Advertisement:

Author Topic: Image Attachment Dimension  (Read 957 times)

Offline jimbouk1977

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Gender: Male
  • SHAKE 'N' BAKE
Image Attachment Dimension
« on: August 27, 2010, 10:13:35 PM »
Sorry to bring this post back up but I'm having the same issue I've got my attachment file size set up & so on but any large resolution images get dismissed & fail straight away sending the up-loader to a white page saying done, but it's not as you know when successful it returns to post or form but this is annoying as a lot of us like photography & have high-end big resolution pics and at present having to resize the image to get it uploaded, is there away to fix this ?.

attachment setting are up to 10MB & total 10MB so I.E: 1 file 10MB or 5 files at 2MB. But as said above in the OP 4200 X 3150 pixel images will not upload even though they are only about 1 - 2MB in size any ideas ?.
Might be a stupid question but its how you learn

Using SMF 2.0.1  & SP

Offline Kays

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,973
  • Gender: Male
    • Kayssplace
Re: Image Attachment Dimension
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2010, 11:54:05 PM »
jimbouk1977, you appear to be using 2.0. There is a known issue with 2.0 and it should be fixed in the next version.

Here's a fix for it. See if it solves your problem.

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=371871.msg2548704#msg2548704

If at first you don't succeed, use a bigger hammer. If that fails, read the manual.
My Mods

Offline jimbouk1977

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Gender: Male
  • SHAKE 'N' BAKE
Re: Image Attachment Dimension
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2010, 05:58:41 PM »
Yes it is 2.0 RC3

Hi thanks for the reply if you meant ->

I think I found a fix for it.

In Subs-Graphics about line 309 find:

Code: [Select]
require_once($sourcedir . '/Subs-Package.php');

and add after it:

Code: [Select]
@ini_set('memory_limit', '90M');


This did not fix it :( it's not file size that is the issue its picture size, E.G:resolution.   i tried after this with an image 4000 x 3000 @ 6.11mb  & it just white screen saying done as before it's actually very annoying as i cant see why image size should come into it if the file size is set to adequate as mine is


Error log is saying this
(found in= File:/Sources/Subs-RSS2.php)

Code: [Select]
139:  function startElement2($parser, $name, $attrs)
140: {
141:    global $depth;
error line==>142:    $depth[$parser]++;
143: }
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 06:16:56 PM by jimbouk1977 »
Might be a stupid question but its how you learn

Using SMF 2.0.1  & SP

Offline jimbouk1977

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Gender: Male
  • SHAKE 'N' BAKE
Re: Image Attachment Dimension
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2010, 07:36:04 PM »
update:

Could it be max_execution_time   30  ?

As UK upload speeds suck & it is shutting the connection before upload ?.

TIA
jim


EDIT:
moved that upto 300 and now getting this instead of a white screen im now getting:-   Your attachment couldn't be saved. This might happen because it took too long to upload or the file is bigger than the server will allow.

Please consult your server administrator for more information. 


But i have indevidual file size set to 10240KB & max to the same & php.ini is on 10mb  so shouldnt be an issue that side of things. Any more ideas ?.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 07:46:15 PM by jimbouk1977 »
Might be a stupid question but its how you learn

Using SMF 2.0.1  & SP

Offline JimM

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,980
  • Gender: Male
    • Southern Spirit Hunters
Re: Image Attachment Dimension
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2010, 01:19:19 PM »
@ jimbouk1977 - can you post a phpinfo sheet?  (What is phpinfo.php?)
Jim "JimM" Moore
Former Support Specialist

Please do not PM me for support!                   
Installing SMF
Upgrade SMF
Manual Installation of Mods

Offline jimbouk1977

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Gender: Male
  • SHAKE 'N' BAKE
Re: Image Attachment Dimension
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2010, 06:08:28 PM »
Attached as a .PDF :)


Also if you want to split this topic & put it into 2x support instead as ive now kind of hijacted this one 8)
Might be a stupid question but its how you learn

Using SMF 2.0.1  & SP

Offline jimbouk1977

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Gender: Male
  • SHAKE 'N' BAKE
Re: Image Attachment Dimension
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2010, 06:29:27 PM »
Just noticed that my host has downed the upload size to 2MB & 8MB :(


Edit:

So ive changed my PHP.ini to 10MB post size & 10MB upload & still on 300 second timeout and im back to white screen saying done but no post / attachment again GRRRR

So when you look at that PDF remember ive edited it to be :-
 
post_max_size = 10M
upload_max_filesize = 10M
max_execution_time  = 300

With attachment settings the same 5 attachments max 10MB & up to 10MB
Might be a stupid question but its how you learn

Using SMF 2.0.1  & SP

Offline Deaks

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 22,531
  • Gender: Male
    • trekkiesforyes on Facebook
    • pouvik on GitHub
    • @trekkies4yes on Twitter
    • YES
Re: Image Attachment Dimension
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2010, 12:46:54 PM »
what im reading is you simply have 3 options, try and find a happy medium, accept that your host wont allow big files or look at a new host

Offline JimM

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,980
  • Gender: Male
    • Southern Spirit Hunters
Re: Image Attachment Dimension
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2010, 01:22:42 PM »
After you made those changes does your phpinfo sheet reflect the change?  If the host is limiting those variables you may have to contact them.
Jim "JimM" Moore
Former Support Specialist

Please do not PM me for support!                   
Installing SMF
Upgrade SMF
Manual Installation of Mods