Best ways to promote?

Started by KahneFan, November 28, 2008, 05:19:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KahneFan

What have you found to be the best ways to promote your forum? I emphasize "you found", because we all know many ways to advertise, but I'm looking at what you may have done that works best for you.

Have you done something that after the action you've had a stream of registrations?
#eric_on_twit| (video) Creating Themes for SMF | Reset Your Forum
NOTE: No PM's for support please.

mrbolsonator

I am a newbie at promotion too and am looking for more ways to cheaply advertise.

I found one FREE way about a month ago, using facebook.

So what you do is make a page with your forum on it, and then add this application to it

http://www.facebook.com/s.php?ref=search&init=q&q=The+Visa+Business+Network&sid=3887457ee242edd0caf2c6d985ac91da#/apps/application.php?id=24249628048&ref=s

It will send you $100 of facebook advertisement credits to use. I scored 20 new members on my facebook page, (you can use the ads to go tdirectly to your site too), and I got 10 new members for my site. I set my price around 30-50 cents per click and it did very well. Now if you are willing to spend money, use google adwords and for about 5-20 cents per click, you can get an overwhelming audience.

Hope that helps!

~kev~

Videos on youtube are my primary form of advertising.  When I opened my sons forum, I started applying the same thing to his site.

We make our own videos, use royalty free music, put the website address in the video an in the video description.

For my forum, youtube is the 4th high referring site, right behind yahoo.

For my sons forum, youtube is about the 8th highest referring site.

Jade Elizabeth

I use forum and email signatures... everyone who gets a message from me gets my linkage >:D

Also, free forum directories work too ;)

My original userbase came from god knows where :-X.