Changing on/off buttons: problem with authorization (777 impossible)

Started by sd2, September 16, 2010, 10:40:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sd2

Hello everyone,

Having recently created a forum, I'm still under construction/tests and one thing (at least for now...) bothers me.
I'm trying to change the "new messages"/"no new messages" buttons (on/off.png). I've created them and thought I would just put them in the theme's folder to replace the original ones.
Trouble is Cyberduck is sending me a message saying I can't (authorization denied). The buttons are set (by default) to 644. I've tried changing them to 777 (by clicking the file, getting infos and checking all boxes) but when I check one of the uncheck boxes (Other:write, for example), it remains unchecked as if it was protected...
The same goes for many other folders such as "img".

I'm not good at chmod and all that stuff, any idea?
The theme I'm using is not the default one, it's Loner 2RC3, could it be protected in some way?...
Thanks for any help.
Mat

Deaks

instead of using ftp client to change them try doing it via file manager, also try changing the chmode via file manager
~~~~
Former SMF Project Manager
Former SMF Customizer

"For as lang as hunner o us is in life, in nae wey
will we thole the Soothron tae owergang us. In truth it isna for glory, or wealth, or
honours that we fecht, but for freedom alane, that nae honest cheil gies up but wi life
itsel."

sd2

Thanks for the reply Bryan.
I might sound completely stupid but what File manager are you talking about? I don't see anything like this in SMF's administration Center...

sd2

Huuum, a little search can help.
Would that be what you're talking about?...

EDIT: I've just downloaded the package and have tried to install it but I get a warning saying:
"Error in Package Installation