Advertisement:

Author Topic: Quick Translation  (Read 58774 times)

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,483
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #20 on: November 10, 2010, 04:38:24 PM »
Idea is good. Unfortunately, my knowledge is not enough to embody it.

Offline _pi

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 82
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #21 on: November 10, 2010, 05:16:25 PM »
i have never used cookies for saving info, but i guess that might be easy ...


Offline Eudemon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • An Anime Fan
    • KumaKuni
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #22 on: November 12, 2010, 05:24:58 PM »
so i click on the button alright
and then a screen pops up alright
so i randomly click a language alright
....
but nothing happened!! :-[

see screenshot

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,483
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #23 on: November 12, 2010, 09:19:07 PM »
Possible the service cannot find the translation.

Offline qubbah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 559
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #24 on: November 12, 2010, 09:47:44 PM »
Still no tranlste from my default forum language to EN.

Offline Eudemon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • An Anime Fan
    • KumaKuni
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #25 on: November 12, 2010, 10:01:43 PM »
Possible the service cannot find the translation.

but i tried, and all languages don't work
any solution?
no matter which one i click nothing happens

----------
update:
so i just found out that nothing is shown when use it in sticky topic
for all others it always show no translation is found
« Last Edit: November 12, 2010, 10:15:16 PM by Eudemon369 »

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,483
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #26 on: November 13, 2010, 04:56:04 AM »
Source language = current language of the forum (but not the message!). But you can try change language. Find in Display.template.php this line:
Code: [Select]
original : "' . $txt['lang_dictionary'] . '",and replace it with:
Code: [Select]
original : "ch",

Offline qubbah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 559
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #27 on: November 13, 2010, 05:57:15 AM »
nice... go like apollo.

Offline studiowi33

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 221
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #28 on: November 13, 2010, 07:19:35 AM »
Hi everyone-

I have SMF 1.1.11 and English is the forum default. Recently, a member made a post in Spanish, and when I try to translate the message i get a Translation not found error. It's a rather lengthy message, so that may have something to do with it.
However, I can translate a short English message into Spanish.
SMF 2.0.2

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,483
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #29 on: November 13, 2010, 09:23:24 AM »
Quote
Source language = current language of the forum (but NOT the message!).

Offline studiowi33

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 221
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #30 on: November 13, 2010, 01:01:53 PM »
Quote
Source language = current language of the forum (but NOT the message!).

Well that sucks. For me at least.

Thanks Bugo
SMF 2.0.2

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,483
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #31 on: November 13, 2010, 04:12:41 PM »
Version 0.3 is out: now the source (original) language of each message is determined automatically...

Offline Eudemon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • An Anime Fan
    • KumaKuni
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #32 on: November 13, 2010, 05:45:34 PM »
nice work
the "nothing happens" problem solved
but it still doesn't work for the first post of sticky thread
the icon won't show up if it's the first post of a sticky thread or locked thread

-----

wait a minute, not just the sticky's, i just post a new normal thread and it doesn't show the icon
but the other posts show, weird

ok, it's because i used [*code]bbc in the post, if i remove it then it shows fine
bug?
« Last Edit: November 13, 2010, 06:04:26 PM by Eudemon369 »

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,483
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #33 on: November 13, 2010, 06:08:36 PM »
It may do not work if message is very big or has images (maybe). Please test with small sticky/locked messages.

Offline Eudemon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • An Anime Fan
    • KumaKuni
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #34 on: November 13, 2010, 06:32:30 PM »
i just tested with some conditions
here are conditions that it won't work:
when the topic is sticky or locked thread
when the topic has more than 1 image
when the topic uses [*code] bbc, possibly other bbc will too

when the messages are too big

ok it's bcuz the message is too large...(like 120words) is this gonna be improved in the future?
« Last Edit: November 13, 2010, 06:59:41 PM by Eudemon369 »

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,483
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #35 on: November 14, 2010, 01:03:04 AM »
Google Language API has limits...

Offline Eudemon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • An Anime Fan
    • KumaKuni
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #36 on: November 14, 2010, 02:18:36 PM »
Google Language API has limits...
got it, hoping they do some improvement there

Offline cordesh

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #37 on: November 17, 2010, 04:35:32 PM »
I have the Problem, that the Button only shows up to my own Posts that i can Edit.

I cant Translate Posts from other Users. Only if i Login as Admin.

Is this a Bug ?



Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,483
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #38 on: November 17, 2010, 05:10:14 PM »
Please tell, what version of SMF you're using, how you installed this mod (as mod or over parser), what theme you're using...

Offline nend

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,755
  • 2 deep n2 the code
    • sicommnend on GitHub
    • SIComm.us
Re: Quick Translation
« Reply #39 on: November 18, 2010, 10:44:36 AM »
Google Language API has limits...
got it, hoping they do some improvement there

These limits been set for this API for years now. They have made it higher from the old limitations, but still not high enough for some stuff. You can use a different technique with the API to get little chunks at a time but last time I tried to do this a few months back this technique was very sluggish.

I haven't really look at this mod yet, but some possibilities though if your submitting it via the URL you may be reaching the maximum URL length, if not the case then your hitting the api's maximum length. ;)