PM »

I've created something similar myself. This exactly fits my needs.

http://www.hulpverleningsforum.nl/forum/index.php?board=6.0

And, in case you're wondering, an odd number of children :

http://www.hulpverleningsforum.nl/forum/index.php?board=4.0

Offline Slateer

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #268 on: February 06, 2011, 10:04:18 PM »
why no shange can 1 column?  :(

Neo_TE

  • Guest
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #269 on: February 16, 2011, 06:49:54 AM »
Also not working with RC4.. :'(
Works properly in RC5. To get this mod to work in SMF 2.0 RC4/RC5 do the following edits in the "package-info.xml" file.

Find :
Code: [Select]
<install for="2.0 RC2, 2.0 RC3">
Replace With :
Code: [Select]
<install for="2.0 RC2, 2.0 RC3, 2.0 RC4, 2.0 RC5">


Find :
Code: [Select]
<uninstall for="2.0 RC2, 2.0 RC3">
Replace With :
Code: [Select]
<uninstall for="2.0 RC2, 2.0 RC3, 2.0 RC4, 2.0 RC5">

Offline HunterP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 976
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF 2.0.4
    • Hulpverleningsforum Nederland
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #270 on: February 16, 2011, 09:44:51 AM »
Replace With :
Code: [Select]
<install for="2.0 RC2, 2.0 RC3, 2.0 RC4, 2.0 RC5">

Why not

Code: [Select]
<install for="2.0 RC2 - 2.0 RC5">
??

Offline HunterP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 976
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF 2.0.4
    • Hulpverleningsforum Nederland
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #271 on: February 16, 2011, 10:06:35 AM »
Because they're not treated as numbers. They're discrete blocks.

Ok, thanks!  ;)

Offline rugrat

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #272 on: February 28, 2011, 06:54:26 PM »
Doesn’t seem to work in RC5. If you select 2 columns it displays underneath like this instead of beside each other.

Child 1
Child 2
Child 3

Child 4
Child 5

Using IE7. Haven't tried another browser

Offline Spoogs

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,676
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #273 on: February 28, 2011, 06:59:35 PM »
go back 1 page to find a solution

Offline rugrat

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #274 on: February 28, 2011, 07:04:09 PM »
go back 1 page to find a solution

Thanks yes I figured it was a browser thing cause I tried Safari 5.0.3 and it looks fine. Very nice mod. I'll give it a try. Thanks again

EDIT: That worked. **thumbsup**

That also got rid of the Child Boards wording which I wanted gone or changed :) This should be incorporated into SMF IMO.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 07:18:20 PM by rugrat »

Offline Average Mom

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • Average Mom
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #275 on: March 06, 2011, 09:29:48 PM »
Nice mod, works great, thanks so much!

Offline nubieteky

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
    • Uploading Tips
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #276 on: March 07, 2011, 09:09:56 AM »
mine got issues hows this the spacing look inappropriate.. Im using 3 columns here.



also when i use 2 columns the 3rd link sperates itself from the 2

help please
UploadingTips.com Community for the Uploader, Internet Marketer and Webmasters

Offline nubieteky

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
    • Uploading Tips
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #277 on: March 07, 2011, 09:32:03 AM »
Hi sir your great!

I have check with explorer before posting my issues. this happens also with firefox and chrome

if you could direct me to page to focus on would appreciate it. i have read page 1 to 4 and the issues

that i found is with the browser

 :(
UploadingTips.com Community for the Uploader, Internet Marketer and Webmasters

Offline nubieteky

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
    • Uploading Tips
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #278 on: March 07, 2011, 09:47:49 AM »
pls see attats file
UploadingTips.com Community for the Uploader, Internet Marketer and Webmasters

Offline nubieteky

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
    • Uploading Tips
Re: Tidy Child Boards
« Reply #279 on: March 07, 2011, 10:04:45 AM »
ohh sorry i misunderstood

uploadingtips.com
UploadingTips.com Community for the Uploader, Internet Marketer and Webmasters