Advertisement:

Author Topic: Optimus  (Read 175459 times)

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,475
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Optimus
« Reply #480 on: August 08, 2018, 01:15:29 PM »
The old one seem to have some formating, this one seems to be plain xml where is the difference?
The current version uses simple format. Sitemap is for spiders, not for people. Spiders do not need in any formatting.

sitemap is working
It's good. Optimus is not responsible for the work of search engines.

Offline brettuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
Re: Optimus
« Reply #481 on: August 14, 2018, 09:46:56 AM »
Hi,

Is there any way we're able to exclude certain pages/boards from showing in the sitemap file?

e.g I am blocking the "Introduce Yourself" section from Google, however, it's being listed in the sitemap file.

Thanks, great plugin btw.

Offline njtweb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 502
Re: Optimus
« Reply #482 on: August 14, 2018, 10:14:01 AM »
Check the robots.txt config. Use that as a disallow template for exclusions.

Offline brettuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
Re: Optimus
« Reply #483 on: August 14, 2018, 10:48:31 AM »
Check the robots.txt config. Use that as a disallow template for exclusions.

I am and that's why I'd like to remove the entries from the sitemap file. I am sending two different signals to Google.

Sitemap: "hey google, crawl this please".

Robots: "Google, please ignore these URL's."

Google now thinks, well the sitemap file is telling me to crawl it but the robots is telling me not to crawl it?

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,475
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Optimus
« Reply #484 on: August 14, 2018, 11:37:19 PM »
Robots will scan everything that is available to them, it does not matter whether it is in sitemap or not. If you do not want to see some board in sitemap, close it for guests in properties.

Offline brettuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
Re: Optimus
« Reply #485 on: Yesterday at 06:03:05 AM »
Robots will scan everything that is available to them, it does not matter whether it is in sitemap or not. If you do not want to see some board in sitemap, close it for guests in properties.

Roger, that will work for me. Thanks.

Also the Sitemap was compatible with pretty URL's at first, but now it seems as if it's switched to index.php urls.

Any idea? My sitemap can be found here.

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,475
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Optimus
« Reply #486 on: Yesterday at 10:21:00 AM »
Did you try to recreate the sitemap manually, via Scheduled Tasks area?

Offline brettuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
Re: Optimus
« Reply #487 on: Yesterday at 01:11:29 PM »
Did you try to recreate the sitemap manually, via Scheduled Tasks area?

Thanks for the help.

I have a scheduled task set to re-generate the sitemap every 1 day, yes. Do you think this is interfering?

Offline Bugo

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 1,475
  • Gender: Male
    • dragomano on GitHub
    • @dragomano on Twitter
    • Russian translations for SMF mods
Re: Optimus
« Reply #488 on: Yesterday at 01:40:05 PM »
No, it's normal. What settings of Pretty URLs do you have?