News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

SMTP auth error

Started by Frank_the_Phoenix, September 25, 2010, 03:48:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frank_the_Phoenix

a good evening everyone,

i have an Problem with my SMF. My problem is:

i want too send newsletters too my forum users but they don't receive them and in my logs i get this message" Foutmelding: 533 5.7.1 AUTH command is not enabled"
i dunno what too do I'm new too this system I'm an student ICT and want too understand how this forum works with emails.

i use SMTP and have everything filled in like my outlook

the forum version i use is smf2.0 rc3

gbsothere

Have you determined whether account activation and/or welcome emails are being received?  Is it only newsletters not being received?

In Admin----> Server Settings  is the email address there one that is associated with your domain or is it something like Gmail, Yahoo, etc?

If it is an address associated with the domain where your forum resides, then in Admin---> Maintenance--> Mail try just leaving the setting at PHP Default (in which case, it is usually not necessary to fill in the settings).

If it is a Gmail address, have a look at this link:

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=343385.msg2318702#msg2318702

:)
My apologies, but I am taking a break from accepting PM requests for support.  If I am not currently assisting you, please do not ask as long as this notice is posted.  Thank you.

I Don't Want To Grow Old Alone

It has been proven that Steely Dan reduces the occurrence of road rage, according to an independent study.

A reminder about admin / ftp passwords etc.

Frank_the_Phoenix

i have an SMTP mailtype:
SMTP-server: is a domain name what i also use in my outlook and my outlook works great
SMTP-port: 25
and it need too send the E-mail from my outlook account and that is [email protected]